Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E21 (1975 - 1983)

E21 (1975 - 1983)

Old 02-04-2010, 01:51 PM
David Crevenston

Mein Auto: 1983 320i 1.8 Manual
83 320i 1.8 Manual ? about tempature running over the 12 O clock Position?

Hello I am new at this so perhaps you could welcome me and give me some tips on how this works. I am happy to find a site like this...... Well I do have a question perhaps someone could take a stab at. I have a 83 320i 5 speed the problem is it runs hot a lot. The temp gauge will go over the half way mark (3/4) to be exact when sitting at a red light or when its hot. Is this normal for the E21's 81-83 for those years? If not please advise me as to what it might be. I have already gone over many things such as coolant flush, new radiator, installed new thermostat cooler Tempature (171F versus the factory 180F thought that would help it did a little). Everything else works great belts, fan, new water pump, wow the car is great no problems other then this one I am naming please advise me thanks.
Dave
Advertisement
Old 02-05-2010, 11:30 AM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: M3, 335GT
Check the fuse box. There's an auxiliary fan, electrically controlled. (Possible that cars without a/c don't have this?) If the fuse is blown, or the fuse contacts are corroded, the fan won't run.