BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Window Tinting Newbie

25K views 30 replies 22 participants last post by  akaMomo 
#1 ·
I'll be taking a euro delivery of my new 328 m sport in about a month. My dealer today asked me whether I'd be interested in window tint. Here's the deal, I've never had window tint done before and I'm not even sure what questions to ask. I also wonder if there will be any interference with the HUD. I tried some searches on these topics but the info was sparse. Any thoughts?

#3 · (Edited)
I think you mean ceramic tint.

OP, search "tint" with my name. www.llumar.com - non-ceramic , www.formulaone.com - ceramic, Pinnacle Series , www.cpfilms.com - parent company. I have Llumar ATR tint on my car. imo Llumar is the best on the market. I have been using Llumar for more than 30 years. I am not easy to please and I have never been disappointed with Llumar.

#4 ·
You'll have to decide what kind of price you are willing to pay. Huper Optik and LLumar are the more expensive films, but offer better performance and longevity than cheap dyed film.
I've got Huper Optik Stark (Ceramic) 35% all around on my car (except for the windshield--no tint there). If you don't tint the windshield, there won't be a problem with your HUD. Some states don't allow windshield tint, but there are 80% films that are supposed to be HUD friendly.
Make sure you have the job done by a reputable shop and make sure they give you very clear warranty terms (should be lifetime warranty for the premium films).

#5 ·
I had mine done last week. Just the rear doors and rear window. Gives it the more "expensive" look. If you live in FL the tint provides more of a function than here in PA where I did it for looks. As noted, find a reputable shop to have a professional job done. Joe..

#10 ·
probably ceramic. from my experience your dealer will contract a 3rd party(like tint world) and have them do it, they will use the 150 dollar tint from tint world and charge you 250.

#15 ·