BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

new 540i msport project , pulling engine :-(

6K views 30 replies 11 participants last post by  bluebee 
#1 ·
so Im new to BMW and i just got in deep with a very affordable 1999 540i ......
the car is returning compression into the cooling system ...I did some research and determined that its probably bad headgaskets and possibly cracked heads. After getting a second opinion from a local shop (Accent BMW ) and getting a price quote of over 3 GRAND i decided to take on the project myself ...

i have pics of todays progress .... i dont really know how to load the images...i hope they load...

#3 ·
You can't upload the pictures on here since this site doesn't have a storage to offer for users except for emails.
You need to sign up at photobucket.com or a similar site and then upload the pictures there. Once you upload them, each pic will have a direct link provided by the site you choose. Copy that link and then come to this site and click on the yellow icon next to the earth icon. If you hoover the mouse over it, it will say insert image. Click on that and then delete everything in the box and then paste the direct link you copied from the site where you uploaded the images on.

Hope this help :)

#7 ·
bimmerpost people are much more mechanically inclined. They love threads like these and have tons of knowledge to share

#9 ·
well the plan is to tear into the heads now that the engine is out ... im going to asess the damage and go from there.... im hoping that milled heads new gaskets and and service the vanos does the trick im a little scared about putting it all back together after i get the heads back from the machine shop ....

#11 ·