Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)

7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Discussion pertaining to the flagship BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #76  
Old 02-25-2012, 12:51 AM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
Hard to say. I don't think the issue is GSM vs. CDMA, rather if the existing wiring in your car supports upgrading from the AMPS system, since the AMPS TCU uses a compensator and other stuff.

But they are all MOST connected so maybe it will work. Might want to ask BMW if there was an upgrade path from AMPS.
just thought I would let you know the unit I bought works with the AMPS .
PUT IT IN AN 04 along with the FaceLift MMI & it worked with no problems .
All features worked .
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:29 AM
politby's Avatar
politby politby is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 163
Mein Auto: 2005 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
just thought I would let you know the unit I bought works with the AMPS .
PUT IT IN AN 04 along with the FaceLift MMI & it worked with no problems .
All features worked .
That's good news!

What did you have to do to code it for the car? Did you have to program it with the VIN?
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:58 AM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
That's good news!

What did you have to do to code it for the car? Did you have to program it with the VIN?
Yes had to code Vin & turn on Bluetooth & a few other phone features.

1 thing I must point out is it did not work entirely with the Pre-FaceLift MMI. It would not stay connected & the phone section on the MMI stayed on the pairing page.

But with the FaceLift MMI it functioned properly.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 02-25-2012, 06:35 AM
politby's Avatar
politby politby is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 163
Mein Auto: 2005 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
Yes had to code Vin & turn on Bluetooth & a few other phone features.

1 thing I must point out is it did not work entirely with the Pre-FaceLift MMI. It would not stay connected & the phone section on the MMI stayed on the pairing page.

But with the FaceLift MMI it functioned properly.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App
Okay. What did you use to code the VIN? WinKFP?
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 02-25-2012, 03:36 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
Okay. What did you use to code the VIN? WinKFP?
fhnfhn

Last edited by PAPER; 02-28-2012 at 12:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 02-25-2012, 05:38 PM
JML6278 JML6278 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NYC
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 144
Mein Auto: 745LI
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakaveliFaison View Post
No you don't have add anything. Ill send you the mmi file. I saved from that 750 I did a little later when I get on a comp so you can see how it looks.
Could you please send it to me as well. When using ncs expert to read my MMI it doesn't show anything to do with iPod. Does it only show up if the iPod retrofit kit is installed? Would using the MMI file from the 750 you have make that option available?

Separate MMI related question. Does any 8.8" MMI from a 2006 or later work for the facelift? I only ask because I see some auctions that mention Navigation and some just say control screen. I have a Navi03 and I just want to make sure I don't lose the ability to use it. I know the MMI is more than just a screen so that's why I am asking.

Thanks in advance.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 03-05-2012, 08:35 AM
Rostman Rostman is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Moscow
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 129
Send a message via ICQ to Rostman Send a message via Skype™ to Rostman
Mein Auto: GT 550Xi
Guys, could anybody tell me if TCU part number 84 10 6 972 692 will work on e65?
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:29 PM
politby's Avatar
politby politby is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 163
Mein Auto: 2005 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rostman View Post
Guys, could anybody tell me if TCU part number 84 10 6 972 692 will work on e65?
That part number does not cross reference to any other than the E60/61 models. You can look it up yourself at realoem.com.

It appears to be intended for retrofit in cars with the S633A option (preparation for Business phone).

I guess the only way to find out is to try plugging it in. BMW is not likely to tell you. Can you try it before you buy it?

I still haven't installed my new TCU; too bloody cold outside. Also still waiting to find out how to program it with my VIN.

Last edited by politby; 03-05-2012 at 11:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:56 PM
Rostman Rostman is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Moscow
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 129
Send a message via ICQ to Rostman Send a message via Skype™ to Rostman
Mein Auto: GT 550Xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
That part number does not cross reference to any other than the E60/61 models. You can look it up yourself at realoem.com.

It appears to be intended for retrofit in cars with the S633A option (preparation for Business phone).

I guess the only way to find out is to try plugging it in. BMW is not likely to tell you. Can you try it before you buy it?

I still haven't installed my new TCU; too bloody cold outside. Also still waiting to find out how to program it with my VIN.
This part number i crossing with many others in ETK.

For example first three part numbers can be used on e65, but 84 10 6 972 692 is written can be used just on e65 and it is very strange because why some TCUs is crossed with what can be used in e65 and others not
Bloody hell why its so complicated in BMW
How to change your your VIN i've saw on bmwcoding.com forum. You can make a little research there

Last edited by Rostman; 03-05-2012 at 11:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 03-12-2012, 09:16 AM
secagold secagold is offline
Registered User
Location: Romania
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: Bmw E65 730d
bmw e65 tcu everest

Hi guys !!!! I have a 2002 BMW E65 730D. I replaced the TCUM unit in the trunk with the everest model to get full bluetooth compatibility.I followed everything you wrote here and i fail to make it work.
I managed to connect my mobile phone with the TCU unit in the trunk using the pass key which is written on the module.
the problem is that i can not acces the meniu on screen.The MMI unit displays only the option Bluetooth on/off.
The MMI module is a non facelift module.
When I tried to read the Nettodat.trc file I noticed that it is totally different from what you have shown here. The 0302 line is different.
In the FSW file read from the MMI there is no option to activate the bluetooth .
If i select the option code car (and not just one module) and after i read the FSW file i can find only there all the options to activate bluetooth, handy , portable bt, portable bt_c60 , ...etc.Because it is a FSW file obtained from coding the entire car , I do not know in which module are stored.important is that i managed to activate the bluetooth just changing that file and coding with the FSW.Man file the car again.
The only problem now is the inability to control my mobile phone using the i-drive functions.There is no other bluetooth menu in the settings menu no mather what i change in the FSW file. I have changed all the Phone and bluetooth options to active and not active one by one and in different combinations and nothing happends.I dissabled the ECE phone and enabled it again.Nothing nothing. I tried to do update the MMI with a different software(non facelist version of course) but winkfp refuzes to accept a diiferent one and programms the unit with the same version
Remember that my phone is already conected with the TCU unit. the bluetooth is active now

PLease help me and sorry for my english !!!! i look forward to a response !!!

Last edited by secagold; 03-12-2012 at 09:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 03-12-2012, 11:38 AM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 664
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745i
Hi secagold,

If you see post 124, apparently the bluetooth does not function properly on the pre-facelift MMI, I am in the same position, Im waitng for my facelift MMI to arrive, hopfully being delivered this week!

Unfortunately the gearbox is now playing up! hopefully I can fix the mechatronic unit!
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 03-13-2012, 01:41 AM
Hamilton1974 Hamilton1974 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Västerås, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 134
Mein Auto: BMW 740d 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
That part number does not cross reference to any other than the E60/61 models. You can look it up yourself at realoem.com.

It appears to be intended for retrofit in cars with the S633A option (preparation for Business phone).

I guess the only way to find out is to try plugging it in. BMW is not likely to tell you. Can you try it before you buy it?

I still haven't installed my new TCU; too bloody cold outside. Also still waiting to find out how to program it with my VIN.
We could try it out sometime now that it's warming up outside with Dashsoft and the 4 in 1 interface that I got! From Ace's videos it seems pretty simple to code the VIN into a module!
__________________

2004 BMW 740d
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 03-13-2012, 08:35 AM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Man I really need to look up my TCU so I can figure out the wiring so I can put my New TCU in .

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Bimmer App
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 03-14-2012, 03:30 PM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 664
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745i
Hi Guys,

My facelift MMI turned up yesterday, managed to get it from a guy in Lithuania, £130 which was pretty good!

However.... fitted the screen works fine etc... re-coded the VIN using Tool32 all looking good.

But having a nightmare trying to read the coding data using NCS expert. I can read all other modules and code them but I get a COAPI-1000 error when trying the new MMI.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Hope someone can help!
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 03-14-2012, 03:51 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartjohn24 View Post
Hi Guys,

My facelift MMI turned up yesterday, managed to get it from a guy in Lithuania, £130 which was pretty good!

However.... fitted the screen works fine etc... re-coded the VIN using Tool32 all looking good.

But having a nightmare trying to read the coding data using NCS expert. I can read all other modules and code them but I get a COAPI-1000 error when trying the new MMI.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Hope someone can help!
How much is that in American dollars ?
& as for suggestions try changing MMI .C02
to .C03/.C04 if that don't work go up a # .
Hope that helps .
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:01 PM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 664
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745i
Hi PAPER

Its about 200 USD

Sorry, how do I change it to .C03 or .C03? and what does go up a # mean?

Sorry if its a simple question!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:04 PM
JML6278 JML6278 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NYC
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 144
Mein Auto: 745LI
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
How much is that in American dollars ?
& as for suggestions try changing MMI .C02
to .C03/.C04 if that don't work go up a # .
Hope that helps .
Paper, have you made any headway trying this? I know of 4 people currently having this identical issue with no resolution as of yet. (unless you've cracked it).

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:11 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartjohn24 View Post
Hi PAPER

Its about 200 USD

Sorry, how do I change it to .C03 or .C03? and what does go up a # mean?

Sorry if its a simple question!

Thanks!
when you select MMIGT you should get a pop up on your screen .
that is were you can change it . what I meant by go up a # is ,
first change C02 to C03 if that don't work then go up a # by
changing C03 to C04 , then C05 , C06 & so on .
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:14 PM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 664
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745i
Hi Paper,

Thanks for the reply, are you referring to NCS expert or the dashsoft setup?

I understand you had the same problem, did dashsoft manage to code it for you??

Thanks again for your help
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:17 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartjohn24 View Post
Hi Paper,

Thanks for the reply, are you referring to NCS expert or the dashsoft setup?

I understand you had the same problem, did dashsoft manage to code it for you??

Thanks again for your help
NCS Expert .
What Profile are you loading at start ?
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:20 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by JML6278 View Post
Paper, have you made any headway trying this? I know of 4 people currently having this identical issue with no resolution as of yet. (unless you've cracked it).

Jeff
No I have not tried it yet , I was just making a suggestion .
I figure since the 02 reads MMI .C02 why not try changing
it to the FaceLift # .C03/.C04
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:24 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
1 thing I forgot to mention is to 1'st clear out your MAN FILE & TRC FILE .
Don't delete the files , just open them & wipe them clean so they are blank
before you load NCS expert .

Also try reading with the car off , if that don't work try with the car running .
I know with anther members car I could not read the MMI unless the car
was running , & on a different car the car needed to be off . I know it sounds
strange , but that is what happen on 2 different cars .
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:28 PM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 664
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745i
Hi Paper,

Ive used a couple of profiles, all give the same results so far.

I will try erasing the trace file contents, I havent seen an option as yet where you can choose which .C0x file you can use to read the MMI, all i get is 'Choose ECU' so i select MMIGT then hit the 'READ ECU' button i then get the infamous error message!
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:32 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartjohn24 View Post
Hi Paper,

Ive used a couple of profiles, all give the same results so far.

I will try erasing the trace file contents, I havent seen an option as yet where you can choose which .C0x file you can use to read the MMI, all i get is 'Choose ECU' so i select MMIGT then hit the 'READ ECU' button i then get the infamous error message!
Try using the Fister profile . I'll post a pic in a few of what Im talking about . Busy driving to get my daughter now . Give me 5 or 10 minute .I'll take a pic when I stop .

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Bimmer App
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:35 PM
stuartjohn24 stuartjohn24 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 664
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745i
Hi Paper,

That would be great if you could, much appreciated!

Last edited by stuartjohn24; 03-14-2012 at 04:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms