Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech

Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech
BMW navigation, audio upgrades, XM Radio, Sirius, Bluetooth, and Radar Detector discussions here!

Sponsored by BimmerTech

Old 02-13-2011, 12:42 PM

Mein Auto: 2006 530i
MP3 AUX Input Retrofit

Hello All,

I'm a newbie to the site and I've noticed some of you guys seem to be gurus for our E60s. I have a question I hope someone can shed some light on.
Ive purchased an Retrofit AUX Input for my 06 E60. Ive tried a DIY install, however I've been unsuccessful. Ive attached the PDF to illustrate the item and directions.

I've been under the impression that the existing X13813 plug gets replace it with the AUX plug (which is an exact fit). Removing the existing X13813 plug eliminated the subs under the seats and rear speakers only the front speakers worked.
I read on another forum that the harness to the AUX Input had to be cut and spliced in the the factory harness witch made me very uncomfortable in doing, so I replaced the original plug ,put the dash back together then call it quits.

After reading the this PDF again over and over, it seems that what needs to be done is to extract the pins (wires) from the AUX Input plug and insert them into the pin location on the existing factory plug as instructed in the PDF.