Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E46 (1999 - 2006)

E46 (1999 - 2006)
The fourth generation 3 Series (E46 chassis) was introduced in 1999 and set the standard for engineering and performance during it's years of production including being named to Car & Driver's 10 best list every one of those years! ! -- View the E46 Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2015, 03:39 PM
Flexx99323i Flexx99323i is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NY/Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 200
Mein Auto: 99 BMW 323i / 09 M3
ECU/DME change out

Purchased a used ECU, DME and ignition switch for my because of issues my car was experiencing. Installed the used part and the car started up but this didn't resolve the issue so I replaced the original parts thinking the car would start right up. That didn't happen and I believe it's due to the mistake of me not disconnecting the battery like previous before cranking the engine. Now the engine is just swinging but not starting.
Do I need to have the units reprogram in order for it to start ?

Thanks ahead of time....

Last edited by Flexx99323i; 01-28-2015 at 03:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 01-28-2015, 03:42 PM
MalibuMafiaV's Avatar
MalibuMafiaV MalibuMafiaV is offline
L4P
Location: Malibu, CA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,785
Send a message via AIM to MalibuMafiaV
Mein Auto: E60 M5 & Stage 3 Audi S4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexx99323i View Post
Purchased a used ECU, DME and ignition switch for my car because of issues my car was experiencing. Installed the used part and the car started but didn't resolve the issue so I replaced the original parts thinking the car would start right up. That didn't happen and I believe it's due to the mistake of I me not disconnecting the battery like previous before cranking the engine. Now the engine is just swinging but not starting.
Do I need to have the units reprogram in order for it to start ?

Thanks ahead of time....
Yes. You have to program the ECU to the car before starting. Also reset adaptations as well for good measure.
__________________
http://www.luxury4play.com
BMW 2006 M5 - REALLY LOUD
Audi S4 2000 Stage 3 - Dat turbo spool
BMW 2000 3-series - Supercharged Because race car SOLD
Maserati 2004 M128 GT - HREs/tint/straight piped SOLD
BMW 2006 M3 - stock - SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2015, 03:46 PM
Flexx99323i Flexx99323i is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NY/Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 200
Mein Auto: 99 BMW 323i / 09 M3
Ok thanks, I figured that but needed a second opinion before taking it to bmw to have it done...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2015, 03:53 PM
MalibuMafiaV's Avatar
MalibuMafiaV MalibuMafiaV is offline
L4P
Location: Malibu, CA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,785
Send a message via AIM to MalibuMafiaV
Mein Auto: E60 M5 & Stage 3 Audi S4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexx99323i View Post
Ok thanks, I figured that but needed a second opinion before taking it to bmw to have it done...
You don't need to go to BMW to code it. Any place with a BMW GT1/GT2 or Autologic computer can do it. Or any computer that can code modules for that matter.

I've used an autologic to code ECU's and all sorts of modules on an E46 before. And it's the most straight forward on how to do it.
__________________
http://www.luxury4play.com
BMW 2006 M5 - REALLY LOUD
Audi S4 2000 Stage 3 - Dat turbo spool
BMW 2000 3-series - Supercharged Because race car SOLD
Maserati 2004 M128 GT - HREs/tint/straight piped SOLD
BMW 2006 M3 - stock - SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2015, 12:26 AM
Alika808 Alika808 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 331
Mein Auto: 02 E53 / 00 E46 / 98 E36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexx99323i View Post
Purchased a used ECU, DME and ignition switch for my because of issues my car was experiencing. Installed the used part and the car started up but this didn't resolve the issue so I replaced the original parts thinking the car would start right up. That didn't happen and I believe it's due to the mistake of me not disconnecting the battery like previous before cranking the engine. Now the engine is just swinging but not starting.
Do I need to have the units reprogram in order for it to start ?

Thanks ahead of time....
My Question is why ignition switch, the combination should be 1. DME 2. EWS 3. Key transponder/chip. I did replaced these items before, I just removed the old chip from the original key and replaced with the donor chip which included the DME and EWS. My other question, the seller guarantee that the DME and EWS are working good?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2015, 12:28 AM
Alika808 Alika808 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 331
Mein Auto: 02 E53 / 00 E46 / 98 E36
Also, the BMW dealer will not reprogram your key transponder if you didn't buy from them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2015, 03:50 AM
lgr122 lgr122 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,369
Mein Auto: BMW e46 1,9l M43
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalibuMafiaV View Post
You don't need to go to BMW to code it. Any place with a BMW GT1/GT2 or Autologic computer can do it. Or any computer that can code modules for that matter.

I've used an autologic to code ECU's and all sorts of modules on an E46 before. And it's the most straight forward on how to do it.
What would be good place to get that autologic?
Thinking of trying some ecu programming, but bit afraid of messing something, so idea would be to keep original ecu as it is, and use another for programming more speed.

Last edited by lgr122; 01-29-2015 at 03:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2015, 10:51 AM
Flexx99323i Flexx99323i is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NY/Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 200
Mein Auto: 99 BMW 323i / 09 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alika808 View Post
My Question is why ignition switch, the combination should be 1. DME 2. EWS 3. Key transponder/chip. I did replaced these items before, I just removed the old chip from the original key and replaced with the donor chip which included the DME and EWS. My other question, the seller guarantee that the DME and EWS are working good?
Yes, I installed all the parts that came and I believe I described it wrong when I mention the ignition switch, it wasn't the entire ignition switch but the key transponder, black guard that goes around it and the key. The products worked but didn't solve the problem so that why I'm replacing the original part into the car (that also worked).

Last edited by Flexx99323i; 01-29-2015 at 02:41 PM. Reason: Better description or parts
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2015, 03:40 PM
Alika808 Alika808 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 331
Mein Auto: 02 E53 / 00 E46 / 98 E36
Ohms check the Camshaft Position Sensor (CPS). There's a DIY how to do it, google it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2015, 03:51 PM
MalibuMafiaV's Avatar
MalibuMafiaV MalibuMafiaV is offline
L4P
Location: Malibu, CA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,785
Send a message via AIM to MalibuMafiaV
Mein Auto: E60 M5 & Stage 3 Audi S4
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgr122 View Post
What would be good place to get that autologic?
Thinking of trying some ecu programming, but bit afraid of messing something, so idea would be to keep original ecu as it is, and use another for programming more speed.
Autologic is about 5k and has a monthly/yearly subscription. It's more used for larger shops. I don't think you can just go out and buy one. As for the GT1 and GT2 yes you can go and buy those all day long.

You may be able to program modules with this.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...-/271476322678

I haven't had experience with that one. But if it says you'll have GT1 program capabilities. Than yes you can program modules in the car no problem.
__________________
http://www.luxury4play.com
BMW 2006 M5 - REALLY LOUD
Audi S4 2000 Stage 3 - Dat turbo spool
BMW 2000 3-series - Supercharged Because race car SOLD
Maserati 2004 M128 GT - HREs/tint/straight piped SOLD
BMW 2006 M3 - stock - SOLD

Last edited by MalibuMafiaV; 01-29-2015 at 03:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-29-2015, 11:36 PM
lgr122 lgr122 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,369
Mein Auto: BMW e46 1,9l M43
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalibuMafiaV View Post
Autologic is about 5k and has a monthly/yearly subscription. It's more used for larger shops. I don't think you can just go out and buy one. As for the GT1 and GT2 yes you can go and buy those all day long.

You may be able to program modules with this.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...-/271476322678

I haven't had experience with that one. But if it says you'll have GT1 program capabilities. Than yes you can program modules in the car no problem.
Ok, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-31-2015, 09:39 AM
lgr122 lgr122 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,369
Mein Auto: BMW e46 1,9l M43
Oh... just for clarifying...

If i take another DME and code it to work in my car, then original DME can still be plugged back without any problem?
Assuming that no other parts were changed meanwhile.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-31-2015, 10:44 AM
m123's Avatar
m123 m123 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Rex,Georgia
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 135
Mein Auto: 03 325i
i worked with a guy who tracked his dd Subaru he had the oem dme and a race day dme (mounted under his passenger seat ) he would plug/unplug and use both so would not see a problem
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-04-2015, 08:02 AM
Flexx99323i Flexx99323i is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NY/Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 200
Mein Auto: 99 BMW 323i / 09 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalibuMafiaV View Post
You don't need to go to BMW to code it. Any place with a BMW GT1/GT2 or Autologic computer can do it. Or any computer that can code modules for that matter.

I've used an autologic to code ECU's and all sorts of modules on an E46 before. And it's the most straight forward on how to do it.
So I reenstalled the original dme and ecu and took it to a shop who can reprogram the computer. Got a call from the guy and he said the car won't start after he reprogrammed it. I'm going to reinstalled the one I bought which was working and have them try program it. Is it a certain amount times that a unit can be reinstalled?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-27-2015, 09:39 AM
lgr122 lgr122 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,369
Mein Auto: BMW e46 1,9l M43
Found place with Autologic here in town. So e-mailed them for info. As if I understood, that second DME should be made into virgin state and have my car's VIN code so that EWS can accept it. How much do those US places normally charge for such service?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-27-2015, 03:33 PM
Flexx99323i Flexx99323i is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NY/Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 200
Mein Auto: 99 BMW 323i / 09 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgr122 View Post
Oh... just for clarifying...

If i take another DME and code it to work in my car, then original DME can still be plugged back without any problem?
Assuming that no other parts were changed meanwhile.
Can't say but as for my situation, I replaced the original DME, ECU, and key switch with one purchase from a donor car of the same model and the car started up fine on the first try.

I tried replacing the original set up back into the car because the purchase one didn't rectify the problem and the car would not start even after I took it to get reprogrammed. I ended up reinstalling the donor set up like previous and the car started after reprograming that one.

Before that I used another ECU form another same model car but it wouldn't start due to the DME not being able to register the change.

Don't know if that helps!!!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-27-2015, 10:05 PM
jorg2015 jorg2015 is offline
Registered User
Location: AUSTRALIA
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30
Mein Auto: BMW
Did you do the EWS or get it with swap out kit
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-27-2015, 11:53 PM
lgr122 lgr122 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,369
Mein Auto: BMW e46 1,9l M43
Ok i already got bit further with my testing. Tried how far can BMW Scanner go. Apparently some coding need to be done every time when changing DME.
For being able to work DME got to have right code from EWS. My original DME has right code, because i didn't change anything in it, but it still had to be aligned with EWS after plugged back in.

One way of doing swap is getting full set of DME, EWS and keys from same donor car. (As many people say in many places.)

It is possible to make individual second hand components work, if able to make them virgin state, as if they were new from factory and don't have any code yet, but clearing those components requires specific tools.

Anyway i did change IKE before (instrument cluster), and BMW Scanner was able to do that, but all parts are not so easy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E46 (1999 - 2006)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms