Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > The Detail Department

The Detail Department
Detailing tips, tricks to keep your bimmer in showroom condition.

Old 08-01-2003, 12:29 AM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: 330i ZHP
Suggestions for a total newbie?

Hi everyone,

I hope I don't annoy people with a newbie detailing post. I've been browsing this forum for a while trying to learn how to keep my soon-to-arrive car (silver gray ZHP) clean and reasonably well proected. Having done so, I've become utterly lost and confused, reading about all kinds of products with confusing names and codes (zainos, zymol, p21s, griots, 3m, etc.), in addition to various methods for washing, drying, waxing, polishing, detailing, etc.

I would like to keep the car clean and provide a reasonable amount of protection for the paint, but I just don't have the ability to spend a lot of time doing so. In that regard, do you have any suggestions for a total newbie who would like to keep the car clean and reasonably well preserved with the least amount of time and effort? Is this an impossible task?

I've been thinking of ordering something called Optimum Car Wax (available at www.optimumcarcare.com) since one of the columnists in last month's Roundel claimed it was the easiest and best wax he's ever used. Has anyone heard of this product before?

Sorry for the rambling post. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Last edited by dusterbuster; 08-01-2003 at 12:36 AM.
Ads by Google
Old 08-01-2003, 04:20 AM