Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech

Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech
BMW navigation, audio upgrades, XM Radio, Sirius, Bluetooth, and Radar Detector discussions here!

Sponsored by BimmerTech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 02-05-2008, 02:42 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trainwreck View Post
Does a DSP adapter have to be used with the radio install kit? Is there any difference in sound quality between the radio and trunk install kits?
You cannot use a radio interface kit if equipped with DSP.

The difference in the kits is merely installation preference, features and audio quality is exactly the same between the radio and trunk interface kits.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-05-2008, 04:53 PM
patdosa patdosa is offline
Registered User
Location: California
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 2002 330i w/ SportPackage
Hi Tom,
I just got my new Silverline kit with trunk interface yesterday (got as replacement directly from DICE) and completed the install. This is my third exchange from my original DICE purchase (due to ticking noise problems), and was very very excited about this new Silverline, and very hopeful of finally getting pure noise-free music.

Unfortunately I'm still getting the ticking noises..., especially when the text scrolls across the display. Like I said, I have it connected at the trunk interface. Question: do you think if I instead connected at the radio head unit this problem would be solved?? would it help? I talked with Adam at DICE customer support and he said DICE does not make the radio interface connection cable for the 3-series, but that EAS does have a connector available. Can you help me out??

Would also appreciate a link on how to do the DIY install at the radio head unit too. Thanks so much in advance. BTW, really appreciate your customer service on this site, which is one of the best I've seen on the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-05-2008, 04:57 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by patdosa View Post
Hi Tom,
I just got my new Silverline kit with trunk interface yesterday (got as replacement directly from DICE) and completed the install. This is my third exchange from my original DICE purchase (due to ticking noise problems), and was very very excited about this new Silverline, and very hopeful of finally getting pure noise-free music.

Unfortunately I'm still getting the ticking noises..., especially when the text scrolls across the display. Like I said, I have it connected at the trunk interface. Question: do you think if I instead connected at the radio head unit this problem would be solved?? would it help? I talked with Adam at DICE customer support and he said DICE does not make the radio interface connection cable for the 3-series, but that EAS does have a connector available. Can you help me out??

Would also appreciate a link on how to do the DIY install at the radio head unit too. Thanks so much in advance. BTW, really appreciate your customer service on this site, which is one of the best I've seen on the internet.
Here's the radio interface Adam's referring to:

Radio Connect harness for DICE iPod Kit (R17)
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...roducts_id=664

The shorter cable length would be optimal if your BMW is extra sensitive.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-05-2008, 05:17 PM
patdosa patdosa is offline
Registered User
Location: California
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 2002 330i w/ SportPackage
Thanks Tom,
Since I just got my Silverline kit and it didn't work out, would it be possible to exchange my trunk harness/cable for that radio interface cable through you guys at EAS?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-05-2008, 05:23 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by patdosa View Post
Thanks Tom,
Since I just got my Silverline kit and it didn't work out, would it be possible to exchange my trunk harness/cable for that radio interface cable through you guys at EAS?
Not a problem, send me your full name via email and I'll make the necessary arrangements on my end.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-05-2008, 05:27 PM
patdosa patdosa is offline
Registered User
Location: California
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 2002 330i w/ SportPackage
Tom, I'll email you right now. And thanks!! I'll ship out the trunk harness tomorrow. Can you confirm your shipping address?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-05-2008, 05:32 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by patdosa View Post
Tom, I'll email you right now. And thanks!! I'll ship out the trunk harness tomorrow. Can you confirm your shipping address?
I'll confirm it with return instructions once I receive your email.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-06-2008, 06:02 PM
zerock zerock is offline
Registered User
Location: Puerto Rico
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: 2006 X3
Got Silverline yesterday to replace the original module, its working great
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-06-2008, 06:03 PM
patdosa patdosa is offline
Registered User
Location: California
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 2002 330i w/ SportPackage
Hi Tom,
I sent you the email you requested yesterday with my info, but haven't heard from you yet. wondering if you received it? I sent it to you at tom@europeanautosource.com Let me know. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-06-2008, 06:39 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by patdosa View Post
Hi Tom,
I sent you the email you requested yesterday with my info, but haven't heard from you yet. wondering if you received it? I sent it to you at tom@europeanautosource.com Let me know. Thanks.
I was away from my desk most of the day, I'll get to it shortly.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-07-2008, 02:20 AM
costyn costyn is offline
Registered User
Location: Den Haag, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: BMW 320d Touring
Quote:
Originally Posted by costyn View Post
I have the following problem with my iphone (v1.1.2) in in combination with the silverline kit: whenever I connect it, it will start playing music as it should, but the iphone is set on 'repeat 1'. I have to disable it by pressing a button on the iphone but then next time I connect it, it's on 'repeat 1' again. The DICE unit is in ipod mode. The iphone refused to show me the ipod controls when it was in DICE mode.
Bump...

The phone has been upgraded to 1.1.3, but I'm still seeing the same behaviour. I can reproduce it in the following way:
1. connect the iphone
2. it comes with the message that this is not a compatible ipod/iphone accessory and if I would like to switch off the radio (gsm, wifi, bluetooth) to avoid interference. This is normal.
3. Start the car.
4. Select a track to play on the iphone
5. Switch on the headunit.
6. On the iphone I now see the 'shuffle' and 'repeat 1' icons light up.

Anyone have any ideas on this? Surely I'm not the only one using an iPhone on the DICE Silverline unit?

Cheers,

Costyn.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-07-2008, 11:41 AM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by costyn View Post
Bump...

The phone has been upgraded to 1.1.3, but I'm still seeing the same behaviour. I can reproduce it in the following way:
1. connect the iphone
2. it comes with the message that this is not a compatible ipod/iphone accessory and if I would like to switch off the radio (gsm, wifi, bluetooth) to avoid interference. This is normal.
3. Start the car.
4. Select a track to play on the iphone
5. Switch on the headunit.
6. On the iphone I now see the 'shuffle' and 'repeat 1' icons light up.

Anyone have any ideas on this? Surely I'm not the only one using an iPhone on the DICE Silverline unit?

Cheers,

Costyn.
I'm using an iPhone with 1.1.3 and am not experiencing the issues you are describing. Is the iPhone unlocked or modded in any way?
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-07-2008, 03:45 PM
zerock zerock is offline
Registered User
Location: Puerto Rico
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: 2006 X3
hmm i will test my iPhone tomorrow. I tried it once, and got the this accesory is not compatible message, but it function normally after that.
Will try it tomorrow again to check ( i use the iPod classic on the car more)
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-08-2008, 08:42 AM
costyn costyn is offline
Registered User
Location: Den Haag, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: BMW 320d Touring
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
I'm using an iPhone with 1.1.3 and am not experiencing the issues you are describing. Is the iPhone unlocked or modded in any way?
Hi Tom and zerock, thanks for the reply.

Yeah since I live in Holland where I can't buy an official iPhone yet, I have a US version which has been jailbroken and sim-unlocked (with a turbosim).

Perhaps it has something to do with that; I wish there were some way to fine-tune some of the preferences of the applications on the iPhone, like disabling the 'repeat 1' function, which I never ever use.

BTW, is the DICE Silverline unit firmware upgradeable in some way if there comes out a newer firmware version in the future with bugfixes/new features? That would be cool.

Last edited by costyn; 02-08-2008 at 09:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-08-2008, 10:52 AM
patdosa patdosa is offline
Registered User
Location: California
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 2002 330i w/ SportPackage
Hi Tom,
When I send you my trunk harness in exchange for the radio connect harness, does the radio connect harness include only the y-harness shown in the picture of the link you sent me? http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...roducts_id=664,

Or does it also include a shorter-length connector cable for connecting the 6-pin and 3-pin headers on the y-harness to the DICE Silverline unit?
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 02-08-2008, 10:57 AM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by costyn View Post
Hi Tom and zerock, thanks for the reply.

Yeah since I live in Holland where I can't buy an official iPhone yet, I have a US version which has been jailbroken and sim-unlocked (with a turbosim).

Perhaps it has something to do with that; I wish there were some way to fine-tune some of the preferences of the applications on the iPhone, like disabling the 'repeat 1' function, which I never ever use.

BTW, is the DICE Silverline unit firmware upgradeable in some way if there comes out a newer firmware version in the future with bugfixes/new features? That would be cool.
Firmware is upgradeable, but the module will need to be sent in as it is not updateable by the end user.

We have a jailbroken 1.1.1 iPhone here along with my 1.1.3 (virgin) iPhone as testers, no problems to report at this time. If you would like to test the module for you, let me know and 'll make the necessary arrangements.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-08-2008, 10:58 AM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by patdosa View Post
Hi Tom,
When I send you my trunk harness in exchange for the radio connect harness, does the radio connect harness include only the y-harness shown in the picture of the link you sent me? http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...roducts_id=664,

Or does it also include a shorter-length connector cable for connecting the 6-pin and 3-pin headers on the y-harness to the DICE Silverline unit?
This will be the MALE/FEMALE R17 connector, with a 12-pin molex connector for the DICE module. The 3PIN/6PIN cables in the trunk will be disabled.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-08-2008, 11:07 AM
patdosa patdosa is offline
Registered User
Location: California
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 2002 330i w/ SportPackage
AHH,... I miscounted the pins. o.k. the black connector is the 12-pin molex which connects to the DICE unit. What about that 10-pin white header? what's that for?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-08-2008, 11:20 AM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by patdosa View Post
AHH,... I miscounted the pins. o.k. the black connector is the 12-pin molex which connects to the DICE unit. What about that 10-pin white header? what's that for?
That's audio in for the CD Changer/iPod. That will plug into the radio.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-08-2008, 11:41 AM
patdosa patdosa is offline
Registered User
Location: California
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 2002 330i w/ SportPackage
Cool. Thanks for the clarification, it all makes sense now. So are you ready to do the exchange? i'm itching all over to get started.... can almost taste it..
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-08-2008, 03:16 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by patdosa View Post
Cool. Thanks for the clarification, it all makes sense now. So are you ready to do the exchange? i'm itching all over to get started.... can almost taste it..
Can you send me your full name and RMA number so I can look up your details?
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-09-2008, 09:36 AM
keithsimp keithsimp is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Colorado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 129
Mein Auto: 08 X3, Lexus 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
You cannot use a radio interface kit if equipped with DSP.

The difference in the kits is merely installation preference, features and audio quality is exactly the same between the radio and trunk interface kits.
Tom,
Since I ordered the Prem sound in my X3 the only choice I have for a Dice interface is the Silverline trunk mounted kit with the DSP module. I am assuming that I have enough room under my center arm rest storage box for both of these modules, is that correct?

Thanks,
__________________
Keith

PCD 04-03-08 2008 X3 - Plat. Bronze, Tobacco, Premium, Heated front,
Heated Steering, Prem Sound, HD Radio, Xenon, Steptronic
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-09-2008, 10:52 AM
zerock zerock is offline
Registered User
Location: Puerto Rico
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: 2006 X3
I can confirm that the iPhone (1.1.3) works great with DICE Silverline.

costyn: are you using the DICE module in iPod Mode or Lock Mode?, I'm using it in Lock Mode.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-09-2008, 05:50 PM
dcchurchill dcchurchill is offline
Registered User
Location: Silverdale, WA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 29
Mein Auto: '99 Z3 2.3, 01 530iA
Tom,
I have an original Dice purchased from you about a year ago installed with trunk kit in an '01 E39 w/DSP and Sirius. If I purchase the Silverline can I simply replace the Dice unit with the Silverline using the existing cables?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-10-2008, 08:07 PM
zerock zerock is offline
Registered User
Location: Puerto Rico
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: 2006 X3
so far so good with the silverline. The only complaint I have so far is that When i use the iPod classic and go to a short playlist i made. It doesn't respect the order of the tracks instead it plays them on album order, this doesn't happen on the iPhone, it works correctly on it.

The iPod classic is version 1.1, I just updated to 1.1.1 right now, let's see if it makes a difference tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms