Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > F10 / F11 (2011 - Current)

F10 / F11 (2011 - Current)
The new chapter in the highly successful story of the BMW 5 Series Sedan (F10) and wagon (F11)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 07-10-2011, 01:25 PM
schraderade schraderade is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 151
Mein Auto: 2011 550i
I followed the OP's GREAT tutorial yesterday and installed the V1 without a hitch. I did manage to use the ground bolt that the OP identified....didn't have to use an angled wrench. It just took a little patience with a regular adjustable wrench.

I agree the overhead console was easier to remove by starting with the front (close to windshield) clips, then sides. Then it popped right out. I took Needsdecaf's advice and ordered the Griots tools, which came in very handy.

In case folks are wondering where the side clips are when looking from the underside (i.e. while prying out the console), I've attached another photograph which may be helpful for figuring out where to pry.

Needsdecaf....was the 8-foot standard V1 power cable long enough to get from the console to the left pillar for the remote V1 display? I am thinking of putting mine in the same location: also couldn't find a better place for it. I presume you ran it along the ceiling headliner and down inside the driver side pillar?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo2.jpg
Views:	526
Size:	82.2 KB
ID:	284541  

Last edited by schraderade; 07-10-2011 at 01:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-10-2011, 02:09 PM
mujjuman mujjuman is offline
tappa tappa toit
Location: NY
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,687
Mein Auto: hoopty
Awesome work!
__________________
mujjuman
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-16-2011, 11:36 AM
schraderade schraderade is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 151
Mein Auto: 2011 550i
For those of you with HUD I found a nice place to put the V1 concealed display: inside the HUD well.
See attached photos.
The display is front and center so it's very visible, but low enough that it doesn't interfere with field of vision out the windshield (it overlaps with the "hood" part of the FOV so it doesn't obstruct roadview). Since it's black and matches the HUD trim, it blends in pretty unobtrusively.
I ran the power cable from the overhead housing, under the headliner, down the side pillar and around the HUD liner. The Griot's tools see earlier this thread) came in really handy.
The standard 8' cable that comes with the concealed display is more than enough length for the job.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Remote  (2).jpg
Views:	548
Size:	85.5 KB
ID:	285313   Click image for larger version

Name:	Remote  (3).jpg
Views:	506
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	285314   Click image for larger version

Name:	Remote  (1).jpg
Views:	479
Size:	119.1 KB
ID:	285315  
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-16-2011, 12:16 PM
Needsdecaf's Avatar
Needsdecaf Needsdecaf is offline
Everything's Bigger in TX
Location: The Woodlands, TX
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,106
Mein Auto: 2007 MDX
Quote:
Originally Posted by schraderade View Post
I followed the OP's GREAT tutorial yesterday and installed the V1 without a hitch. I did manage to use the ground bolt that the OP identified....didn't have to use an angled wrench. It just took a little patience with a regular adjustable wrench.

I agree the overhead console was easier to remove by starting with the front (close to windshield) clips, then sides. Then it popped right out. I took Needsdecaf's advice and ordered the Griots tools, which came in very handy.

In case folks are wondering where the side clips are when looking from the underside (i.e. while prying out the console), I've attached another photograph which may be helpful for figuring out where to pry.

Needsdecaf....was the 8-foot standard V1 power cable long enough to get from the console to the left pillar for the remote V1 display? I am thinking of putting mine in the same location: also couldn't find a better place for it. I presume you ran it along the ceiling headliner and down inside the driver side pillar?
Yes, the standard cable was long enough no problem. I see you found that out...

I hate you with that display. It's awesome...the black panel dash, that is. Not the V1.
__________________
2011 535i
Sophisto Grau / Oyster - Black Nappa, Anthracite Wood Gone but not forgotten.

Heaven is where the police are British, the cooks are French, the cars are German, the lovers are Italian and it is all organised by the Swiss.

Hell is where the police are German, the cooks are English, the cars are French, the lovers are Swiss, and it is all organised by the Italians

Last edited by Needsdecaf; 07-16-2011 at 12:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-16-2011, 02:04 PM
schraderade schraderade is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 151
Mein Auto: 2011 550i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Needsdecaf View Post
Yes, the standard cable was long enough no problem. I see you found that out...

I hate you with that display. It's awesome...the black panel dash, that is. Not the V1.
Yeah in retrospect it was a dumbass question because had I actually bothered to sit in my car before asking it would have been totally obvious that 8' is more than enough. You did right not to respond
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-20-2011, 07:11 AM
wlin2001 wlin2001 is offline
Registered User
Location: OC, California
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 25
Mein Auto: E60, E63
Thumbs up A more economic option

Thanks for this excellent writeup sep23 and all other contributors! This is very professional and detailed.

