Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > M Series > E36 M3 (1995-1999)

E36 M3 (1995-1999)

Old 11-11-2010, 06:19 PM

Mein Auto: e36 M3
1995 E36 S50B30 erratic idling with & after air con use

Hello all;

I've been owning a '96 s50b30 for the last four years and love its simplicity and performance. Its has been a hardy daily driver and trouble free.

The car is well maintained, regularly serviced and never over-revved.

Lately (the last few months); i've noticed 2 problems that i have, to date, not been able to trouble-shoot, so would appreciate some advice:

1) Morning cold starts.

On cranking (3 out of 5 times on average) the car would not start at the usual point it usually should (usually by 2 seconds or so). The engine sounds like it is about to start but then holds back and instead it would take an extended (3-4 seconds in all) before firing up. Once it fires up, idling is fine and driving is smooth throughout.

2) If i drive the car without the air-con on throughout, everthting is smooth and fine. With the air con on, driving is still smooth and regular, but after driving for 10 minutes or so onwards, when i stop at the lights or after parking for example, the idling would then get very erratic. It would be searching, dipping and rising from 600+rpm to just above 1000rpm. This would last for as the car is stationary. Once i drive off, throttling is alright while on the move.