BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

2000 528i overheating

1K views 12 replies 2 participants last post by  tredburn08 
#1 ·
Hey guys, I want to one, say hello as this is my first time on the forums, and two I apologize for the lengthy post as I am desperate for help. So, a while back I bought a this 528i hoping to make a good car out of it. The guy told me it had an overheating problem and didn't have a clue why. When I returned to the garage with the car, I noticed the corner of the radiator was cracked, so it immediately received a new radiator and thermostat.

Shortly after this I find that the car is still overheating, check cylinder pressure and can't build over 80 pounds of compression in cylinder #1. So I take the head apart find my blown head gasket issue, and simultaneously discover the problem with the m52tu aluminum engine. The big sert kit was installed and I now have 130+ compression in all cylinders.

I filled the coolant and took it out for a drive. Temperature got up to 215 according to my scanner and then dropped to 180 and continued to fluctuate between the two. Job well done....until the next day.

Next day I notice the temperature is starting to rise and hits the 3/4 mark on the temp gauge, then goes back down to normal. After a few minutes, it hits the 3/4 mark again, but this time continues to climb, so I shut it down.

I am at my end with this thing guys. Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Huge thanks in advance.

See less See more
#3 ·
Yes, bled it at the screw by the thermostat. I did have to top the tan off this morning with coolant, so I checked the oil just in case, but couldn't find anything strange about the oil. Is it possible for an air pocket to be trapped within the engine somewhere?

That would be my only reasoning for having to fill more coolant, because there are no visible leas that I can see and no puddles on the ground.

#4 · (Edited)