That set is a little overpriced ($25)... get them at your local Harbor Freight Tool store for $7 or less (got them on sale for $4)

Trim removal tool set



Quote:
Originally Posted by Needsdecaf View Post
Invest in a set of interior trim removal tools and taking that console off will be easy. Something like this is invaluable:

http://www.griotsgarage.com/product/...rrivals&page=1

__________________
_______________________________
"real enthusiasts get their hands dirty"
12' F12 650i SpaceG
11' F10 550i JetBlk
11' E82 135i MontegoB
10' E70 X5 SpaceG (retired)
09' F01 BlkS (retired)
07' E92 MontegoB (retired)
06' E85 MontegoB (retired)
05' E63 MinAg (retired)
04' E60 SilverG (retired)
04' E46 ImolaR (retired)
98' E39 JetBlk (retired)

Last edited by wlin2001; 11-20-2011 at 07:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-20-2011, 08:02 AM
F10ster F10ster is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: GA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 123
Mein Auto: 528
A pillar question

How did you route the wire in the A pillar so as not to interfere with the airbag or is the airbag no longer located there as in previous models?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-27-2012, 06:20 AM
harrisfb harrisfb is offline
Registered User
Location: Philadelphia, PA
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 91
Mein Auto: 2012 550i MSport 6MT
Thank you!

Thank you for the great how-to! Just wired up my V1 in my new F10!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-24-2012, 09:48 PM
sep23 sep23 is offline
Registered User
Location: Phoenix, AZ
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 2011 550i (F10)
So glad to see that folks are getting some good results from my original how-to and all the wonderful additional info from others in this forum! My setup is still working well, without any problems.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-02-2012, 06:21 PM
ayeshasmith ayeshasmith is offline
Registered User
Location: Allen
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 535
Disclaimer: I am the most technically inept person on this planet.

I tried to do the hardwiring myself but struck out. Just did not have the right tools and/or the intestinal fortitude to pull the panel apart. Took it to an audio dealer here in Dallas to get them done. They charged me $80 - shame on me. Happy with the work though. I can't believe I drove around 3 years with the coiled chord dangling from my ceiling.

The folks I used was Earmark Audio in Addison TX (Dallas). They were recommended by Classic BMW.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-26-2012, 01:17 PM
ramiles ramiles is offline
Registered User
Location: san antonio
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2010 Z4
Thanks very much to the original poster - the pictures and directions worked great - hardwired a Beltronics unit this afternoon using the excellent posts.

Only other notes I would add is that the snap on spade connector that comes with the hardwire kits never seem to be small enough to make a good contact with the power line - had to cut off the spade, strip the wire and then splice and solder it to the power line (green/brown). I did use the bolt as the ground contact that the original poster noted and had pictures of - used a 10mm wrench and even though it didn't the wrench didn't have a long range of motion there was no problem loosening it and then wrapping the ground wire around it.

Again, thanks to the great help provided in this post
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-15-2012, 09:10 PM
pixelated pixelated is offline
Enthusiast
Location: CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 235
Mein Auto: '07 E92 335i
We have a 2012 535i and tried this installation but it didn't work. Is there any other way to ground this? The bolt in the picture plastic so we didn't use it and tried to ground it on something metal which didn't work either. We have hardwired in a e92, e90, e46 and e70 but are not getting any luck with this f10. Can anyone advise? It would be greatly appreciated bc it has been horrible not being able to use the v1 since we've had this new car thanks in advance!

Last edited by pixelated; 09-15-2012 at 09:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:34 AM
radarguy radarguy is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Connecticut
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 813
Mein Auto: 2011 535ix; 2015 X5 35ix
Quote:
Originally Posted by epham View Post
We have a 2012 535i and tried this installation but it didn't work. Is there any other way to ground this? The bolt in the picture plastic so we didn't use it and tried to ground it on something metal which didn't work either. We have hardwired in a e92, e90, e46 and e70 but are not getting any luck with this f10. Can anyone advise? It would be greatly appreciated bc it has been horrible not being able to use the v1 since we've had this new car thanks in advance!
There are a number of ways to wire into the electrical system. Take a look at this one. http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...302&highlight=
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-16-2012, 09:01 AM
ramiles ramiles is offline
Registered User
Location: san antonio
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2010 Z4
Epham,

On my 550 I was able to ground the connection with the bolts that the original poster highlighted with a red arrow in photo 6 (on the first page of this thread). Sitting in the driver seat I used a 10mm wrench on the passenger side bolt and could only rotate it about 30 degrees each turn so it took a while but I loosened it up about 1/4 inch and then stripped an inch of insulation of the ground wire and made it into a hook shape and positioned it under the bolt head pulled it tight with needle nose and then wrenched the bolt tight again.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-17-2013, 01:27 PM
rborgia rborgia is offline
Registered User
Location: Long Island - NY
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: 2011 BMW 550i M-Sport
+1 to the OP for this...

I just did this in a matter of 15 minutes. I think the first ten of which were spent being worried I was about to break something pulling the cover off. Once the back is off, just get a light, look about halfway up on both sides for the silver clips. Push the clips in with a small screw driver or something small (I used a Pen, it was in the console), and the whole assembly comes down. I tapped the Yellow/Green ground and the Brown/Green Power... worked perfectly.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 02-21-2013, 12:50 PM
E92-Lighting's Avatar
E92-Lighting E92-Lighting is offline
info@e92-lighting.com
Location: Walnut CA
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,582
Send a message via AIM to E92-Lighting Send a message via MSN to E92-Lighting Send a message via Yahoo to E92-Lighting Send a message via Skype™ to E92-Lighting
Mein Auto: 335i
looks awesome
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-21-2013, 02:30 PM
hufington's Avatar
hufington hufington is offline
OZG F10
Location: NJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 597
Mein Auto: '13 BMW 535i F10
I need to find a place in NJ to get this done for me with my Escort. Does anyone have a recommendation? I appreciate it.
__________________

13 BMW F10 535i RWD - 3.0 L 221 kW (300 hp) Bone stock except NAVI,PDC,Cam,Tint,Coded,HID Fogs,Debadged,Spoiler,BMS Stg1
07 BMW E64 630i - 3.0 L 200 kW (272 hp)
03 BMW E65 745i - 4.4 L V8, 242 kW (325 hp)
98 BMW E39 535i - 3.5 L 183 kW (245 hp)
95 BMW E34 540i - 4.0 L V8 210 kW (282 hp)
89 BMW E30 M3 non-cat 147 kW (200 hp)


15 MB W222 S550 4-Matic on order
10 Infiniti G37x Sedan
09 Mercedes C 350
08 Infiniti G35x Sedan
04 Mercedes CLK 350
01 Mercedes C 230

Last edited by hufington; 02-25-2013 at 12:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-25-2013, 11:40 AM
Gundo Gundo is offline
Registered User
Location: Connecticut
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 47
Mein Auto: '11 750i
Would confirm that this works for F01 as well. Wiring is nearly identical, though lighting unit is quite a bit different and more complex to remove.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-25-2013, 04:16 PM
Travel4Surf's Avatar
Travel4Surf Travel4Surf is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 226
Mein Auto: Everglades 243
I would love to see someone do this with a CCTV DASH CAM.
__________________
Minha patroa um BMW
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-25-2013, 04:28 PM
octopump's Avatar
octopump octopump is offline
Brevity = soul of wit
Location: NYC
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,005
Mein Auto: F10
Which one dash cam would you use?

Everyone uses one in Russia for instance. Have you identified any vendors?
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-25-2013, 04:36 PM
Travel4Surf's Avatar
Travel4Surf Travel4Surf is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 226
Mein Auto: Everglades 243
I seen a few on amazon, but haven't purchased one yet...

I wish GoPro would stop being lazy and make one.

or a way to record my internal BMW cam.
__________________
Minha patroa um BMW
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-25-2013, 05:35 PM
octopump's Avatar
octopump octopump is offline
Brevity = soul of wit
Location: NYC
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,005
Mein Auto: F10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travel4Surf View Post
I seen a few on amazon, but haven't purchased one yet...

I wish GoPro would stop being lazy and make one.

or a way to record my internal BMW cam.
That's where I looked too.

Agreed about GoPro.
But why not use their Frame Mount which will let you mount it on a suction cup and have access to the microUSB port for power?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-25-2013, 08:15 PM
bfv bfv is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Underground
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 697
Mein Auto: Rickshaw
Is the 12 V supply in the ceiling a constant supply or gets cut off after the car is shut off/locked?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-26-2013, 04:35 AM
Donm's Avatar
Donm Donm is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Atlanta
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 361
Mein Auto: '13 M 550i, BMW f800st
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfv View Post
Is the 12 V supply in the ceiling a constant supply or gets cut off after the car is shut off/locked?
Off with ignition so works well with radar detector.
__________________
Best regards,
Don M

It isn't broken yet but I can fix that!

2013 550i Titanium Silver Metallic Dinan S3 , BMW F800ST, ML350
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-26-2013, 01:10 PM
grandpawmoses grandpawmoses is offline
Registered User
Location: Alabama
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Mein Auto: 2013 535i
FYI, custom mount for BMW
http://www.blendmount.com/bmw.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
diy, hardwire, radar detector


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > F10 / F11 (2011 - Current)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms