Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2013, 12:57 PM
jbrooksga jbrooksga is offline
Registered User
Location: Georgia
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mein Auto: 2008 X3 M-Sport
ifh-0009

All,

I've been attempting to configure a laptop to use INPA/NCSEXPERT for a couple of weeks now, and have about reached my wits end. The subject vehicle is a 2008 E83, I have the cable described as "K+DCAN USB Interface INPA Compatible"

WinXP SP3
Installed older versions first but updated everything to BMW Tools 2.10 so I have:

EDIABAS 7.2
INPA 5.0.2
NCSEXPERT 3.1.0

DATEN files downloaded from a more recent version v45 I believe. Have spent extensive time trying to make sure all of the SGDAT, ECU, etc. are all in the correct places.

When launching INPA I see black indicators for battery and ignition. This leads me to believe that my serial port/drivers are correct. But when launching modules it shows "no response from ECU" with an ifh-0009 error. Does the same thing with NCSEXPERT when trying to read the VIN.

I have probably read hundreds of posts describing similar issues, but not a clear resolution other than people saying they have the wrong cable.

So is it my configuration or the cable? I will post a photo of the cable that I'm currently using.



Untitled by Camera Eye Photo, on Flickr

Last edited by jbrooksga; 02-04-2013 at 01:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 02-04-2013, 01:14 PM
cn555ic cn555ic is offline
The Coder guy in N.Y
Location: New York, Brooklyn
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 448
Mein Auto: bmw
My bet is the cable. If your obd connector circuit board is blue in color, I am afraid you got a defective cable as people are selling these still even though they are not usable.(. They should be shot for doing this!!). Take a pic of the cable, but if its blue don't bother. Return it or if you can't anymore then place it in front of your tire and run it over because it will NEVER work
__________________
Need any assistance Call 917-939-4980

Last edited by cn555ic; 02-04-2013 at 01:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2013, 02:04 PM
jbrooksga jbrooksga is offline
Registered User
Location: Georgia
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mein Auto: 2008 X3 M-Sport
I did not purchase this cable so not sure where it came from.

The previous owner provided it when I purchased the X3.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2013, 02:54 PM
cn555ic cn555ic is offline
The Coder guy in N.Y
Location: New York, Brooklyn
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 448
Mein Auto: bmw
Oh it's a X3. You would need the adapter to make it work for your car. You need to bridge pin 7 and 8 to make connection. Trust me on this as it looks like your cable is a good cable, Just need to either use the adapter which it should have been provided or take the cover off and solder pin 7 and 8 together and it will work. If previous owner had it working, just ask him for the adapter
__________________
Need any assistance Call 917-939-4980
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2013, 03:06 PM
jbrooksga jbrooksga is offline
Registered User
Location: Georgia
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mein Auto: 2008 X3 M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Oh it's a X3. You would need the adapter to make it work for your car. You need to bridge pin 7 and 8 to make connection. Trust me on this as it looks like your cable is a good cable, Just need to either use the adapter which it should have been provided or take the cover off and solder pin 7 and 8 together and it will work. If previous owner had it working, just ask him for the adapter
Couldn't I just take some wire and quickly jump 7 and 8 as test?

When I take the adapter apart, on the green circuit board I see numbers indicating the pin. However it looks like the external connector doesn't exactly match up. In other words pin 1 on the circuit board doesn't appear to be directly in line with pin 1 on the external connector. The top row on the circuit doesn't seem to correspond with the connector. Do I reference the board itself or the external pin positions?

Last edited by jbrooksga; 02-04-2013 at 03:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2013, 03:22 PM
cn555ic cn555ic is offline
The Coder guy in N.Y
Location: New York, Brooklyn
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 448
Mein Auto: bmw
Find the side that has 8 on it. Just stick a wire to the pin closest to where it says 8 and the next one closest to it
__________________
Need any assistance Call 917-939-4980
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2013, 03:29 PM
cn555ic cn555ic is offline
The Coder guy in N.Y
Location: New York, Brooklyn
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 448
Mein Auto: bmw
look at this pic...Notice the two wires...WHat I did was add a on/off switch to bridge it, but in your case just have them connected and it will be fine...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pins.jpg
Views:	547
Size:	111.7 KB
ID:	360792  
__________________
Need any assistance Call 917-939-4980
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2013, 06:30 PM
jbrooksga jbrooksga is offline
Registered User
Location: Georgia
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mein Auto: 2008 X3 M-Sport
Soldered them which did the trick.

I can read the vin, now on to further confusion with the modules.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-04-2013, 06:48 PM
cn555ic cn555ic is offline
The Coder guy in N.Y
Location: New York, Brooklyn
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 448
Mein Auto: bmw
If you can read the VIN, they you are good to go my friend....One TIP for coding is.....Look into E46 coding...For some reason they are almost identical..


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...hl=en_US#gid=0
__________________
Need any assistance Call 917-939-4980

Last edited by cn555ic; 02-04-2013 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:45 AM
jbrooksga jbrooksga is offline
Registered User
Location: Georgia
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mein Auto: 2008 X3 M-Sport
Just successfully coded my objective which was to disable the halogen DRL. This was because I recently installed a DAEOS harness to provide constant power to the corona rings. My 2008 X3 was designed so that the coronas were only active when the parking lights or headlights were powered.

If anyone is looking to do the same, I used the ALSZ module and changed this item:

GED_FL_ALS_DRL

From aktiv to nicht_aktiv

Here's to hoping that I didn't accidentally hose up something else, but probably not likely.

Now I'm afraid this will lead me into going overboard with tweaks. I'm not even sure what all is possible.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-05-2013, 05:09 AM
cn555ic cn555ic is offline
The Coder guy in N.Y
Location: New York, Brooklyn
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 448
Mein Auto: bmw
Good I am glad my tips worked and you were able to code the car..
__________________
Need any assistance Call 917-939-4980
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-16-2013, 06:11 PM
resistro resistro is offline
Registered User
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 31
Mein Auto: 740
2003 745LI

I am using the same connector.

Trying to diagnose my navigation system. 'BMW' logo is stuck on.

I can only connect to the option MOST/CAN Gateway (2nd pic), when I try to connect to any of the other options (3rd pic) I get 'IFH-0009 NO RESPONSE FROM CONTROL UNIT'.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1515.JPG
Views:	227
Size:	108.7 KB
ID:	362609   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1522.JPG
Views:	224
Size:	64.6 KB
ID:	362610   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1523.JPG
Views:	209
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	362611   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1524.JPG
Views:	285
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	362612  

Last edited by resistro; 02-16-2013 at 08:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-16-2013, 07:50 PM
cn555ic cn555ic is offline
The Coder guy in N.Y
Location: New York, Brooklyn
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 448
Mein Auto: bmw
I would take out the battery overnight and then try it again tomorrow...Sometimes these units needs to be rebooted this way..
__________________
Need any assistance Call 917-939-4980
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-18-2013, 07:09 PM
jbrooksga jbrooksga is offline
Registered User
Location: Georgia
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mein Auto: 2008 X3 M-Sport
Sounds like a cable issue which I resolved by soldering pins 7 and 8.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-11-2013, 07:49 AM
tinkerman tinkerman is offline
Registered User
Location: Korea
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Mein Auto: May'07 E90 320i
Hi cn555ic, I noticed that you seem to have a 'white board'(pcb) K+D CAN similar to which I have except my cable's pin no.1 seems to be connected slightly differently(refer to attached photos). I recently got it from ebay(seller in Hong Kong).

I am also getting errors such as IFH-0009 (basically same situation as jbrooksga), but my car is:
2007 E90 320i.

Apparently, I have a D-CAN OBD setup, so instead of pins 7 & 8, in my car pin 6(CAN high) and pin 14(CAN low) would be my main signal lines.

In INPA, I am able to get recognition of Battery and Ignition, so I assume that pin 16(battery voltage) and pin 1(ignition) are functioning fine. But I keep getting the error 'IFH-0009: NO RESPONSE FROM CONTROL UNIT'.

What could be the problem in my setup?

BTW, among the photos I've attached, the one showing the 4 USB related wires, just below the connector is the FTDI chip. If you look closely, 2 pins just above the "D" of the printed "FTDI", are soldered together. I'm wondering if this is normal or not. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

P.S. (Update)
The cable was the problem. After getting the more expensive but much higher quality cable from One Stop Electronics(green circuit board), I can get DIS, INPA, and NCS connecting to my car. Progman is not able to connect, but that is due to the fact that my car was updated with the newer ISIS(ISTA/P) system last year, and nothing to do with the interface. It seems that with the cheap Ebay cables, it's hit or miss in terms of reliability. I'd recommend future buyers at least to not get those that are the cheapest around $25 on Ebay, because if it's a bad cable like I got, it will send you through trouble shooting hell for perhaps weeks, then you find out you need to wait another couple of weeks for a real cable. I'm happy right now that I can connect to my car, but a lot of time(close to a month) has passed since receiving the crappy cable. You get what you pay for - rings in my mind. Note: the photos of the white ciruit board interface cable shows the cable that did not work for me(was not allowing selection of D-CAN operation through the 'utility' software, and therefore was probably only function in K-CAN if it was even doing so, but because my car uses D-CAN, there was no connection with ECUs).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OBD Socket Conductors.JPG
Views:	237
Size:	140.4 KB
ID:	365856   Click image for larger version

Name:	K+DCAN Cable sideA.JPG
Views:	333
Size:	149.4 KB
ID:	365857   Click image for larger version

Name:	K+DCAN Cable sideB.JPG
Views:	484
Size:	139.3 KB
ID:	365858  

Last edited by tinkerman; 03-28-2013 at 10:25 PM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-15-2013, 06:42 PM
resistro resistro is offline
Registered User
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 31
Mein Auto: 740
My 'connection' problem was MY CAR....I do not know what module is giving me the connection problem, but sometimes my issue with my NAV will go away for a while (until I restart my car) then the it (the NAV) wont work again, but while it WAS WORKING i got connection to EVERY module I wanted to see and saw all the errors. But now Im back to not being able to connect (my NAV is out).

I also noticed on my diagnostic connector, the 7&8 work actually soldered together. So it was not that for sure. I need to figure out what module is not letting me connect.

Last edited by resistro; 04-06-2013 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-22-2013, 11:50 AM
resistro resistro is offline
Registered User
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 31
Mein Auto: 740
It 'connection problem' and my 'BMW' logo stuck screen turned out to be the ASK (Dash CD player) unit. 100% sure. The ASK unit runs the diagnostic functions for the MOST.

Last edited by resistro; 04-06-2013 at 08:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-21-2014, 03:51 AM
djgrubson djgrubson is offline
Registered User
Location: London
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mein Auto: BMW325CI
Solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrooksga View Post
Sounds like a cable issue which I resolved by soldering pins 7 and 8.
Hi Guys

It solved the problem with my cable to

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms