BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

USB music

3K views 16 replies 3 participants last post by  riku2 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi there, newbie here. I just went from a 2003 Hyundai Coupe to a 520d. 2010/2011 model.

It has a usb in the glove compartment.

Also it has satnav.

But what I want is the ability to wire a pen drive to it so it can work. At the minute , I'm having to use the aux input in my arm rest. No usb is present in the arm rest unfortunately.

Can anyone help. :cry:

Also I've heard that the glove box can be used to transfer music onto the hard drive of the BMW. I've tried this but all I can seem to be able to use it for is to export and import profiles :( :(

Are their any mods?

I also have bluetooth, but no a2dp at all......... :bawling::bawling::bawling:

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
Also I've heard that the glove box can be used to transfer music onto the hard drive of the BMW. I've tried this but all I can seem to be able to use it for is to export and import profiles :( :(
Do you have navigation? is it the wide screen or narrower business nav? only widescreen professional navigation has the space on the hard disk for music. This professional version is standard in the USA so most people there are unaware that not all cars have the space on the hard disk for music because there are actually two kinds of BMW F10 navigation system.

You can try to see if you can retrofit the USB socket in the centre console. Search for 6FL USB retrofit. This will not copy it to the hard disk (you play it direct from the USB stick) but there is only 20G room on the hard disk anyway and I already have 30G of music on my USB stick in the centre console.

#5 ·
6FL isn't an entertainment system it's a way to connect USB to the entertainment system. A cable and some control units.
What you need to do is check that parts make up option 6FL: http://www.etk*****bmw/EN/search/optionAppliance/52150/S6FLA