Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)

X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)
Talk about the E83 BMW X3 in this forum!

Old 03-18-2008, 07:39 PM

Mein Auto: 2007 X3
2007 X3 Oil Change Interval - Oil Analysis

I bought a new 2007 X3 about a year ago. As time went on, I was concerned as most owners are that the oil change interval was excessive. Eventually, at 18,400 miles, the car agreed with me that it was time to change the oil. As a former aviation mechanic, and as an engineer, I was familiar with oil analysis. I sought a lab online and determined that I would have an oil analysis performed on the original (18,400 mile) oil and on the new oil after some wear-in following the change. Since there were 2 samples, I have 2 reports. The first report is for the original oil (and contains comments for the original sample) and the second report includes the original data, but comments only address the second sample. The reports are attached as one PDF file for your viewing. The first oil analysis indicates abnormal conditions due to a reading of 50 PPM of aluminum. This is normally associated with piston wear. After follow-up with the lab, the technician overlooked the fact that this was the original oil. That being said, tech support promptly said that this is due to the break-in of the engine and that it is normal for the first oil change. For physical properties, the oil is checked at 100 degrees C. Note that the viscosity had changed from the (presumably) 30 weight to 40. I