Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E46 (1999 - 2006)

E46 (1999 - 2006)
The fourth generation 3 Series (E46 chassis) was introduced in 1999 and set the standard for engineering and performance during it's years of production including being named to Car & Driver's 10 best list every one of those years! ! -- View the E46 Wiki

Old 02-06-2009, 07:37 AM

Mein Auto: 318Ci
Question Cruise control stuck?

Hello,
Since I am a newbie to motors, it should come as no surprise to you that when I was left in the middle of a crossroad here in London with an accelerator (gas) pedal stuck, I had to wait and call RAC recovery. They noticed that it was not the pedal stuck, but the lever, under the boot, that is pulled by a wire pulled itself by the pedal. (I do not know its name). Anyway, the RAC unblocked by brute force the lever, and then sprayed something (I guess WD40) on it. I was able to start again.

Amazingly, this happened again. I say "amazingly because, once unblocked, this lever seems to work very smoothly, and it does not look dirty. Anyway, I sprayed it myself again and hammered, and I could start again.

Now, I have done a little research myself. The pedal gets stuck only after (but not always, thankfully) I have used the auto cruise control, and I disengage it by braking. I see that there are two cables connected to that lever, and I assume that the other one is connected to the auto cruise control.