BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Acceleration issue

3K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  EuroRocket 
#1 ·
Hi, I am brand new in the BMW M5 world. I just acquired a mint M5 from 1999. It has only 45,000kms and was parked most of the time in a garage (the previous owner was a pilot for Gulf Air airline).

I checked the whole car through the local dealer and even did a main maintenance to be sure everything was ok on the car. They confirmed that the car was fine. However, I have one concern:

The acceleration is not frank and have little "holes" during smooth acceleration. Also, if I accelerate full throttle, I feel that the car does not give all the power it has. For instance, sometime, just by releasing the accelerator a little bit, more power is being delivered for a couple of second.

All filters have been changed, as well as all the spark plugs.

Does anyone have felt the same thing on their M5? I would really appreciate your help!

Thanks in advance to all of you!

Pascal

#4 ·
Acceleration issues

Hey man...I'm new at this deal too having just bought a used 2000 M5. I have similar issues and suspect it is something electrical in may case as the same hessitation/irregularity can be felt/heard in neutral. IF you rev the engine slowly and detect no variability in response, it's likely the clutch...otherwise electrical in nature...just my 2 cents. Mine appears to be "missing" a bit...especially when first driven (prior to warm-up). Nobody else noticed this but me. When I get resolution, I'll post an update. Good luck.

Ce

#5 ·
accel issues

It is your MAF. All the MY99 and MY00 had some issues with the Mass Air. See if you can get BMW to replace them for free or a small fee. If you remove them and clean them really good you might feel a difference, but best bet is to replace them.

goto www.m5board.com and search for MAF and you will find tons of info.

hope this helps

adam