BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

trying to pick up '13 Z4 - questions

5K views 40 replies 19 participants last post by  DNK 
#1 ·
Hello wonderful folks!

In the market for a convertible and Z4 caught my eyes. Really love the styling. Could you please tell me:

1. difference between 35i vs 35is? Is 35is worth extra money?
2. what is the discount off MSRP I could expect for a 2013 model? I see one at local dealer going for 70K MSRP and dealer is marking it down to $67.5K at this time. The sales gave me another $500 off. how much more could I get?
3. What other things should I be aware of?
4. If you want to receommend any dealer/good sales, please feel free.. I don't mind buying from out of state (I live in Seattle) and have it shipped.

Thank you for any help you could provide!:)

J.

#2 ·
35i has 300 hp and 300 lb. ft. I think the 35is has 330/330. I would offer 65K. Dealerships vary of course and so do negotiating skills. I'm not very good at it. Others will be able to tell you more about the differences. I'm sure many can be found out by the "Build Your Own" section on BMW site. Good luck.

#3 ·
Just my opinion, but hard to rationalize the almost $10000 bump in price between the 35i and the 35is. As mentioned more torque and hp, something you may never use. Just ordered a 28i with sports pack and cold weather and couldn't jump to the 35i even though finances would let me.

#7 · (Edited)
Guess it takes some people a while. You're comparing the list prices of the base model 35i and 35is. BUT, many features are supplied standard on the 35is which are available only at extra cost on the 35i. The M Sport package is a good example. Standard (included in base price) on 35is, add $2,500 to the base price to get the same package on 35i. And so on. Add 'em all up and you end up with two very similar vehicles with a list price difference of $5,300. The vehicles are identical with the exception of:

1) slightly different body panel features