Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)

X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)
Talk about the E83 BMW X3 in this forum!

Old 08-23-2007, 07:59 PM

Mein Auto: 2007 platinum bronze x3
Starting the Evaluation process on X3

Hello All:

I'm just beginning to compare 5 or 6 medium-sized SUVs in order to replace my Explorer with something that is higher-end in every way (not hard to do considering the sorry excuse for a car that the Explorer is).

The X3 keeps popping up in my research and I never expected to even be considering one. I went to the BMW showroom today and was totally impressed by the X3, so my comparison is already becoming biased! I never imagined that a BMW could be considered "affordable", but some surprising details are making me think that it might be within reach for me (even the mileage was a surprise).

Anyway, I'm wondering if anyone here did a full-blown "Total Cost of Ownership" type of evaluation before they took the plunge and bought their X3? I could do my own spreadsheet, but hoping something already exists besides the sponsored comparisons that the magazines do. There are many intangibles such as the driving experience, the Maintenance Program (not sure anyone but BMW has this), other things that probably aren't considered in a "canned" comparison chart.

Let me know if I should be posting this in a different forum, but this one seems appropriate because the only BMW that I'm considering is the X3.