Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E39 (1997 - 2003)

E39 (1997 - 2003)
The BMW 5-Series (E39 chassis) was introduced in the United States as a 1997 model year car and lasted until the 2004 when the E60 chassis was released. The United States saw several variations including the 525i, 528i, 530i and 540i. -- View the E39 Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2012, 10:14 PM
ilian007 ilian007 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sacramento, California
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 205
Mein Auto: BMW 530i 2002
Question Can I re-program TCM module to work on my car?

Hi I bought used TCM module from ebay! It is absolutely same as mine. Bosch with all part numbers same as on mine. The only difference is the VIN number.

I tried to use it with my car. The car started, but transmission went to Safe Mode in 2 secs. It was still switching gears but very rough.

Any ideas?


Thank you
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 04-17-2013, 02:46 PM
BeemVerg's Avatar
BeemVerg BeemVerg is offline
Officially Bimmerfested
Location: Pacific Coast, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 219
Mein Auto: '01 530i
Did you resolve this issue ?
__________________

Pictured above: Smart Car circa 1955.
'01 530i, ///M Sports Package, Xenon lights, Steptronic A/T, icelinkPlus iPod module
'04 328i, Sports Package, Xenon lights, Dice iPod module
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2013, 02:51 PM
HTK12 HTK12 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 853
Mein Auto: E39 540i
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeemVerg View Post
Did you resolve this issue ?
It can be programmed, but are you sure the issue is with the module? Have you pulled the codes? How did you diagnose the issue is with the module?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2013, 02:58 PM
kmorgan_260 kmorgan_260 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Salem, WV
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 750
Mein Auto: 1997 528i
This is interesting because I thought only the DME had to be reprogrammed. I am thinking about taking my 5 speed out of my e39 to use in another project and putting in an auto. I have not done much research but I was guessing it didn't involve any reprogramming. I replaced the auto tranny in my e36 a couple years ago with a used one and it worked fine with the existing TCM. In the course of troubleshooting the original tranny problem I swapped the TCM with one from another e36 and got no computer errors.
__________________

94 318I (Daughter's car), 96 740IL(current project), 97 528I(DD), 07 335I(Son's car)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2013, 03:05 PM
HTK12 HTK12 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 853
Mein Auto: E39 540i
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmorgan_260 View Post
This is interesting because I thought only the DME had to be reprogrammed. I am thinking about taking my 5 speed out of my e39 to use in another project and putting in an auto. I have not done much research but I was guessing it didn't involve any reprogramming. I replaced the auto tranny in my e36 a couple years ago with a used one and it worked fine with the existing TCM. In the course of troubleshooting the original tranny problem I swapped the TCM with one from another e36 and got no computer errors.
You need to reprogram when you do manual to auto or vice versa swap.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2013, 03:20 PM
kmorgan_260 kmorgan_260 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Salem, WV
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 750
Mein Auto: 1997 528i
I thought when you go auto to manual you can take the TCM out altogether. Do you have to reprogram it to keep the DME happy?
__________________

94 318I (Daughter's car), 96 740IL(current project), 97 528I(DD), 07 335I(Son's car)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2013, 05:07 PM
edjack edjack is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Jose, CA
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9,243
Mein Auto: '97 540i 6 speed
Yes, the DME gets input from the TCM, and vice-versa.
__________________


Ed in San Jose '97 540i 6 speed aspensilber over aubergine leather. Build date 3/97. Golden Gate Chapter BMW CCA Nr 62319.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2013, 04:13 AM
HTK12 HTK12 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 853
Mein Auto: E39 540i
DME isin't the only one. Cluster and ABS should also be coded. Personally I would code the entire car. Makes future coding simpler.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2013, 04:39 AM
diggyd357's Avatar
diggyd357 diggyd357 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisiana
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 559
Mein Auto: 97 528I
I don't wanna sidetrack or hijack this thread, but I have a question... Is "recoding" something you can do yourself or do you need to bring it to a shop? My (old) indy said my TCM was not communicating.... I don't see how this is the case considering my shifting issue turned out to be a wheel speed sensor diagnosed right here on the fest and now it shifts fine (other than not wanting to shift outta first till car warms up)... Anyway, if I were to find a matching TCM and wanted to swap it out could I do the reprogramming at home??

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Bimmer App
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2013, 05:59 AM
HTK12 HTK12 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 853
Mein Auto: E39 540i
Quote:
Originally Posted by diggyd357 View Post
I don't wanna sidetrack or hijack this thread, but I have a question... Is "recoding" something you can do yourself or do you need to bring it to a shop? My (old) indy said my TCM was not communicating.... I don't see how this is the case considering my shifting issue turned out to be a wheel speed sensor diagnosed right here on the fest and now it shifts fine (other than not wanting to shift outta first till car warms up)... Anyway, if I were to find a matching TCM and wanted to swap it out could I do the reprogramming at home??

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Bimmer App
Yes you can. You'll need a cable and a laptop to do it. If your interested you can find the information in the VERY best of E39 Links. Just search for NCS Expert and you'll find the information about the cable, software etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E39 (1997 - 2003)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms