BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1999 528i Auto transmission trouble

14K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  bmw_n00b13 
#1 ·
Bought my first new BMW in 1999 and now it has 54,000 miles on it, just broken in. It's been serviced by the BMW dealer where I got it and since I got it. Problems with the transmission just happened and I'm told I've got to have a new transmission put in for mega bucks! I'm not a stupid crazy driver who abuses a car. I've never had any transmission problems with any other car I ever owned and I'm a senior citizen. Saw one recommendation on the internet that BMW transmission filter be replaced every 15,000 miles to extend the life of the transmission. I cannot find anything on any service sheet that says my dealer ever changed my transmission filter. Do I have a case? What is the recommendation? Are there others with transmission problems after so few miles? This is totally unacceptable in this day and age. I am a mechanical engineer and know a bit about cars and engines. This is outrageous for what is supposed to be a premier car. Right now I don't drive a Beemer, it's a Bummer and I'm just getting started.

#2 ·
The automatic transmission on your BMW is supposedly a "lifetime fluid" tranny fluid. It gives the impression that one doesn't need to change the tranny oil.

Before going the route of getting a new transmission, spend the money to have the fluid and filter changed.

What is the transmission doing?

#5 ·
According to Bimmer Magazine we can expect automatic transmission failures between 80,000 and 120,000 on all BMWs with the lifetime fill, unless it's dealt with early enough. Appparently BMW sees lifetime as 100,000 miles, i.e. CPO warranty.

#8 ·
Take it to a transmission shop; someone will correct me if I'm wrong but I think your car got a GM transmission, so it's common enough that anyone should be able to work on it.