Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E46 (1999 - 2006)

E46 (1999 - 2006)
The fourth generation 3 Series (E46 chassis) was introduced in 1999 and set the standard for engineering and performance during it's years of production including being named to Car & Driver's 10 best list every one of those years! ! -- View the E46 Wiki

Old 03-19-2010, 03:24 PM

Mein Auto: BMW 316i SE
Question radiator losing water/coolant!

hi everyone, i am new to bimmerfest and this is my first post. i hope some one can help me with this issue i have with my bmw 316i se.

my radiator needs topping up with water/coolant roughly an hour or less into driving the car. i have had the radiator, electric fan, fan resister and thermostat changed so far. i have recently had an oil change and have also changed the coolant fluid and have not had any indication that the head gasket is leaking.

for some reason my coolant heats up very fast within 5-10mins and the temp gauge goes up, two thirds of the way towards red and only then does the electric fan kick in. the temp gauge seems to stay two thirds of the way towards red...

i have had a mechanic have a look at this problem but he can not find any leak anywhere.

so can someone please help me figure this out. i can't get my head around how the radiator is losing this water/coolant and why it needs topping up within an hour or so in to driving and also why the coolant temp goes all the way up, two thirds towards red before the fan kicks in.