Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)

E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)
The E9X is the 4th evolution of the BMW 3 series including a highly tuned twin turbo 335i variant pushing out 300hp and 300 ft. lbs. of torque. BMW continues to show that it sets the bar for true driving performance! -- View the E9X Wiki

Old 10-18-2009, 10:24 AM
Not a real doctor.

Mein Auto: 2009 328i Coupe
E92 oil change with pictures

Disclaimer: I'm no pro. Use this info at your own risk. And don't forget to put the oil plug back before you add new oil. And don't forget to add new oil before you drive your car again.

First, let me acknowledge the thread I used to help me with my first oil change at home:

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=217666

Here's my experience with my 328i coupe.

First I got the car up and level on jack stands.

Then I got under the car and located the door in the plastic shield underneath the car.

Using a quarter, you can turn the latch, open the door, and locate the oil plug.

After reading other threads, i was expecting oil to not come out straight, to get inside the plastic shield, to splatter, to be ill behaved. But it wasn't. The plug was horizontal, I backed it out and the stream came straight down.

While the oil is draining, make sure that you got the brass or copper crush ring. Mine came off with the plug, but others have reported it stays stuck in the car or they've lost it.