Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech

Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech
BMW navigation, audio upgrades, XM Radio, Sirius, Bluetooth, and Radar Detector discussions here!

Sponsored by BimmerTech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #126  
Old 03-25-2008, 07:37 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by therock View Post
Hey Tom, I work really close to European Auto Source. Is it possible to purchase and pick up a DICE unit there or do I have to order it online and have it mailed? I rather not have to wait if I don't have to. Thanks.
Absolutely - feel free to stop by anytime.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 03-25-2008, 07:38 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by gray01 View Post
Purchased the DICE Silverline, install all done on my 01 330xi, business radio, video iPod with 1.3 software, switches set per the instructions (Off,ON). Now have a few, hopefully simple, questions.
1. Should the title of songs appear in my head unit display?
2. I can't seem to be able to switch between different playlists without disconnecting the iPod, setting to the playlist I want, and then re-connecting.

I may have answered my own quesiton by checking further back in the forum. Looks like my iPod switches should both be off. Would you please confirm this?

Thanks!
1. Your radio is compatible with text display.
2. Pressing CD2 will bring up your Playlist directories.

If you should continue to have trouble, we'll make arrangments to have them module tested in-house.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:14 PM
robinsonda1 robinsonda1 is offline
Registered User
Location: Savannah GA
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 96
Send a message via Yahoo to robinsonda1
Mein Auto: 2005 330ci ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Awaiting your package to be rerouted and returned, we should be seeing it within the next 2-3 days.
Tom the package arrived today. I guess they didn't intercept it. Can you send me the harness I need or do I have to ship this back and wait for another one?
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:41 PM
NorthStar7 NorthStar7 is offline
Registered User
Location: Great White North
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Mein Auto: 2004 325xi
I have a problem with my Silverline. Whenever I start my car and turn on the radio it reads "DETACHED". I have not found any key sequence on the head unit that will awaken my Nano. When I open the glove box and hit the play button on the Nano it wakes up and everything is cool. I only notice this behavior when I haven't used the car for a day.

What do I have to do to have the Dice module wake up my ipod for me? I specifically installed the ipod to the glove box instead of the sunglasses holder because I thought it would be out of sight, out of mind.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 03-26-2008, 06:06 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthStar7 View Post
I have a problem with my Silverline. Whenever I start my car and turn on the radio it reads "DETACHED". I have not found any key sequence on the head unit that will awaken my Nano. When I open the glove box and hit the play button on the Nano it wakes up and everything is cool. I only notice this behavior when I haven't used the car for a day.

What do I have to do to have the Dice module wake up my ipod for me? I specifically installed the ipod to the glove box instead of the sunglasses holder because I thought it would be out of sight, out of mind.

Thanks!
The iPod is going into hibernation mode and breaking the "handshake" between the iPod and DICE module. You will need to turn it on first, then connect to the DICE.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 03-26-2008, 06:06 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonda1 View Post
Tom the package arrived today. I guess they didn't intercept it. Can you send me the harness I need or do I have to ship this back and wait for another one?
Returning the package would be much more costly than just getting a new harness shipped. Please PM me your full name so I can get you set up.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 03-27-2008, 07:23 AM
NorthStar7 NorthStar7 is offline
Registered User
Location: Great White North
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Mein Auto: 2004 325xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
The iPod is going into hibernation mode and breaking the "handshake" between the iPod and DICE module. You will need to turn it on first, then connect to the DICE.

Tom, this is a critical piece of information. When I specifically asked about deciding where to put the iPod (see exchange below from prior post), you said "iPod placement is not important since all control is performed by the radio". Isn't turning the iPod on part of "all control"?

At any rate, for other people considering where to put it, understand that it needs to be a place you are happy accessing EVERY DAY.


My Prior Post:
5) Originally I was planning on installing to the sunglass holder. Now that I know the iPod itself will be locked, I am debating installing to the glove box instead so it will be out of the way. Any opinions on the pros/cons?

You're Answer:
None to report. iPod placement is not important since all control is performed by the radio and/or steering wheel controls. Simply place it in a convenient place for access when needed to sync music.
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:53 AM
RichardP RichardP is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: England
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 197
Mein Auto: BMW E39 M5
If you use your iPod regularly then there is a workaround for the Deep Sleep/Hibernation issue. There is a lot of information in this post on the Intravee forum, the information on how to prevent your iPod entering Hibernation/Deep Sleep and the expected battery life is just as relevant for the DICE.
__________________
2003 M5, Carbon Black, Nav, Intravee II with Ipod + MP3 CD Changer + DAB + MD Changer, TV, Bluetooth Phone, the works.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:34 PM
NorthStar7 NorthStar7 is offline
Registered User
Location: Great White North
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Mein Auto: 2004 325xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardP View Post
If you use your iPod regularly then there is a workaround for the Deep Sleep/Hibernation issue. There is a lot of information in this post on the Intravee forum, the information on how to prevent your iPod entering Hibernation/Deep Sleep and the expected battery life is just as relevant for the DICE.

RichardP,
Thanks for the link. Very clever.

I use my car almost every day so I doubt the battery would drain completely. Do you know of any adverse side effects to depriving your iPod of sleep?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 03-27-2008, 03:00 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthStar7 View Post
RichardP,
Thanks for the link. Very clever.

I use my car almost every day so I doubt the battery would drain completely. Do you know of any adverse side effects to depriving your iPod of sleep?

Thanks!
We've used calendar reminders for a bit, they work very well in keeping the iPod from entering hibernation mode.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 03-28-2008, 12:19 AM
RichardP RichardP is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: England
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 197
Mein Auto: BMW E39 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthStar7 View Post
RichardP,
Thanks for the link. Very clever.

I use my car almost every day so I doubt the battery would drain completely. Do you know of any adverse side effects to depriving your iPod of sleep?

Thanks!
It depends what type of iPod you have.

With a Classic or Gen 3 Nano, almost nothing unless you don't use it for months, if you know you are not going to use it you can simply set the calendar alarm mode to "off" and the iPod will hibernate normally.

With any other iPod, basically the older it is the more stress you will put on the battery the longer you leave it. You also get stacking reminders, there may be a limit on the number of reminders you can have, but if there is I've not hit it and what happens if you do reach it I don't know, the iPod may freeze, reboot, or just stop reminding you! So every so often you should clear the reminders.
__________________
2003 M5, Carbon Black, Nav, Intravee II with Ipod + MP3 CD Changer + DAB + MD Changer, TV, Bluetooth Phone, the works.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 03-29-2008, 04:55 AM
ladrstea ladrstea is offline
Registered User
Location: France
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Mein Auto: X3 3.0D
Hi Tom,

I have been using an IceLink plus with an X3 for the last 2 years and half without problems. Until, I start to experiment battery problems - battery drain, car refused to start - Battery changed, BMW dealer identified the Dension module as the source of battery drain. I heard of ILP modules failing in the time, I suspect mine is part of the faulty modules. So, to be on the safe side, I disconnect the module each time, I have the leave my vehicule for weeks without using it. Not handy, hey!

I recently bought an Ipod touch, and before I migrate to the Dice, I would have a few questions for you:
> Is the Touch 16Gb, Ver 1.1.4 is compatible with the dice silvermine.
> Is my car - X3 2004, no dsp, no Nav, compatible with the Dice
> Have you heard of any - car -battery issues with the Dice?
> Can I re-use the Dension cables already fitted in the car - Radio interface and Dock cable - This would avoid me to go for a full install ! Can I simply plug the Dice in place of the ILP ?
> If so, are you selling only the dice module without the cables at a preferred price, to upgrade from ILP?
> Is the navigation with the dice a bit quicker and more user friendly than the ILP?
> Endly, are you shipping to Europe - France - and at which cost?

Thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 03-29-2008, 11:54 AM
BMWucT BMWucT is offline
Registered User
Location: UKRAINE
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 56
Mein Auto: BMW 530
2Tom

You have already sent a Radio Connect harness for DICE iPod Kit (R17) ?
When they should come on the American address?
I`ll wait for your answear!
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 03-29-2008, 04:57 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWucT View Post
2Tom

You have already sent a Radio Connect harness for DICE iPod Kit (R17) ?
When they should come on the American address?
I`ll wait for your answear!
Your order has already shipped, you should be seeing is shortly.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 03-29-2008, 05:01 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
[QUOTE=ladrstea;3131922]

I recently bought an Ipod touch, and before I migrate to the Dice, I would have a few questions for you:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea View Post
> Is the Touch 16Gb, Ver 1.1.4 is compatible with the dice silvermine.
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea View Post
> Is my car - X3 2004, no dsp, no Nav, compatible with the Dice
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea View Post
> Have you heard of any - car -battery issues with the Dice?
None, the DICE goes into cleep mode when the vehicle is shut down to prevent battery drainage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea View Post
> Can I re-use the Dension cables already fitted in the car - Radio interface and Dock cable - This would avoid me to go for a full install ! Can I simply plug the Dice in place of the ILP ?
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea View Post
> If so, are you selling only the dice module without the cables at a preferred price, to upgrade from ILP?
Yes, we have an upgrade program listed here:

DICE - SILVERLINE iPod Integration Module Upgrade
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...oducts_id=1638

Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea View Post
> Is the navigation with the dice a bit quicker and more user friendly than the ILP?
About the same in Navgiation speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea View Post
> Endly, are you shipping to Europe - France - and at which cost?
As soon as your shipping info is entered, the website can give an exact amount for shipping.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 03-30-2008, 05:11 AM
Giddeeup Giddeeup is offline
Registered User
Location: Commerce MI
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 18
Mein Auto: 2007 Z4 SI Roadster
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
All you would need is a replacement module, your existing cables and DSP adapter can be retained:

DICE - SILVERLINE iPod Integration Module Upgrade
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...oducts_id=1638

These are in stock, let me know if you need anything else.
Tom, how about one with the HD radio?
__________________

07 Z4 3.0si
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 03-30-2008, 03:41 PM
hobieboy hobieboy is offline
Registered User
Location: Up North
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
Mein Auto: 3-series Cab
Hi Tom,
Finally had a chance to install the kit that I received last month. Have a few questions / potential issues with it so would like to get some inputs & comments -

a) I selected to play one of the playlist. Display shows name of the playlist. Then I hit the clock button (the - button on my Business CD unit). The clock shows for a few sec but flip back to playlist name. Is this normal?

b) Per a) above, I tried to adjust tone (balance, bass, ...) but it wouldn't let me

c) If I switched off car then listen to it next time, the display will default back to Disc1 (song name) mode. Is this normal?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 03-30-2008, 07:21 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giddeeup View Post
Tom, how about one with the HD radio?
We have an upgrade program for that also:

DICE High Definition Radio w/ iPod Integration (BMW) - *UPGRADE*
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...roducts_id=612
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 03-30-2008, 07:24 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobieboy View Post
Hi Tom,
Finally had a chance to install the kit that I received last month. Have a few questions / potential issues with it so would like to get some inputs & comments -

a) I selected to play one of the playlist. Display shows name of the playlist. Then I hit the clock button (the - button on my Business CD unit). The clock shows for a few sec but flip back to playlist name. Is this normal?
This is normal, you do have the clock underneath your gauge display also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobieboy View Post
b) Per a) above, I tried to adjust tone (balance, bass, ...) but it wouldn't let me
Text will need to be turned off (DISC6/TRACK99) in order to set your EQ. An easier way would be to switch to AM/FM mode instead, then switch back when completed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobieboy View Post
c) If I switched off car then listen to it next time, the display will default back to Disc1 (song name) mode. Is this normal?

thanks!
This is due to the iPod going to hibernation mode, breaking the connection with the DICE. Periodic calender reminders on the iPod will keep the device from entering this mode.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 03-31-2008, 12:45 AM
ladrstea ladrstea is offline
Registered User
Location: France
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Mein Auto: X3 3.0D
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea
> If so, are you selling only the dice module without the cables at a preferred price, to upgrade from ILP?

Yes, we have an upgrade program listed here:

DICE - SILVERLINE iPod Integration Module Upgrade
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...oducts_id=1638

Tom - The description of the upgrade program mention a trunk interface. I do have a radio interface already fitted. Is this the proper module to order for a radio interface cable?
I would think the module are the same and not dependent of the wiring, but just want to check before to order.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 03-31-2008, 01:17 PM
hobieboy hobieboy is offline
Registered User
Location: Up North
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
Mein Auto: 3-series Cab
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
This is due to the iPod going to hibernation mode, breaking the connection with the DICE. Periodic calender reminders on the iPod will keep the device from entering this mode.
Thanks for the clarification Tom...

One question about going to hibernation - will DICE continue to play the Playlist or it will start going through all the songs on the iPod?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:18 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobieboy View Post
Thanks for the clarification Tom...

One question about going to hibernation - will DICE continue to play the Playlist or it will start going through all the songs on the iPod?

thanks!
The iPod will pick up from where it left off if it does not enter hibernation mode.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:28 PM
tom @ eas's Avatar
tom @ eas tom @ eas is offline
european auto source
Location: SoCal, CA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,850
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladrstea
> If so, are you selling only the dice module without the cables at a preferred price, to upgrade from ILP?

Yes, we have an upgrade program listed here:

DICE - SILVERLINE iPod Integration Module Upgrade
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...oducts_id=1638

Tom - The description of the upgrade program mention a trunk interface. I do have a radio interface already fitted. Is this the proper module to order for a radio interface cable?
I would think the module are the same and not dependent of the wiring, but just want to check before to order.
The module would be the same for trunk vs. radio interface kit.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 03-31-2008, 06:14 PM
zerock zerock is offline
Registered User
Location: Puerto Rico
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: 2006 X3
Tom, as you know I have already reported some issues with the classic..

Well related to the classic and iPhone, I have something, not sure if its a problem or what...
Lets see supposed i'm browsing the artists and albums..using the radio unit.And well I had to make a stop, and turn off the car, when I get back on, I have to start browsing from the beginning,, is that normal?

Also is there a way to keep current music playing while browsing for other music?

Thanks!

P.S. have you heard from dice on those classic issues I posted?
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 04-01-2008, 07:02 AM
badabingjr badabingjr is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NYC
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 122
Mein Auto: 2003 BMW 540iA Sport
tom,

i sent you an email last week, not sure if you got it. figured i'll post it here in case someone has the same setup/questions;

I have a 2003 540i and I recently purchased an iphone which I am looking to fully integrate into the vehicle. The specs are as follows;



16GB iphone version 1.1.4 (4A102)

2003 540i Sport (1/2003 production)

Non-Dsp

Non-Nav

Business CD

Factory Phone wiring option 640

Pre wired for cd changer (no changer installed)

I recently installed the dealer aux input kit and have a Sirius Sportster 4 connected to it.



I would like the system to have the following capabilites/features;



Iphone mounted cleanly in center console/dash area w/ charging capability.

Handsfree operation of the phone with audio coming from the speaker system and utilizing factory mic

Automatic muting of audio, regardless of source playing, when call incoming

Voice dialing and other voice control of phone

Ability to access other functions of iphone when connected to system (safari, txt messages, email, etc)

Full control of ipod with track info displayed on mid



What would I need to accomplish this? What are the advantages of Dice over Intravee? Are there any cons?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms