Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > Welcome to Bimmerfest > New Member Introductions

New Member Introductions
Welcome to Bimmerfest! Whether you are a current BMW owner or just interested in BMW cars, we hope you enjoy your visit. Take a moment to introduce yourself and post a picture of your BMW for the rest of the community to see.

Old 02-13-2008, 12:39 AM

Mein Auto: Bimmer 525i 2002
My first lesson on fix my E39/M54, change camshaft sensor (intake side)

Hello,

I am new to this forum. I am new to hands-on on my Bimmer.

But with all your guys good work, I am hoping i can learn quickly. I am sick and tired on getting a rip-off by BMW dealers in my area (San Francisco Bay Area). They charged me $800 for doing Inspection I. The sad thing was I paid them.

My motivation for starting my bimmer project is triggered by my Bimmer 2002 525i showed "Service Engine Soon" and start to stall at stop signs. I wend to an independent BMW shop and their estimate for fixing all the problems including changing front breaks and doing Inspection II is $3000. Wow.

So I started to open the hook and identify the oil level stick ....

As a matter of fact, I just finished my first bimmer project, I just spent two hours and installed a new camshaft position sensor.

Following are the tools/parts I got for my first project.

1) New Peake reader FCX 3 R5 ($150 including shipping)
2) BMW service and parts software from Ebay ($15). This is the same software the BMW dealer uses.
3) some tools spanners/allen hex key/flash light etc.