Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E30 (1982 - 1993)

E30 (1982 - 1993)
God's Chariot. The E30 was produced primarily from 1982 through 1991. The cabriolet was the one exception which was produced through 1993.

Old 08-27-2009, 09:26 PM

Send a message via AIM to Jetpilot718
Mein Auto: E30 325ic
Radio Issues.. Aftermarket HU help?

Hey all,

I'm new to the car but not new to car audio. Done more installs than I can remember. However, never on anything this old.

So, I remove the old radio since it appears it was broken (all I got out of it was static and popping). What do I find? A mess of wires that make no sense to me. I assume these cars have whats called a "floating ground" system?

Basically, on my new HU I have literally twice the number of speaker wires to connect and coming out of the car is half as many. There are no negatives at all.

I can't tell which wires are the power switch, the battery or the positive and negative.

So any help or maybe a picture from someone who has gone from old to new? I'm contemplating just reworking the entire system.. are the OEM speakers worthless? Should I just rewire everything back into this generation?

Thanks!
Advertisement
Old 08-27-2009, 09:32 PM
East Bound And Down

Send a message via AIM to noexceptions325
Mein Auto: 325e,Jeep,240z,528i
The oem speakers are crap.. i advise rewiring the speakers but u should be able to figure out the Positive and ground just use a volt meter to find the ignition power. good luck