BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Removing TOUGH tree sap

6K views 80 replies 15 participants last post by  SmoothCruise 
#1 ·
I am asking now for some very specific opinions on removing very tough tree sap, obviously without damaging the finish. The question of tree sap removal has been answered by a number of you and I appreciate your responses, but this is not an easy sap to remove. I actually have what I consider very very hard to remove hardened sap on two cars and have already tried 3 products on it and it is still there and I don’t want to rub too hard – since unfortunately I needed to park both cars outside for a few nights:
Turtle Wax Bug and Tar Remover (liquid in can)
Blue Coral Bug and Tar Remover (gel)
Stoner's Tarminator (in spray can)

I am a novice when it comes to cleaning/detailing – compared to members of this forum. I really need to ask what to try next and what will definitively not mar the finish. One car is almost a year old with black metallic paint – the other is a few years old with lighter color. I have already seen that I have rubbed too hard to remove some sap and have seen some swirls and some dulling.

So, what should I try next to remove the sap:
1.Clay bar – any chance at all of damaging the finish by a novice?
2.Some type of diminishing abrasive such as a swirl remover – I already have Meguiar’s #9, 2.0 – but haven’t used it
3. A wax remover
4. Some other product

All responses will be greatly appreciated.

See less See more
#3 ·
Have I asked this before?

guitarman said:
Haven't we been through this in another thread? Perhaps you should take your car to a professional detailer. :dunno: