Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E46 (1999 - 2006)

E46 (1999 - 2006)
The fourth generation 3 Series (E46 chassis) was introduced in 1999 and set the standard for engineering and performance during it's years of production including being named to Car & Driver's 10 best list every one of those years! ! -- View the E46 Wiki

Old 09-16-2008, 07:49 PM
**** - 2001 BMW 330i

Mein Auto: 2001 BMW 330i
Question OPINION/HELP: Upgrade from halogens to HIDs

Hi everyone. I'm new to the forum and i am in the process of upgrading my halogen headlights to some HIDs (6000k) along with putting in angel eyes and new fog lights (6000k)... im not to familiar with the name brands and vendors out there.

Ive done a little bit of research and this what i have my sights on....

HID Temp: 6000k
Bulbs: Apexcone 55W or 35W OR Predator Xenix
Projector Housing: DEPO from EAS OR Projector46
Angel Eyes: Aurora from EAS
Fog Lights: ?????

I know that i want to stick with the 6000k and the Aurora angel eyes, but im not to sure about the DEPO projector housing, and there doesnt seem to be alot of information about upgrading fog lights to HIDs online (or maybe im not looking hard enough).

Are there better types of projector housings out there? i know umnitza has the Projector46 housing but, according to their website, they only have it in a black housing for the 2001 E46. I like the way my current silver housing looks on my car, im not too sure how a black housing would look on a black car.