Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)

E36 (1991 - 1999)
The E36 chassis 3-Series BMW was a huge hit among driving enthusiasts from the first moment the car hit the pavement. The E36 won numerous awards over the years it was produced and is still a favorite of many BMW enthusiasts to this day! -- View the E36 Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #251  
Old 03-20-2012, 01:11 PM
Kdoherty's Avatar
Kdoherty Kdoherty is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: The cradle of Liberty
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,545
Mein Auto: A redhead E90
you need a relay so you dont overload the circuit you're drawing power from.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by cj.surr View Post
Drop the clutch, proceed and ain't care.
  • '06 325xi 6MT
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 03-20-2012, 01:13 PM
Mr Gusta's Avatar
Mr Gusta Mr Gusta is offline
Fireballs inc.
Location: long Island
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,236
Send a message via AIM to Mr Gusta
Mein Auto: big turbo hellrot sedan
Hell yea I gets mad gurgle yo, and I get 20-22 mpg
__________________

Turbo lag is just a headstart because the chase is more exciting than the win - Abraham Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 03-20-2012, 01:14 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdoherty View Post
you need a relay so you dont overload the circuit you're drawing power from.
So the relay acts as a resistor?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Gusta View Post
Hell yea I gets mad gurgle yo, and I get 20-22 mpg
Damn, that's more than my M50 got.
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 03-20-2012, 01:21 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by drive by72 View Post
here ya go. it was a quick i might have messed up the numbers on the relay but you get what i mean

Shouldn't "30" be the fused power, since that's the power going to the fan? And the other two are just opening the switch?
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 03-20-2012, 01:38 PM
drive by72's Avatar
drive by72 drive by72 is offline
I feed trolls
Location: Snowy Wisconsin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,951
Mein Auto: 3 series
Cj relax. Kennys right. Without a relay you'll melt wires from too much electrical load on the stock wire.

A relay is simply a switch, that's controlled by some kind of power. 30 is the signal. When 30 gets power, it tells the relay to close, which connects 86 and 87 (which is the wires that would go directly to the fan if you wanted it to run 24/7) You don't fuse 30 because it's already fused and has no load on it.

86 needs a fuse because that's the power to the fan, and of it shorted without a fuse it could cause a fire/melt. You have to create your own power source for it, basically you need to tap the jumper block in the engine bay.
__________________

RIP Ben "Jever" Doebele, we wont forget you

Please, call me Chadley

1997 328iS... HR coilovers, Brembo F40 calipers, camber plates, it needs a CUMMINS!!

1990-somethin Chevy K3500... Cummins, cab swap, 5 speed, and lots of motor work. 20 MPG, 40 PSI, 507 ft/lbs torque
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 03-20-2012, 01:59 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
That's what's confusing me... It doesn't look like that on the diagram on the relay.


Diagram on the relay resembles this, which shows 30 as the fused power. 85/86 are the switch, and 87 goes to the part.

__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 03-20-2012, 02:53 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Ok, I understand the relays now. I set it up and the power to the fan is too high. The fan is spinning faster than it needs to be. What I would like to do is set up a 5-pin relay.

87a- goes to fan with resistor to limit speed

87 - goes to fan without resistor.

I'll run a switch in the cockpit so that I can choose between high and low speeds.




I just don't know how to choose a resistor. Can I just try different ones until I find one I like? And is it going to get too hot or something? I can't think of very many resistors in the E36.
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 03-20-2012, 04:21 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Aha! I found the problem as to why the stock circuit wasn't working. It was a 318-specific fuse that sits under the steering column. I didn't know about it since I had a 325 fusebox cover on my 318.

It's a jumbo 40A fuse, twice the size of a regular one. I'll have to see if Autozone has it tomorrow. It's not in a 325, so I don't have any spares.
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 03-20-2012, 05:39 PM
drive by72's Avatar
drive by72 drive by72 is offline
I feed trolls
Location: Snowy Wisconsin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,951
Mein Auto: 3 series
A maxi-40 can be found at Walmart or anywhere else stereo stuff is sold. Maxi fuses are used in stereos.

As far as using a resistor, yes that could work. Get a bunch from RadioShack and just start playing around with what works and what doesn't. I don't really know what values to recommend, i don't play with resistors much outside of testing
__________________

RIP Ben "Jever" Doebele, we wont forget you

Please, call me Chadley

1997 328iS... HR coilovers, Brembo F40 calipers, camber plates, it needs a CUMMINS!!

1990-somethin Chevy K3500... Cummins, cab swap, 5 speed, and lots of motor work. 20 MPG, 40 PSI, 507 ft/lbs torque
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 03-20-2012, 05:53 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Cool. I figured I recognized it from the ghetto sound system in the silver E36 I had.


Hopefully I won't have to worry about the resistor, since the stock circuit should work once I replace that fuse.
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #261  
Old 03-20-2012, 07:33 PM
drive by72's Avatar
drive by72 drive by72 is offline
I feed trolls
Location: Snowy Wisconsin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,951
Mein Auto: 3 series
Sweet deal. And if your OEM aux fan doesnt work, just tap the blue wire and follow my DIY
__________________

RIP Ben "Jever" Doebele, we wont forget you

Please, call me Chadley

1997 328iS... HR coilovers, Brembo F40 calipers, camber plates, it needs a CUMMINS!!

1990-somethin Chevy K3500... Cummins, cab swap, 5 speed, and lots of motor work. 20 MPG, 40 PSI, 507 ft/lbs torque
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 03-20-2012, 07:41 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
I'd be using the stock circuit, but still the Mishimoto fan. I'll probably rig a manual switch for the high-speed relay.
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 03-20-2012, 09:26 PM
crisscross's Avatar
crisscross crisscross is offline
Just living MY dream
Location: Best country on Earth
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,583
Mein Auto: 1995 M3 Boston Green
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Gusta View Post
Hell yea I gets mad gurgle yo, and I get 20-22 mpg
Mine too, and I get 24.5-25 mpg

Quote:
Originally Posted by cj.surr View Post
Cool. I figured I recognized it from the ghetto sound system in the silver E36 I had.
Aren't PO's awesome?
__________________
-Alan


Member #2 of the Boston Green Mafia BMW-CCA #457574

1995 BG M3(sold) 2000 TiAg 4.4l X5(sold)

-2000 F250 V10
-2004 GMC Yukon Denali

-I do the things today that others won't do, so I will have the things tomorrow that other won't have....
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 03-20-2012, 09:32 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by crisscross View Post
Aren't PO's awesome?
For my silver E36? Hell yeah he was awesome. He gave me a car for 450 and I sold over 2000 worth of parts while keeping some for myself
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 03-21-2012, 08:08 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
I replaced the sneaky fuse, and now the stock fan circuit is working properly. The only problem is that the Mishimoto fan is at the same speed for high and low. I noticed that the stock aux fan has two separate wires going into the motor casing, one for each speed. There must be a resistor in the fan itself, which would explain why the Mishimoto fan won't change speeds.

The fan spins very fast, and causes quite a racket. So I want to put a resistor on the low-speed circuit. I know that the blower motor resistor has a heat sink, but I probably wouldn't need that if I mounted it in the air stream of the fan, right? I just wanna make sure it's not gonna burn up.
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:18 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Any of you electricity geeks wanna check my calculations? I want the fan speed to be about half of what it is now.

Current: 7.5A
Desired Current: 4A


Resistance = 12V/7.5A = 1.6ohm


Desired Resistance = 12V/4A = 3ohm


So about a 1.5ohm resistor in the low speed circuit will do the trick?
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:44 PM
hornhospital's Avatar
hornhospital hornhospital is offline
D'oh, You kids!
Location: In the Grumpy Chair
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14,445
Mein Auto: 1995 318is / 1993 325is
Amperage isn't what you change. It's the voltage you want to drop to slow the fan.
__________________
Quotes to live by:
guessing gets expensive...drivinfaster
nothing is more expensive than a cheap BMW...c4harpe13

Ken Kanne, Silverhill, AL, E36 Forum Mod/Craigslist addict/Hoarder of all sorts of stuff
BMW-CCA #441426
1995 318is "Bebe"; 1993 325is "Elvira" 1985 635CSi "Katja" 1984 633CSi "Sylvia"
HAVE I HAD MY MEDS YET?

Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:55 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Hmm really? How would I calculate the resistor size? Or do I have to use trial and error?
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:58 PM
hornhospital's Avatar
hornhospital hornhospital is offline
D'oh, You kids!
Location: In the Grumpy Chair
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14,445
Mein Auto: 1995 318is / 1993 325is
You'd need to know what voltage runs the motor at the low speed you want, then you could calculate the resistance using Ohm's law. Google is your friend.
__________________
Quotes to live by:
guessing gets expensive...drivinfaster
nothing is more expensive than a cheap BMW...c4harpe13

Ken Kanne, Silverhill, AL, E36 Forum Mod/Craigslist addict/Hoarder of all sorts of stuff
BMW-CCA #441426
1995 318is "Bebe"; 1993 325is "Elvira" 1985 635CSi "Katja" 1984 633CSi "Sylvia"
HAVE I HAD MY MEDS YET?

Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 03-23-2012, 09:23 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Voltage and amperage are directly related, I got the same answer


So I need 1.5ohm resistance, but there is a lot of power going to the resistor (90W). So I need one of those big 100W resistors, but it seems that all of them have very high resistances (10k ohm)

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...uctId=12582666
__________________
-CJ


Last edited by cj.surr; 03-23-2012 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #271  
Old 03-24-2012, 07:50 AM
Eight Thirty Eight Thirty is offline
nothing.
Location: Rochester, Ny
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13,586
Mein Auto: who knows?
http://sd.craigslist.org/cto/2879017988.html

thought you would like that cj
__________________
-98 323is "Devils kitten"
-95 ///M "all stock"
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:43 AM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Maybe if it wasn't 2500mi away... Why are you looking at SD listings anyway?
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:46 AM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,464
Mein Auto: whiny 318
So much fail with this intake elbow. Tried using rtv, goop, 60min epoxy to get the rubber hose to stay on the elbow, no luck with any. Epoxy was closest though. Might cave and buy the bimmerworld boot.

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1332603870239.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	318258

Anybody know of a hose fitting that might work? Like one that I could stick in the hole and thread a nut on the other side?
__________________
-CJ


Last edited by cj.surr; 03-24-2012 at 08:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 03-24-2012, 02:40 PM
alwayshear alwayshear is offline
Registered User
Location: S.E. Michigan
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 28
Mein Auto: '94 BMW 318i
You could use a bolt with a hole going through it, a nut and two washers. Or you could use a brass fitting with two nuts and two washers. Let me see if I can find something to show you a little better.

Click image for larger version

Name:	fitting.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	318320

or drill a hole down the center of an appropriately sized bolt in this configuration:

Click image for larger version

Name:	example.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	42.8 KB
ID:	318321

Bam, and you're driving tonight! ......And order the right boot next week!

Last edited by alwayshear; 03-24-2012 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 03-24-2012, 02:42 PM
FenderBender's Avatar
FenderBender FenderBender is online now
Needs Boost
Location: Hicktown, PA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,210
Mein Auto: Red Sled
Buy the boot Cj lol.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Bimmer App
__________________
Turbo Build Here


Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
:3, i was here


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms