Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E39 (1997 - 2003)

E39 (1997 - 2003)
The BMW 5-Series (E39 chassis) was introduced in the United States as a 1997 model year car and lasted until the 2004 when the E60 chassis was released. The United States saw several variations including the 525i, 528i, 530i and 540i. -- View the E39 Wiki

Old 09-14-2011, 10:59 AM

Mein Auto: United States
DVD Unit

Hi, I am new to the forums as I am new to the wonderful world of BMW. I Like my new 1997 528i so much that I want to spend some money on fixing a few things and while my mechanic is doing his thing, I wanna do mine and install a new stereo

My stereo's left side doesnt work, there for all the buttons on the left half do no work, so I can either replace the unit with another working one for around $200 plus labor, or I can get this cool gadget and spend around $650 plus labor

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ht_7670wt_1339

Its basically a screen display that takes both the tape deck and the stereo deck, and turns it into a full 7in multimedia center. Navigation (comes with its own GPS chip), mp3 player, hands free bluetooth supporting A2DP, radio, DVD, CD pretty much everything you can think of.