BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Protecting my investment? x35d

3K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  jesus_man 
#1 ·
We are buying a demo 2012 x35d and take delivery in a few days. It is the 7-passenger version, but we will rarely use the 3rd row. It has black Nevada leather interior.

What are some products you recommend to protect our investment? We'd like to look into all weather floor mat options, a sunshade etc, but being new to BMW, we're not sure what is a good product, what we don't need etc. I would appreciate any help!

Secondly, I am not new to diesel at all, in fact I am very excited to finally be in a position to finally own a diesel SUV! But I am new to this generation of diesel engines. I am new to the DPF, the Urea injection etc. I know that short drives are bad for these components, so I am looking for suggestions on how to drive the X5 so that we aren't doing it any harm. It's my wife's car and her commute is about 15 miles one-way. But we do plan to use this car as a weekend warrior for traveling. We certainly want to maximize fuel economy, but don't have a problem with using the skinny pedal when needed.

Thanks for the help!

#3 ·
I was looking at those. I had a set in my truck. Driver side fit perfect, passenger side didn't. I think it was because 90% of the trucks like mine were Auto and mine was a manual so I think that had something to do with it. Glad to hear you like them.

#6 ·
We had 3M clear bra installed on the front of my wife's X5d. In 16 months she's put slightly over 30k on the odo and the front end and mirrors look brand new. She has a couple of deep rock scratches just beyond the protective clear bra.

#8 ·
A car is not an investment... It will not appreciate over time!