BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

2014 Navigation Volume ??? Cant figure this out

22K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  dudley07726 
#1 ·
Hey All...

For those with the new Nav. I'm trying to figure out how to adjust the volume of the navigation direction. The female voice comes on and is not loud. Its ok if your not listening to music, but when the music is on its almost impossible to hear. isn't the music volume supposed to lower slightly to allow the nav voice to be heard ?

I cant for the life of me find a setting to raise the nav volume. Seems ridiculous if you ask me.

And a side note. I am a tech savvy type person, and 30 years old, and this iDrive is by no means easy. There is a pretty big learning curve if you ask me. I could only imagine my parents trying to figure this out, would be impossible for them. I would say that my moms previous 2004 x3 with nav was way easier to use.

#2 ·
The only way I know is to use the volume control while the Nav system is actually speaking. For example, when you know the system is about to tell you to make a turn, get ready on the regular volume control for music, knob or steering wheel switch. When the talking starts, quickly raise the volume.

#3 · (Edited)
Horrible design. The radio/cd should automatically mute when the NAV voice speaks but it doesn't. You have to turn up the voice volume to over-power the radio/cd, etc. With nothing on, the NAV voice is then too loud. You should not have to adjust it every time depending on whether the radio is playing or not. MY 2006 SC 430 and 2007 CRV muted the music when the NAV spoke. You adjusted the NAV voice volume to a satisfactory level once and left it there. The SC has the voice coming out of the speaker closet to the driver.
I hope this is changed on the 2014 4 series NAV.

I've seen worse. The 2013 E350 coupe I tested had the NAV/backup camera somehow connected with the radio on/off switch.