Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > Z Series > E36/7 Z3 (1996-2002)

E36/7 Z3 (1996-2002)
E36/7 Z3 Roadster, Z3 coupe, Z3 M Roadster and Z3 M Coupe talk with our gurus here.

Old 07-20-2011, 07:37 PM

Mein Auto: Mustang
Question Radio problem

I guess I asked about this problem in the wrong Z4 forum.

I'm a newbie to BMW's and Z4's. I've a '03 Z4 Dinan, pristine, and low mileage.

About two weeks ago I parked the car, and left town. I've had a water leak problem somewhere in the trunk and the battery compartment had water in it. I think it may have come from water wicking down the cords which secure my mini topper, but that is subject to more investigation and discussion.

Yesterday, I decided to take the car for a ride. The radio seemed to work, but no sound at all. I tried the CD player, and same thing...silence. In scrolling through the radio messages, I saw a msg. REG OFF.

I checked the radio manual and no notation was made for that. There is mention of the radio or CD not working when temperatures are extremely high. Here in MN we have had about a month of extreme rains, very high temperatures and literal saturation points with our humidity.

Is there a correlation in this and the fact my radio quit working. There was no indication of a problem prior to my taking the car out last night.

I'm baffled by this. Also trying to figure out where the leakage is coming from.

No, I don't have a garage for this car...damnit!!
Ads by Google
Old 07-23-2011, 06:30 PM
Underachiever