Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E39 (1997 - 2003)

E39 (1997 - 2003)
The BMW 5-Series (E39 chassis) was introduced in the United States as a 1997 model year car and lasted until the 2004 when the E60 chassis was released. The United States saw several variations including the 525i, 528i, 530i and 540i. -- View the E39 Wiki

Old 07-12-2011, 08:58 PM

Mein Auto: 2001 525i
E39 Climate Control Problem

Hello, I'm a newbie! Thanks in advance for anyone that can offer guidance.

While driving with the temperature setting set for cold air (between 60 and mid 70’s), and the snowflake button activated, sometimes the air goes warm; not as warm as if the heat were on, but as though the A/C were not on, and ambient air were blowing in through the vents, warm Texas air. This phenomenon occurs in a variety of conditions: while idling in park, while driving around town… the only time it doesn’t seem to happen is when I am at highway speed. In fact, when I get off the highway and begin driving through town, the air goes warm within a minute, nearly every time.

With all of this said, what I believe is the a/c condensor fan runs at high speed after the engine is started. It sounds like the car is about to take off!

- I have replaced the temp sensor on the lower radiator hose
- I have checked the A/C, the psi cycles low and high for the 10 seconds the fan turns off every now and then.

Can anyone help me please?!?
Advertisement
Old 07-12-2011, 10:54 PM

Mein Auto: 2000 528