BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Engine breaking?

3K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  Taeksoo 
#1 ·
I'm no engineer (obviously) but just wanted to ask if this is right.
I noticed when I'm in Drive and braking my rpm goes down then up and then down then up.
It seems like it's down shifting while stopping.
I would have thought that this would waste more gas.
I'm just curious if anyone can explain why this is and why it would be more gas efficient? Or it's not gas efficient but help stop faster?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Bimmer App

#3 ·
I noticed when I'm in Drive and braking my rpm goes down then up and then down then up.
I'm just curious if anyone can explain why this is and why it would be more gas efficient? Or it's not gas efficient but help stop faster?

Most modern vehicles cut fuel when your foot is off the go pedal. So even though you see the rpm's moving up and down you should understand that most of that is caused by the wheels turning the engine not vice-versa. Bottom line is that it does not negatively impact fuel economy.

Downshifting helps reduce brake wear and as pointed out above puts your trans in the correct gear for moving out again.

#4 ·
Alright that makes sense.
My last car was 12 years old before I got this so haven't notice this type of things.
Also, would this be bad for your transmission? I'm sure BMW has thought of everything and I'm sure it's ok but I'm just curious. My understanding is that if you have manual transmission and engine breaking would be bad on transmission. But then again this could be decade old fact.

#7 ·