Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)

E36 (1991 - 1999)
The E36 chassis 3-Series BMW was a huge hit among driving enthusiasts from the first moment the car hit the pavement. The E36 won numerous awards over the years it was produced and is still a favorite of many BMW enthusiasts to this day! -- View the E36 Wiki

Old 11-08-2009, 09:40 PM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: E36 328i, E60 530xit 535i
Talking Valve Cover Gasket Removal

OK, so I'm new at working on my BMW, and this is my first job I've done on the car, other than head lights. So please be patient with me.

I'm replacing my valve cover gasket and I've got everything undone ( bolts around valve cover - ignition wiring for spark plugs ( I'm doing the plugs at the same time ) etc. and my valve cover WONT come off so that I can get the old gasket out and the new on in.

Would you recommend using a hammer or skew driver to wedge under the valve cover to loosen it and take it off or what. I searched and found nothing helpful.....

Tonight it got kinda dark while I was out working on it ( damn day-light savings ) so I closed up the car and came in for dinner.

I plan on finishing off the job tomoro... and will probably end up going around it with a screw driver ( the pelican parts DIY recommends a hammer I believe )

Thanks for help

Oh yah - I have a 1998 328i

1998 E36 328i
2008 E60 535i
2014 E85 X1 sDrive
Ads by Google
Old 11-08-2009, 09:49 PM
IM DA BES

Mein Auto: A rental