BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

End of the year decision: 535xi or 550xi? (both drivers chime in)

6K views 66 replies 35 participants last post by  cordoor 
#1 ·
This forum has been a wealth of knowledge and helped with making the sound decision of waiting for my current lease to expire and wait for larger end-of-year incentives to lease my first BMW. I test drove the 535xi w/ m-sport and a few other packages. However, after reading some additional older threads about "535 vs 550", I can't help but wonder if I should have a "balanced" car with the 535 or a "beast" with the 550i. Here's some background:

1.) I work in sales, so I do about 18-20k per year and spend about 50/50 highway city when making my drives. (I will be leasing for 36 months and 18k.)

2.) I've had an 2006 Infiniti M35 sport rwd, 2009 Infiniti FX 50 awd, and 2013 Lexus GS 350awd as my last vehicles. I really enjoyed my M35 due to the sport suspension and my FX 50 due to the raw power under the engine. The Lexus was a nice change, but it was flat out boring to me...and still is.

3.) MPG is a small concern but anything was better than my FX 50 (14/20). What is everyone with the 535 / 550 getting overall?

4.) I've read past "Dynamic Handling Package" threads and heard this is a very good option to add on. Does the M-sport package come with the m-sport suspension on the awd model? Is it worth the 3,100?

5.) Anyone have regrets going from going with 535 or 550?

Thanks for your input!

See less See more
#2 ·
I tried 550 once. I screamed no more. It wouldn't be better than 14/20. I know some people do get better than that but with very careful driving, then I ask what's the point to get 550i.

#8 ·
Yep. After my E92 M3 and my E70 x5M I can say that I agree. Never again will I drive 40-50k a year (between two cars) and get 11-19 mpg. I love the performance, but quickly grew tired of the almost daily fill ups.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

#5 ·