Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)

7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Discussion pertaining to the flagship BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2013, 10:58 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry whytry is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 272
Mein Auto: '06 750i, 68 Camaro
Logic 7 and extra subs install

So I followed this DIY install

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=670470

N it was very easy to do. I was able to do this at the same time as I did a replacement on my fried logic 7 amp, just added some extra wires. My question is now that this has been done my battery died I used an older Arc Audio that needed a remote signal, not self sensing power on. So I added a LOC with remote power wire. The problem is this kept my amp on for an extended period of time and killed my battery over the long holiday break.... My question is for anybody else who has done this before how are you able to not kill your battery when it's ran this way? Im open to ideas....

Thx
__________________
06 750i - Blk/Blk, Sport pkg, premium pkg, comfort access, ent pkg, convience pkg, 21's, sold
07 750LI - Blk/Blk, Sport, Premium, comfort access, rear DVD, convenience, 21's
68 Camaro - Procharged and injected LS2 in progress
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 07-08-2013, 02:28 AM
Piers1989 Piers1989 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Newcastle, UK
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 302
Mein Auto: E65 745i
Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry View Post
So I followed this DIY install

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=670470

N it was very easy to do. I was able to do this at the same time as I did a replacement on my fried logic 7 amp, just added some extra wires. My question is now that this has been done my battery died I used an older Arc Audio that needed a remote signal, not self sensing power on. So I added a LOC with remote power wire. The problem is this kept my amp on for an extended period of time and killed my battery over the long holiday break.... My question is for anybody else who has done this before how are you able to not kill your battery when it's ran this way? Im open to ideas....

Thx
Connect the remote on to something that only powers up when the car is on?

Most of the MOST devices are "off" until the car is active. If you tap into it here the power module should be able to shut everything down if worst comes to worst without draining your battery too (assuming your LOC does no amplification and just cleans up the signal and reduces it to low level you should be ok with the power draw).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-08-2013, 10:30 AM
mrbmwx5 mrbmwx5 is offline
Banned
Location: MI
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 387
Mein Auto: 06 750Li
Remote wire should tap into the ignition switch. Or you have to find the factory remote wire on the L7 AMP.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-2013, 01:43 PM
csmeance's Avatar
csmeance csmeance is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Daytona Beach
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,313
Mein Auto: 760Li
Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry View Post
So I followed this DIY install

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=670470

N it was very easy to do. I was able to do this at the same time as I did a replacement on my fried logic 7 amp, just added some extra wires. My question is now that this has been done my battery died I used an older Arc Audio that needed a remote signal, not self sensing power on. So I added a LOC with remote power wire. The problem is this kept my amp on for an extended period of time and killed my battery over the long holiday break.... My question is for anybody else who has done this before how are you able to not kill your battery when it's ran this way? Im open to ideas....

Thx

Instead of using a LOC with a remote, hook up the remote wire to a relay and tap the other end of the relay into a SWITCHED power source such as the sunroof fuse. I believe that's the only fuse that turns off with the car.
__________________
2006 BMW 760Li - Alpine White w/ Creme-Beige
2004 Acura TL - Satin Silver/Quartz
2007 Acura MDX - Nimbus Grey/Taupe
2010 Honda Accord Basque Red/Beige
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:46 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry whytry is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 272
Mein Auto: '06 750i, 68 Camaro
Quote:
Originally Posted by csmeance View Post
Instead of using a LOC with a remote, hook up the remote wire to a relay and tap the other end of the relay into a SWITCHED power source such as the sunroof fuse. I believe that's the only fuse that turns off with the car.
Can you elaborate more on this? This sounds like the ideal situation using a relay. Where do I tap into it at on the fuse? I've read people doing this using the sunroof signal but it was low voltage like 3.2v if I recall, can't remember where I read it but something like that.... Does adding the relay jump the voltage up when powered on? Please any more info would be greatly appreciated!!!!

I have done this before but used the cigarette lighter in the center console in a Lexus for remote, can't do that on this car.
__________________
06 750i - Blk/Blk, Sport pkg, premium pkg, comfort access, ent pkg, convience pkg, 21's, sold
07 750LI - Blk/Blk, Sport, Premium, comfort access, rear DVD, convenience, 21's
68 Camaro - Procharged and injected LS2 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2013, 12:30 PM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Baytown. TX
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Mein Auto: BMW 750Li
The L7 has a power that is switch-able, a relay will be needed if you don't want the amp to add an additional load on the system you are tapping into.
__________________

Last edited by Nygel; 07-16-2013 at 05:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2013, 02:08 PM
csmeance's Avatar
csmeance csmeance is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Daytona Beach
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,313
Mein Auto: 760Li
Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry View Post
Can you elaborate more on this? This sounds like the ideal situation using a relay. Where do I tap into it at on the fuse? I've read people doing this using the sunroof signal but it was low voltage like 3.2v if I recall, can't remember where I read it but something like that.... Does adding the relay jump the voltage up when powered on? Please any more info would be greatly appreciated!!!!

I have done this before but used the cigarette lighter in the center console in a Lexus for remote, can't do that on this car.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nygel View Post
The L7 has a power that is switch-able, a relay will be need if you don't want the amp to add an additional load on the system you are tapping into.
I wasn't aware of the switched power on the L7 amplifier!

Basically a is a trigger switch. When it gets power it'll click on connecting 2 terminals on the relay. When the power turns off it'll click off breaking the connection on the terminals. That way when you tap into something for a switched power source, you are NOT drawing directly from it but using it only as a trigger. The actual 12V power supply for your amplifier's on switch is hooked up from the battery to 1 terminal on the relay. The other terminal has the wire going from the amplifier's trigger on switch to the relay.

That way when the trigger source turns on, it'll connect the 12V on switch to your Amp thus allowing it to turn on!
__________________
2006 BMW 760Li - Alpine White w/ Creme-Beige
2004 Acura TL - Satin Silver/Quartz
2007 Acura MDX - Nimbus Grey/Taupe
2010 Honda Accord Basque Red/Beige
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-17-2013, 10:47 AM
fdriller9 fdriller9 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NJ/Philly
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,713
Mein Auto: '06 AW 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbmwx5 View Post
Remote wire should tap into the ignition switch. Or you have to find the factory remote wire on the L7 AMP.
If the L7 amp in the E65 is like the one in the E9x, there is no remote wire on the amp. The REM wire is pin 13 at the back of the HU.

OP if you use a relay, make sure you fuse both the trigger and supply lines properly. A 1 A fuse on each will take care of it. Place the fuse as close to the power source as possible.
__________________

| LCI Msport Conversion | Custom Kevlar/Carbon Fiber Wind Splitter | Exotic Tuning Front Lip | H&R Coilovers | M3 Subframe Bushings | E93 M3 23.6mm Rear Sway Bar | Whiteline 27mm Front Sway Bar | Ground Control Camber Kit | L7 | Hand-Made LED Angel Eyes | Breyton GTS-R | Bridgestone Pole Position S-04 | CarPC with Centrafuse Front End | Alpine MRP-M500 | Custom LED Reverse Lights | OEM Blacklines | BMW Performance Trunk Spoiler |
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-17-2013, 12:19 PM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Baytown. TX
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Mein Auto: BMW 750Li
here is a diagram
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 20130718011858255.pdf (28.1 KB, 82 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-17-2013, 04:21 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry whytry is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 272
Mein Auto: '06 750i, 68 Camaro
Logic 7 and extra subs install

So I can run constant +12 to a relay then run that to the remote wire input on amp?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
06 750i - Blk/Blk, Sport pkg, premium pkg, comfort access, ent pkg, convience pkg, 21's, sold
07 750LI - Blk/Blk, Sport, Premium, comfort access, rear DVD, convenience, 21's
68 Camaro - Procharged and injected LS2 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-17-2013, 04:57 PM
dsaautocustomz's Avatar
dsaautocustomz dsaautocustomz is online now
Donny A
Location: michigan
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 118
Mein Auto: 14 Sierra, 13 Denali XL
Their is actually a wire in the trunk driver side right behind the driver tail light, its purple and white i used that as a accessory to power my computer and video interface, i also connected a relay to it.
__________________
 photo 20130520_153149_zpsfd8ec578.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-17-2013, 08:39 PM
KaileSvick KaileSvick is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Tampa, FL
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 378
Mein Auto: 2003 BMW 745Li
Most of these "switched" powers that have been mentioned are part of the MOST? network. The power source will stay on until the system goes asleep. And will turn back on when car is unlocked started etc...whatever makes the system wake up. The only true ignition controlled wire that I am aware of runs into the OBD plug. That is where mine is wired to
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-18-2013, 10:55 AM
whytry's Avatar
whytry whytry is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 272
Mein Auto: '06 750i, 68 Camaro
Logic 7 and extra subs install

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaileSvick View Post
Most of these "switched" powers that have been mentioned are part of the MOST? network. The power source will stay on until the system goes asleep. And will turn back on when car is unlocked started etc...whatever makes the system wake up. The only true ignition controlled wire that I am aware of runs into the OBD plug. That is where mine is wired to
What wire is that?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
06 750i - Blk/Blk, Sport pkg, premium pkg, comfort access, ent pkg, convience pkg, 21's, sold
07 750LI - Blk/Blk, Sport, Premium, comfort access, rear DVD, convenience, 21's
68 Camaro - Procharged and injected LS2 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-18-2013, 10:56 AM
whytry's Avatar
whytry whytry is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 272
Mein Auto: '06 750i, 68 Camaro
Logic 7 and extra subs install

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsaautocustomz View Post
Their is actually a wire in the trunk driver side right behind the driver tail light, its purple and white i used that as a accessory to power my computer and video interface, i also connected a relay to it.
Can you elaborate a little more on this please in terms of what wires goes where on the relay wiring? N have you ever had your battery drain?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
06 750i - Blk/Blk, Sport pkg, premium pkg, comfort access, ent pkg, convience pkg, 21's, sold
07 750LI - Blk/Blk, Sport, Premium, comfort access, rear DVD, convenience, 21's
68 Camaro - Procharged and injected LS2 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-18-2013, 11:25 AM
dsaautocustomz's Avatar
dsaautocustomz dsaautocustomz is online now
Donny A
Location: michigan
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 118
Mein Auto: 14 Sierra, 13 Denali XL
Re: Logic 7 and extra subs install

Purple white wire in the trunk just splice into that wire and connect it to a 12v relay, after that you have a igtion wire Ive had no drainage problems and kingsilverback is running the same thing

Sent from my SCH-I605 using BimmerApp mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1374168187544.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	36.8 KB
ID:	387353  
__________________
 photo 20130520_153149_zpsfd8ec578.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-18-2013, 12:30 PM
KaileSvick KaileSvick is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Tampa, FL
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 378
Mein Auto: 2003 BMW 745Li
Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry View Post
What wire is that?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
I believe it Is a green wire
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-18-2013, 12:35 PM
dsaautocustomz's Avatar
dsaautocustomz dsaautocustomz is online now
Donny A
Location: michigan
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 118
Mein Auto: 14 Sierra, 13 Denali XL
Re: Logic 7 and extra subs install

Its a purple and white

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
 photo 20130520_153149_zpsfd8ec578.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-23-2013, 02:01 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry whytry is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 272
Mein Auto: '06 750i, 68 Camaro
Logic 7 and extra subs install

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsaautocustomz View Post
Purple white wire in the trunk just splice into that wire and connect it to a 12v relay, after that you have a igtion wire Ive had no drainage problems and kingsilverback is running the same thing

Sent from my SCH-I605 using BimmerApp mobile app


Ok so I'm gonna try this tonight then!! Thx


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
06 750i - Blk/Blk, Sport pkg, premium pkg, comfort access, ent pkg, convience pkg, 21's, sold
07 750LI - Blk/Blk, Sport, Premium, comfort access, rear DVD, convenience, 21's
68 Camaro - Procharged and injected LS2 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-23-2013, 02:01 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry whytry is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 272
Mein Auto: '06 750i, 68 Camaro
Logic 7 and extra subs install

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nygel View Post
here is a diagram
So the 86 connects to the purple/white wire mentioned in the post above correct?



Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
06 750i - Blk/Blk, Sport pkg, premium pkg, comfort access, ent pkg, convience pkg, 21's, sold
07 750LI - Blk/Blk, Sport, Premium, comfort access, rear DVD, convenience, 21's
68 Camaro - Procharged and injected LS2 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-23-2013, 03:02 PM
dsaautocustomz's Avatar
dsaautocustomz dsaautocustomz is online now
Donny A
Location: michigan
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 118
Mein Auto: 14 Sierra, 13 Denali XL
Re: Logic 7 and extra subs install

Yes it does

Sent from my SCH-I605 using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
 photo 20130520_153149_zpsfd8ec578.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-24-2013, 12:45 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry whytry is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 272
Mein Auto: '06 750i, 68 Camaro
Logic 7 and extra subs install

Thx ds!!! I just did this last night n hopefully it takes care of the slight battery drain issues I was having!!


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
06 750i - Blk/Blk, Sport pkg, premium pkg, comfort access, ent pkg, convience pkg, 21's, sold
07 750LI - Blk/Blk, Sport, Premium, comfort access, rear DVD, convenience, 21's
68 Camaro - Procharged and injected LS2 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-24-2013, 06:34 PM
dsaautocustomz's Avatar
dsaautocustomz dsaautocustomz is online now
Donny A
Location: michigan
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 118
Mein Auto: 14 Sierra, 13 Denali XL
Re: Logic 7 and extra subs install

Ya if your still having a problem run the purple white wire to 87. Then a wire from 30 to your amp or what ever. 85 to ground and 86 to the battery with a 30a fuse

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
 photo 20130520_153149_zpsfd8ec578.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms