Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > The Detail Department

The Detail Department
Detailing tips, tricks to keep your bimmer in showroom condition.

Old 06-22-2003, 10:56 PM
iPod and XM enabled

Mein Auto: 330Ci
Detailing and prep question (noob warning)...

I've read on a number of occasions here that the detailing products you use are not as important as the preparation and methodology.

I'm a complete detailing noob and will be moving from a pretty abused SUV to a new 330Ci soon. I would like to keep it looking good and protect it for longterm ownership. I'm not sure what kind of time commitment I'm willing to invest, but I am open minded about it and think it could grow on me.

Could someone explain or provide a pointer to what prep means in this context and perhaps some pointers on how to get started with detailing in general? My car will be a mostly blank slate and I want to get started correctly.

Thanks in advance!
Advertisement
Old 06-23-2003, 05:38 AM
Account closed at users request

Mein Auto:
For what its worth, here's my detailing schedule, feel free to PM me if you have any questions.

Ripsnorts generic exterior detail/cleaning schedule
Old 06-23-2003, 08:13 AM
+ Recovering Zainoholic +

Mein Auto: '02 Z3 & '04 MCS & '05 xB
There are a lot of detailing tips here.