BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Noob here. Spending 17k on a used e39 5 series.

9K views 63 replies 27 participants last post by  BMWEFOlogist 
#1 ·
Hello, this is my first post. I basically want estimations/ideas from people.

Please before you attack me, yes I understand I have to do my research first, I know that. I will read and learn non stop for the next months to come by. I am just really curious about something, and would like an estimation from someone.

Say I get a used e39 528i for 2 grand. With 17k cash to spend on mods, what could I do? The car would be in pretty bad but drivable shape obviously, so could I basically get a kick-ass e39 in the end? s62 swap, brakes, suspension etc . I know I sound like such an idiot, but again I am just extremely eager to know what sort of e39 I would end up with spending 17k Canadian cash. For an engine swap I would like to do an s62 swap, and if it's possible supercharge it (ESS vt1-525, costs 6 grand) but ONLY if il have enough money in the end which I doubt, by that means il still be extremely happy with a 400bhp s62.

So again I just want an idea of what I could do with 17k on a used e39 528, or 540i? Engine swap will be done for sure. And now to research non-stop.

If I'm going to spend 17k on a e39 which model 5 series should I get, does it matter? since I will be modifying it so heavily.

Thank you very much

See less See more
#6 ·
$17000? Thats an odd number. I assume you picked that amount because thats every single penny you have. Not very wise. This car is very expensive to drive. No point looking like a baller if you have to keep it parked because you have no money left to fix it when it breaks.

I would spend less than half of that and get:
M5 diff, coilovers, exhaust, rebuild vanos and guides, and extra wheels.

$17000 in mods and you would have a fake m5 for the same price you could have just boughten a real one.

#7 ·