Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)

7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Discussion of BMW's 4th generation E65/E66 7 Series flagship. The E65 generated much controversy, due to its radical styling and iDrive user difficulties. Nonetheless, the E65 broke records to become the best-selling 7-series iteration ever, especially after its 2005 facelift.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #326  
Old 05-16-2012, 08:42 AM
alistair2112 alistair2112 is offline
Registered User
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: e38
Quote:
Originally Posted by masa52 View Post
I reckon ncs using E70 daten files for X6 as well
Tried put files from E70 into E65 folder but still the same
In folder E70 I have file TCU15MOS.C16 which It ask for but when I copy to E65 folder notching change
any ideas??
i had the same problem as you with a tcu from a E60 got one from a E65 pluged in paired right away so get your self a E65 TCU then resell the E70 one
Alistair
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 05-16-2012, 09:00 AM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
I`ve checked PK in inpa
this tcu also was fitted in e65,
I reckon unit is fine but I need to find solution how to set ncs to talk with my tcu
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 05-16-2012, 09:08 AM
alistair2112 alistair2112 is offline
Registered User
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: e38
Hi does anyone know how to get phone option on SVS got nav option radio etc but no phone.Have upgraded to facelift MMI TCU NAVI3 got full bluetooth coded TCU VR_EQUIPPED to aktive & SVR_CONTROL to aktive still no option on svs for phone & i cant seem to find the svs module in the list of modules to see what options are on that any help would be good
Alistair
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 05-16-2012, 09:15 AM
politby's Avatar
politby politby is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 159
Mein Auto: 2005 750i
Use the pruefcode_schreiben in Tool32 to set a new pairing code, then try pairing again. If it does not work then at least you know that is not the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 05-16-2012, 10:59 AM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
Use the pruefcode_schreiben in Tool32 to set a new pairing code, then try pairing again. If it does not work then at least you know that is not the problem.
Done this still the same
Look on the picture CODE_INDEX (??) is missing maybe this cause the problem in ncs?
Could you compare yours
Reply With Quote
  #331  
Old 05-16-2012, 04:08 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is online now
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,483
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by masa52 View Post
I have Phone option in Settings menu with Bluetooth and Pair options
When I press Pair my mobile ask me about PK which is 3875 but after 20s I get error message that my car reject connection

MMI



NAV
Set your BLUETOOTH-HANDY
To AKTIV & let us know if that makes a difference

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App
Reply With Quote
  #332  
Old 05-16-2012, 04:55 PM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
Set your BLUETOOTH-HANDY
To AKTIV & let us know if that makes a difference
everything in MMI is set properly (on the top I`ve posted my original MMIGT and NAV trc files without any mod)
I have 4 outputs sockets in tcu, but only two cables, what for are the other?
One bent calbe connected to black colour and cream plug to cream colour socket

Last edited by masa52; 05-16-2012 at 04:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #333  
Old 05-17-2012, 02:38 AM
politby's Avatar
politby politby is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 159
Mein Auto: 2005 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by masa52 View Post
everything in MMI is set properly (on the top I`ve posted my original MMIGT and NAV trc files without any mod)
I have 4 outputs sockets in tcu, but only two cables, what for are the other?
One bent calbe connected to black colour and cream plug to cream colour socket
I only plugged in those two and the TCU paired fine. W/ r t the BLUETOOTH_HANDY parameter I strongly suspect it refers to the bluetooth handset in the front drawer (638 option) because it makes no difference at all in my case if it is active or not. You had it set to inactive and you can still initiate pairing from the MMI. I am convinced your pairing problem is TCU, not MMI, related.

BTW I removed the old handset and SIM reader yesterday and it had no effect on my MMI, whatever I do it is stuck in SA638 mode. My iPhone and the TCU work fine together as do the devices connected to the TCU - microphones, keypad, speaker - but the MMI basically only displays caller ID (it does get the name from the iPhone phonebook though) and numbers I enter on the keypad.

I need to figure out how long flashing the MMI will take over the OBD port. I don't feel like buying a power supply just for this one operation. Maybe I'll park the car at my dock and connect it to the genset in my boat - it can charge at 40A until it runs out of gas :sly:

Sent from my GT-P7500 using Bimmer App

Last edited by politby; 05-17-2012 at 02:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #334  
Old 05-17-2012, 04:27 AM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
maybe try connect as E70
but to do that I need change model in FA?
E70 connecting through same CAS LMA modules E65 I think
Reply With Quote
  #335  
Old 05-17-2012, 04:30 AM
alistair2112 alistair2112 is offline
Registered User
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: e38
Quote:
Originally Posted by masa52 View Post
I`ve checked PK in inpa
this tcu also was fitted in e65,
I reckon unit is fine but I need to find solution how to set ncs to talk with my tcu
yea the one i had was also for e65 but was coded in a e60 so i got one just for the e65 & it worked first time
Reply With Quote
  #336  
Old 05-17-2012, 05:54 AM
politby's Avatar
politby politby is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 159
Mein Auto: 2005 750i
@masa52: Looking back at your screen shot INPA is telling you the TCU has coding index 22. That is the key here.

You need to check if you have TCU15MOS.C22, or any other TCU*.C22 in your daten directory. Probably not.

I have what I believe are the latest available daten files for E65 (V45) and the highest TCU index is 16. Which makes sense because the E65 was retired in 2008. Your TCU is from an E71 and if you look at the daten for that model there is bound to be an index 22 file, assuming you have or can get recent E71 daten.

I doubt you can just copy E71 files into the E65 directories. Maybe you can fool NCS by picking E71 as the model and it will then pick up the correct files, in much the same way as we have faked production date and options. That might require you to also input an authentic E71 VIN - you can probably find one on the Web and "borrow" it temporarily for coding.

Maybe worth a shot?

Sent from my GT-P7500 using Bimmer App
Reply With Quote
  #337  
Old 05-17-2012, 08:02 AM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
politby The problem is that latest TCU15MOS file is with index C16 as you said
Don`t know why Inpa showing Index 22 but ncs asking about Index 16?this is the question?
Ordered today new TCU,have enough problems with old one
thanks guys for help
politby
Try to flash your MMI (I reckon It takes just few minutes) (TCU took me 35min) but remember connect your car to other using jump leads!!!

Last edited by masa52; 05-17-2012 at 08:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #338  
Old 05-17-2012, 02:41 PM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 748
Mein Auto: BMW F01
Guys,

(Masa, the TCU you have should be the correct one, dont buy another just yet!)

Masas TCU is 84 10 9 174 261, this is compatible like mine on most of the model range. Masa is having the exact same problems I was having, the car would reject the pairing even though the PK was correct. (Even with my iphone close to the TCU, its fully shielded so have no idea why it works, surely you need to be closer to the antenna!?)

The parameter to change in the TCU is BORDNETZ set the value to e65_bordnetz, yours will most likely be set to e6X_bordnetz.

This is what tells the TCU how to communicate with the MMI. Obviously the biggest problem here is trying to connect to the TCU with NCS so you can set this parameter.

Masa, have you tried another fresh installation of NCS? what version of windows are you using? I know INPA/NCS/WINKFP have issues/bugs running win win 64bit. I personally use my macbook pro with a virtual windows xp machine running inside virtualbox, works a treat!

Stuart
Reply With Quote
  #339  
Old 05-17-2012, 02:49 PM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
stuartjohn24
The problem is how to change this.?has to be any bypass
I`ve tried few fresh installations of Inpa and NCS
Using windows xp sp3
How did You sort your problem Stuart? Did You had also problem with communication in ncs?

cheers

Last edited by masa52; 05-17-2012 at 07:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #340  
Old 05-18-2012, 09:47 AM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 748
Mein Auto: BMW F01
Quote:
Originally Posted by masa52 View Post
stuartjohn24
The problem is how to change this.?has to be any bypass
I`ve tried few fresh installations of Inpa and NCS
Using windows xp sp3
How did You sort your problem Stuart? Did You had also problem with communication in ncs?

cheers
Hi Masa,

No I didnt have the problem communicating, I just changed the production date to the one I stated in my previous post (a few pages back) NCS didnt like one of the options I had set in the default VO (i assume the option was not available in later models) and it worked!

Simply read the coding, edited the E65 bit and recoded, it then paired OK so left it at that.

Why its not working I dont know, It may be some sort of conflict with software versions and coding levels across modules thats causing these issues and a select few have been lucky, myself included.

You are having a different problem than politby, can you read and code other modules ok? its just this TCU thats causing you problems?

Have you tried older production dates and not the latest ones? try #0306, #0906.
Reply With Quote
  #341  
Old 05-18-2012, 12:47 PM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
HI

Yes I can read and code other modules.
Tried different dates, but same story
Reply With Quote
  #342  
Old 05-19-2012, 02:10 PM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
fit today new unit and it work fine
but I still have SOS system failure error message.HOW TO SORT THIS ISSUE????
First when connect it wont pair again so I change TRACK_WIDTH e63_e64 parameter on TRACK_WIDTH e65 but for some reason it change on TRACK_WIDTH standard and unit start to pair and work fine so far

Quote:
TRACK_WIDTH
e63_e64
DSP_ACOUSTIC_PROFILE
wert_03
BACKUP_ANTENNA
aktiv
SIM_IN_TELEMATIK_READER
aktiv
TELEMATIK_SIM_ENABLED
aktiv
TELEMATIK_ENABLED
aktiv
E_CALL_COUNTD_DELAY_TIMER
wert_01
AIRBAG_TRIGGERED_E-CALL
aktiv
SPRACHE
englisch
japan
koreanisch
china_trad
russisch
TIMER_SMS_NACK
wert_01
WAKE-UP_BY_E-CALL
nicht_aktiv
E-CALL_HARDKEY_FITTED
aktiv
NON-TELEMATIC_E-CALL
aktiv
ACK_2_AIRBAG
nicht_aktiv
ALIVE_SIGNAL
aktiv
CAS_KEY_DATA_METHOD
wert_01
PAY_TMC_CONTROL
aktiv
GATS_SMS_DESTIN_BACKUP
atxeu_prod_d1
atxeu_prod_prefit_sim_d1
atxeu_tvs_d1
GATS_SMS_DESTIN_DEFAULT
atxeu_prod_d1
atxeu_prod_prefit_sim_d1
atxeu_tvs_d1
GATS_SMSC_OR_AMPS_BACKUP
atxeu_prod_prefit_sim_d1
GATS_SMSC_OR_AMPS_DFLT
atxeu_prod_prefit_sim_d1
NON_TELEMATIC_E_CALL_NR
nummer1
RDU_CONTROL
nicht_aktiv
SVR_CONTROL
nicht_aktiv
ENABLE_UNICODE
nicht_aktiv
MINIMUM_PULSE_FREQ
standard
SORTING_VARIANT
standard
TRAFFIC_BY_VOICE
nicht_aktiv
AUTO_SRVC_CALL
aktiv
BORDNETZ
e6x_bordnetz
BT_ENABLE
aktiv
CALL_SRVC_CENTER
nicht_aktiv
CAR_PHONE
nicht_aktiv
CCM_FILTER
wert_03
INTERNAL_GPS
nicht_aktiv
INTERNAL_NAD
aktiv
MOST_CHANNEL
most_async_channel
USED_MICROPHONES
wert_01
AIRBAG_COMM_TEST_DELAY
wert_01
AIRBAG_INTRFCE_ERROR_DUR
wert_01
FIRST_POLY_COEFFICIENT
e63_e64
SECOND_POLY_COEFFICIENT
e63_e64
THIRD_POLY_COEFFICIENT
e63_e64
WSPEED_SIG_ERROR_DUR
wert_01
WSPEED_SIG_TEST_DELAY
wert_01
BACKUP_LOUDSPEAKER
aktiv
VR_EQUIPPED_TCU15
nicht_aktiv
PHONEBOOK_PRIORITY_C12
wert_01

Last edited by masa52; 05-19-2012 at 02:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #343  
Old 05-20-2012, 04:23 AM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 748
Mein Auto: BMW F01
At a quick glance you need to disable BACKUP_LOUDSPEAKER that should fix the SOS system failure error, If you can use INPA to read codes from unit this should confirm what the problems are.

Does it pair ok? you have it set to e6X_BORDNETZ
Reply With Quote
  #344  
Old 05-20-2012, 05:58 AM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
hi
unit working fine.pair very well.
set to e65_BORDNETZ
tried turn off the sos function in tool32 but not working for me,need to try your solution
BACKUP_LOUDSPEAKER not working Stuart

Last edited by masa52; 05-20-2012 at 08:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #345  
Old 05-21-2012, 01:24 AM
alistair2112 alistair2112 is offline
Registered User
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: e38
Quote:
Originally Posted by masa52 View Post
hi
unit working fine.pair very well.
set to e65_BORDNETZ
tried turn off the sos function in tool32 but not working for me,need to try your solution
BACKUP_LOUDSPEAKER not working Stuart
I had same problem set BACKUP_ANTENNA & BACKUP_LOUDSPEAKER to nicht_aktiv
that sorts that do you have SVS voice control & if so does it work with the phone
Reply With Quote
  #346  
Old 05-21-2012, 08:11 AM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
set BACKUP_ANTENNA & BACKUP_LOUDSPEAKER to nicht_aktiv and still got this stupid error
SVS working fine so far
Reply With Quote
  #347  
Old 05-21-2012, 12:27 PM
alistair2112 alistair2112 is offline
Registered User
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: e38
Quote:
Originally Posted by masa52 View Post
set BACKUP_ANTENNA & BACKUP_LOUDSPEAKER to nicht_aktiv and still got this stupid error
SVS working fine so far
thats strange i had that error until i turned off these 2 features you could try to code it to factory settings with ncs
Reply With Quote
  #348  
Old 05-21-2012, 02:43 PM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
alistair2112
Could You paste your TRC file
Reply With Quote
  #349  
Old 05-21-2012, 02:52 PM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 748
Mein Auto: BMW F01
Masa52,

Try reading the fault memory from the TCU using INPA, this should tell you why its giving the SOS failure. What car did the new TCU come from?
Reply With Quote
  #350  
Old 05-21-2012, 03:18 PM
masa52 masa52 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: uk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: 750i sport
no sos error message in TCU module at all
I have 2 errors Backup loudspeaker and Backup GSM antenna error
Tried turn off SOS in Inpa but I cant find SOS transport mode
Unit comes from e63
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms