Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > M Series > E39 M5 (1998-2003)

E39 M5 (1998-2003)

Old 07-07-2009, 09:08 PM

Mein Auto: 03 X5 4.4
e39 M5 questions

Ok newbie here. Well I have owned a few BMWs currently an X5 and recently sold an 840. But I am in the market for an E39 M5. I have searched a few threads and am more confused than before I started. I have seen a couple of M5s advertised as having the Sport Package. I was under the impression the sport package mostly consisted of suspension differences. Don't they all come with the same suspension? Or is there an option for a sports suspension on the M5? Second, does anyone really know what the Dinan software adds to performance, or are there different chips for different results? I had both the engine and transmission chip on the 840 and it was the smoothest shifting and running vehicle I ever owned. I think between the two it added about 10 hp and about the same in torque. What about performance adds for Dinan exhaust and cold air intake? One seller advertised a Dinan fly wheel, which I think was incorrect but what do I know?

Any thoughts or positive input would be greatly appreciated. Should I avoid a car with over 75K miles on it? Thanks in advance.
Advertisement
Old 07-07-2009, 09:21 PM

Mein Auto: E39 M5