Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E39 (1997 - 2003)

E39 (1997 - 2003)
The BMW 5-Series (E39 chassis) was introduced in the United States as a 1997 model year car and lasted until the 2004 when the E60 chassis was released. The United States saw several variations including the 525i, 528i, 530i and 540i. -- View the E39 Wiki

Old 03-16-2008, 10:51 AM
Not Quite Sane

Mein Auto: 1997 528i
Question Can the lock/unlock whistle sound be disabled?

I have a 1997 528i and I'm a total BMW newbie. I seriously want to disable the whistle-like sound that occurs whenever the doors are locked or unlocked. Is there a simple (preferably but not necessarily DIY) way to do this, without screwing anything else up?
Advertisement
Old 03-16-2008, 11:26 AM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: 2000 528i (01/2000 mfg.)
This question was posed a few weeks ago and a member here managed to do it once, however by accident. I don't think he's managed to replicate the sequence for us, but here's the thread, maybe you can send Chivas a private message:

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=266647
Old 03-16-2008, 12:32 PM

Mein Auto: BMW 1998 528i
Well I bascially did what Chivas said rolled down my driver side window with the key turned to the second position, then held down the lock button on my key itself, took the key out and the "chime" went away.

My only problem is that I can't get it turned back on, (just in case I ever wanted to). Hmmm.......
Old 03-16-2008, 01:32 PM