Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics

Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics
BMW navigation, audio upgrades, XM Radio, Sirius, Bluetooth, and Radar Detector discussions here!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #2476  
Old 02-07-2011, 11:25 AM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,861
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by angel88 View Post
Hi !

I just bought a Dice Silverline DUO for my 328i e36 1998 with CD43 head unit ! The installation was very easy and everything is working pretty good expect the fact that I have a really bad sound quality while I'm supposed to have CD quality it's a lot more like tape quality ! It actually depend on the song Im playing but even when the ipod is on PAUSE there is a big background sizzling like some kind of interference ! Any idea what to do ? My dip switches are UP UP like mentioned in the manual for bmw business.

Thank you in advance !
Check the white 10-pin plug that goes into the radio, this should be plugged in with the green dot facing upward.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ˇ web: www.europeanautosource.com ˇ tel 866.669.0705 ˇ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG ˇ FACEBOOK ˇ YOUTUBE ˇ FLICKR ˇ INSTAGRAM
  #2477  
Old 02-07-2011, 11:36 AM
angel88 angel88 is offline
Registered User
Location: montreal
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Mein Auto: e36 328i 98
Hi there !

Thank you for your time ! I tried with an Iphone and the quality was definitely a lot better ! I reduced the dice base volume to minimum and it was even better ! But still at very high level I can here some interferences... Anyway to completely remove those ? Do you still want me to check the 10pin plug ?

Thanks again.
  #2478  
Old 02-07-2011, 12:18 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,861
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by angel88 View Post
Hi there !

Thank you for your time ! I tried with an Iphone and the quality was definitely a lot better ! I reduced the dice base volume to minimum and it was even better ! But still at very high level I can here some interferences... Anyway to completely remove those ? Do you still want me to check the 10pin plug ?

Thanks again.
I would still recommend verifying the plug position as well as making sure Soundcheck and your EQ settings on the iPOd are set to OFF.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ˇ web: www.europeanautosource.com ˇ tel 866.669.0705 ˇ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG ˇ FACEBOOK ˇ YOUTUBE ˇ FLICKR ˇ INSTAGRAM
  #2479  
Old 02-07-2011, 02:47 PM
angel88 angel88 is offline
Registered User
Location: montreal
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Mein Auto: e36 328i 98
Hi,

So i checked the 10 pin plug and first I didnt find any green dot and second there is no way to plug it in a wrong way as there is a a plastic thing that can be plugged only in one way... So I'm still far from CD quality !!!

Thank you.

Edit: All sound check and EQ are off...
  #2480  
Old 02-09-2011, 11:23 AM
angel88 angel88 is offline
Registered User
Location: montreal
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Mein Auto: e36 328i 98
Bump !

Now i figured out that every time I unplug the dice and plug it back, I get decent quality. But when I shut down the radio and the car and turn them back on, the quality is very bad so I have to unplug the dice then plug it back again to have something decent... Any idea ??

Thanks.
  #2481  
Old 02-09-2011, 11:57 AM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,861
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by angel88 View Post
Bump !

Now i figured out that every time I unplug the dice and plug it back, I get decent quality. But when I shut down the radio and the car and turn them back on, the quality is very bad so I have to unplug the dice then plug it back again to have something decent... Any idea ??

Thanks.
I would recommend contacting DICE technical support directly as to get an immediate answer to your question.

DICE can be contacted by phone or email at: http://diceelectronics.com/product-support
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ˇ web: www.europeanautosource.com ˇ tel 866.669.0705 ˇ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG ˇ FACEBOOK ˇ YOUTUBE ˇ FLICKR ˇ INSTAGRAM

Last edited by tom @ eas; 02-09-2011 at 11:59 AM.
  #2482  
Old 02-09-2011, 12:00 PM
angel88 angel88 is offline
Registered User
Location: montreal
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Mein Auto: e36 328i 98
The link isn't working...
  #2483  
Old 02-27-2011, 09:13 AM
fauchpj fauchpj is offline
Registered User
Location: Birmingham
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 89
Mein Auto: 03 540i 6MT | 05 X5 3.0i
I've been having a problem with mine for a while now. I had it in my E46 and now it is in my E39. It did this in both cars. When I hit a bump in the road or make a sharp turn or the cable that is plugged into the iPod gets "nudged", it will make a horrible ticking sound and the audio will decrease tremendously. If I move the iPod with my hand, it will go back to normal until I hit another bump, etc. It seems like the cable is worn out where it plugs into the iPod. Does anyone sell just the cable from the iPod to the dice other than spec.dock?
  #2484  
Old 02-28-2011, 10:48 AM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,861
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by fauchpj View Post
I've been having a problem with mine for a while now. I had it in my E46 and now it is in my E39. It did this in both cars. When I hit a bump in the road or make a sharp turn or the cable that is plugged into the iPod gets "nudged", it will make a horrible ticking sound and the audio will decrease tremendously. If I move the iPod with my hand, it will go back to normal until I hit another bump, etc. It seems like the cable is worn out where it plugs into the iPod. Does anyone sell just the cable from the iPod to the dice other than spec.dock?
May want to check with DICE directly for replacement cables. Also, if you are using a case on your iPod - this could be interfering with the dock connector seat.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ˇ web: www.europeanautosource.com ˇ tel 866.669.0705 ˇ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG ˇ FACEBOOK ˇ YOUTUBE ˇ FLICKR ˇ INSTAGRAM
  #2485  
Old 03-03-2011, 10:40 AM
IEbimmerguy's Avatar
IEbimmerguy IEbimmerguy is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cali
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 129
Mein Auto: E38, e23, e3
I have an 01 e38 with DSP and just updated to the bm53 radio with a 3/2005 production date. I assumed that I hooked up my silverline Dice module correctly, as I see it on the dash, but don't get any sound. How exactly do I hook up the wires on the back of the new bm53 radio? I currently have one of the AUX connectors empty, and hooked the other side up as previously attached with the cables I bought through Bimmernav.
Thanks for any help, as I love the new radio but miss the dice connection!
HELP?!?!


Sent from my iPhone using BimmerApp
  #2486  
Old 03-03-2011, 01:22 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,861
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by IEbimmerguy View Post
I have an 01 e38 with DSP and just updated to the bm53 radio with a 3/2005 production date. I assumed that I hooked up my silverline Dice module correctly, as I see it on the dash, but don't get any sound. How exactly do I hook up the wires on the back of the new bm53 radio? I currently have one of the AUX connectors empty, and hooked the other side up as previously attached with the cables I bought through Bimmernav.
Thanks for any help, as I love the new radio but miss the dice connection!
HELP?!?!


Sent from my iPhone using BimmerApp
You will first need to see if the BM53 switches you from Digital or Analog DSP as it sometimes does.

Do you have a radio or trunk interface kit?
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ˇ web: www.europeanautosource.com ˇ tel 866.669.0705 ˇ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG ˇ FACEBOOK ˇ YOUTUBE ˇ FLICKR ˇ INSTAGRAM
  #2487  
Old 03-03-2011, 03:18 PM
IEbimmerguy's Avatar
IEbimmerguy IEbimmerguy is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cali
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 129
Mein Auto: E38, e23, e3
Hello,
I have the trunk Interface. It's hooked up exactly as described in the install book.
The only difference is now the bm53 radio upgrade. Wirh those radios, it seems like I DON'T need the DSP box?? Confused a little, and am a little baffled that nothing comes up on a search, as I can't be the only one who did this upgrade.
Bimmernav suggested talking to you guys......


Sent from my iPhone using BimmerApp
  #2488  
Old 03-03-2011, 03:19 PM
IEbimmerguy's Avatar
IEbimmerguy IEbimmerguy is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cali
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 129
Mein Auto: E38, e23, e3
"DSP interface" I know I need the DSP amp....

Sent from my iPhone using BimmerApp
  #2489  
Old 03-03-2011, 04:34 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,861
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by IEbimmerguy View Post
Hello,
I have the trunk Interface. It's hooked up exactly as described in the install book.
The only difference is now the bm53 radio upgrade. Wirh those radios, it seems like I DON'T need the DSP box?? Confused a little, and am a little baffled that nothing comes up on a search, as I can't be the only one who did this upgrade.
Bimmernav suggested talking to you guys......


Sent from my iPhone using BimmerApp
You will not know until the radio is connected. Some radios convert the Digital signal to an analog signal.

If you have the 3/6 pin connectors connected on the DICE harness and no audio, you will need the DSP adapter.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ˇ web: www.europeanautosource.com ˇ tel 866.669.0705 ˇ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG ˇ FACEBOOK ˇ YOUTUBE ˇ FLICKR ˇ INSTAGRAM
  #2490  
Old 03-03-2011, 05:52 PM
IEbimmerguy's Avatar
IEbimmerguy IEbimmerguy is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cali
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 129
Mein Auto: E38, e23, e3
I guess I wasn't that clear.
I previously had the Dice installed with the DSP adapter on the original bm43 radio.
I simply took my old connections and with the adapter harnesses from Bimmernav, installed the bm53 radio.
I plan on updating to the Sirius module soon, but am asking how to hook up the AUX wiring on the back of the radio.
Also, I see the Dice module under CD using the Mode button. I do NOT see an AUX Mode. Did I not hook up something correctly and that's why I have no volume through the Dice adapter?


Sent from my iPhone using BimmerApp
  #2491  
Old 03-04-2011, 11:14 AM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,861
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by IEbimmerguy View Post
I guess I wasn't that clear.
I previously had the Dice installed with the DSP adapter on the original bm43 radio.
I simply took my old connections and with the adapter harnesses from Bimmernav, installed the bm53 radio.
I plan on updating to the Sirius module soon, but am asking how to hook up the AUX wiring on the back of the radio.
Also, I see the Dice module under CD using the Mode button. I do NOT see an AUX Mode. Did I not hook up something correctly and that's why I have no volume through the Dice adapter?

Sent from my iPhone using BimmerApp
Can you hear audio from your DICE kit?
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ˇ web: www.europeanautosource.com ˇ tel 866.669.0705 ˇ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG ˇ FACEBOOK ˇ YOUTUBE ˇ FLICKR ˇ INSTAGRAM
  #2492  
Old 03-04-2011, 11:26 AM
IEbimmerguy's Avatar
IEbimmerguy IEbimmerguy is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cali
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 129
Mein Auto: E38, e23, e3
I can't hear anything other than interference like a whine from the Alternator. It increases with speed. I have looked at your site as well, and can't find any wiring diagrams as to what pins are for AUX out on the radio.


Sent from my iPhone using BimmerApp
  #2493  
Old 03-04-2011, 01:10 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,861
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by IEbimmerguy View Post
I can't hear anything other than interference like a whine from the Alternator. It increases with speed. I have looked at your site as well, and can't find any wiring diagrams as to what pins are for AUX out on the radio.

Sent from my iPhone using BimmerApp
AUX is not relevant at the moment, let's start with the DICE.

If you were using the DSP adapter before, the new BM53 radio may have changed the DSP to analog instead of Digital. Use the 3/6 pin connectors for the CD Changer instead and remove the DSP adapter from the vehicle to hear if audio is present.

If you do not have a 6-pin adapter, you will need to purchase one here: http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...roducts_id=381

Luckily since you have SatNav - the radio module is in the trunk, eliminating the need from running from the cabin area to the trunk.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ˇ web: www.europeanautosource.com ˇ tel 866.669.0705 ˇ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG ˇ FACEBOOK ˇ YOUTUBE ˇ FLICKR ˇ INSTAGRAM

Last edited by tom @ eas; 03-04-2011 at 01:12 PM.
  #2494  
Old 03-17-2011, 01:26 PM
spamboxer spamboxer is offline
Registered User
Location: mother earth
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 62
Mein Auto: 01' 530i
some help.

Hello.

I have installed Silverline Duo, non DSP version and wanted to ask some howto questions.

1. How to show text on MID instead of instrument cluster?
2. Is it possible to show menu button names instead of digits 1..6 on MID?
3. Browsing / changing songs / albums / playlist takes about 1,5 seconds. is this normal? any tweaks to speed it up?
  #2495  
Old 03-17-2011, 02:55 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,861
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by spamboxer View Post
Hello.

I have installed Silverline Duo, non DSP version and wanted to ask some howto questions.

1. How to show text on MID instead of instrument cluster?
2. Is it possible to show menu button names instead of digits 1..6 on MID?
3. Browsing / changing songs / albums / playlist takes about 1,5 seconds. is this normal? any tweaks to speed it up?
These are questions that should be directed to DICE.

DICE can be contacted by phone at 888-342-3999 or via email at http://diceelectronics.com/product-support
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ˇ web: www.europeanautosource.com ˇ tel 866.669.0705 ˇ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG ˇ FACEBOOK ˇ YOUTUBE ˇ FLICKR ˇ INSTAGRAM
  #2496  
Old 03-17-2011, 09:15 PM
jun jun is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: MD
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 364
Mein Auto: 2003 540a
I have a Dice unit that has been in my 2003 540 for the last 5 or 6 years. It sounds good but the only complaint I have is that when I use the Dice and I turn off the car and don't use it for a long time(like when returning to the car at the end of the day) when I get back to the car and start using the Dice again, it starts playing the very first song; not where I stopped. So, if I have 100 songs in it, I never get to listen the songs at the end of the list. If I turn off the car and get back to it in a short time, the music starts where I left it at.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
-*nga*-


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to replace BMW iPod kit with Ice>Link Ernö Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics 21 04-03-2009 10:41 AM
The Official when are you going to Munich thread! e36M3r European Delivery 1648 03-27-2009 07:53 PM
Another Ipod Thread bmw4ever E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013) 2 11-07-2005 09:58 AM
iPod in X3 (BMW Business CD) simoncpw Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics 6 07-05-2005 04:06 PM
2005 EuroPacific Summer Showoff - Floyd Bennett Field - OFFICIAL THREAD RRRize NY / NJ / CT 7 05-15-2005 06:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms