Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > F10 / F11 (2011 - Current)

F10 / F11 (2011 - Current)
The new chapter in the highly successful story of the BMW 5 Series Sedan (F10) and wagon (F11)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1076  
Old 05-28-2012, 06:14 PM
mjgood mjgood is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, Texas
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 120
Mein Auto: 2011 550i M-Sport
@Sharbotcom... when I added 6NF I initially used the "code FDL" button but it didn't take until I used the "code" button... that is where the instructions get a bit ambiguous...
__________________

2011 550i M-Sport
2011 Countryman S
Bell 407
  #1077  
Old 05-28-2012, 06:44 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hans,

Are you using the Country code 3 and Unit code 4?
  #1078  
Old 05-28-2012, 06:52 PM
hans_gregor hans_gregor is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: !@#$%^&
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 243
Mein Auto: Cars
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCar View Post
Hans,

Are you using the Country code 3 and Unit code 4?
in KAFAS
3010 -> COUNTRY CODING DISPLAY = wert_3
3010 -> UNIT DISPLAy = wert_4
3020 -> COUNTRY_VARIATION = wert_4

Last edited by hans_gregor; 05-28-2012 at 06:56 PM.
  #1079  
Old 05-28-2012, 06:59 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hans
are you referring to Country_code_display in 3010

These are my setting with 30-40% luck


3010 -> Country_code_display = wert_3
3010 -> UNIT DISPLAy = wert_4
3020 -> COUNTRY_VARIATION = wert_3
  #1080  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:04 PM
hans_gregor hans_gregor is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: !@#$%^&
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 243
Mein Auto: Cars
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCar View Post
Hans
are you referring to Country_code_display in 3010

These are my setting with 30-40% luck


3010 -> Country_code_display = wert_3
3010 -> UNIT DISPLAy = wert_4
3020 -> COUNTRY_VARIATION = wert_3
yes, I corrected.
  #1081  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:18 PM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
@Hans: I was able to test the cameras today and see what the speeds do (I didn't code or anything this time, just looked at how it worked). It's kind of funny... at low speeds both the TV and RV cameras will shut down after about 0.2 mile, so I'm guessing that's about 255 meters. However, at high speeds (on the freeway), the TV camera stayed on for several miles, it didn't seem to care how long it was on. The RV camera just shut down after 0.2 mile again, even with high speeds. Kind of odd the TV camera didn't do this at that point.

@Shawn: I tried to compare HP and KW when I was out and, to be honest, I don't trust either of them right now. It's probably a gimmick for entertainment purposes or something but nothing too serious. Thing is, both KW and HP gave me the same maximum setting: 240. For HP this would be correct for my 328i but for KW it is way too much, KW shouldn't be higher than about 180 (about 25% of the max HP). So, either the value is totally wrong when it is on KW and it is already showing HP, or it is just not to be trusted at all.

Anyways, I am only shortly at home, I'm about to go out again but I figured I would let you guys know about these findings first
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3

Last edited by svache; 05-28-2012 at 07:21 PM.
  #1082  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:23 PM
Sharbotcom Sharbotcom is offline
Registered User
Location: Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 334
Mein Auto: F10 535xi MSport
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCar View Post
Hans
are you referring to Country_code_display in 3010

These are my setting with 30-40% luck


3010 -> Country_code_display = wert_3
3010 -> UNIT DISPLAy = wert_4
3020 -> COUNTRY_VARIATION = wert_3
I'm currently set to country_variation = wert_4 and I get a message that it is not supported in this country. I'll change it to 3 to see what it does.

As far unit_display go is wert_4 KM or MLS?

BTW I at least have it coming up now.
__________________
2011 535i xDrive, Dark Graphite Metallic, Veneto Beige Dakota Leather, M Sport Package, 316, 322, 3AG, 5AD, 5AG, 5DL, 609, 620, 655, 677, 6FL delivered Christmas Eve '10, Mods - quad tips, 20% tint, JB4.
  #1083  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:26 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Shartbot

You will get message if you are in generation 1 for sli generation change it to 2
  #1084  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:26 PM
Sharbotcom Sharbotcom is offline
Registered User
Location: Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 334
Mein Auto: F10 535xi MSport
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjgood View Post
@Sharbotcom... when I added 6NF I initially used the "code FDL" button but it didn't take until I used the "code" button... that is where the instructions get a bit ambiguous...
mj

I re-read everything and had to reset some values that clobbered but everything is in and sticking. The display comes up but does not read 1 darn sign. I also get the message that it is not supported in this country.
Bill
__________________
2011 535i xDrive, Dark Graphite Metallic, Veneto Beige Dakota Leather, M Sport Package, 316, 322, 3AG, 5AD, 5AG, 5DL, 609, 620, 655, 677, 6FL delivered Christmas Eve '10, Mods - quad tips, 20% tint, JB4.
  #1085  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:27 PM
hans_gregor hans_gregor is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: !@#$%^&
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 243
Mein Auto: Cars
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharbotcom View Post
I'm currently set to country_variation = wert_4 and I get a message that it is not supported in this country. I'll change it to 3 to see what it does.

As far unit_display go is wert_4 KM or MLS?

BTW I at least have it coming up now.
mine it shows km
and change it to sli_gen2 (in KOMBI 3000 SPEED LIMIT GENERATION)

Last edited by hans_gregor; 05-28-2012 at 07:30 PM.
  #1086  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:28 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Shartbot you have to change the sli generation
  #1087  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:28 PM
Sharbotcom Sharbotcom is offline
Registered User
Location: Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 334
Mein Auto: F10 535xi MSport
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCar View Post
Shartbot

You will get message if you are in generation 1 for sli generation change it to 2
Ok...which area do I find the generation settings?

TIA
__________________
2011 535i xDrive, Dark Graphite Metallic, Veneto Beige Dakota Leather, M Sport Package, 316, 322, 3AG, 5AD, 5AG, 5DL, 609, 620, 655, 677, 6FL delivered Christmas Eve '10, Mods - quad tips, 20% tint, JB4.

Last edited by Sharbotcom; 05-28-2012 at 07:32 PM.
  #1088  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:29 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Werte 4 will take the value from cic so it Will be werte 4 for everybody
  #1089  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:32 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hans

Did you change the country variation 3020? or is it 4 by default?
  #1090  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:33 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Sharbot it should be in Kombox if not in HUCIC search for SLI
  #1091  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:33 PM
Sharbotcom Sharbotcom is offline
Registered User
Location: Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 334
Mein Auto: F10 535xi MSport
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCar View Post
Hans

Did you change the country variation 3020? or is it 4 by default?
That was the default
__________________
2011 535i xDrive, Dark Graphite Metallic, Veneto Beige Dakota Leather, M Sport Package, 316, 322, 3AG, 5AD, 5AG, 5DL, 609, 620, 655, 677, 6FL delivered Christmas Eve '10, Mods - quad tips, 20% tint, JB4.
  #1092  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:35 PM
hans_gregor hans_gregor is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: !@#$%^&
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 243
Mein Auto: Cars
in KOMBI 3000 SPEED LIMIT GENERATION

do you think that I remember what was by default?
  #1093  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:35 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Ok i think i asked wrong question so Hans changed it from 4 to 3
  #1094  
Old 05-28-2012, 08:16 PM
1STBimmer 1STBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Birmingham, AL
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 409
Mein Auto: 550i GT/X5 35d
Just found how to default the High Beam Assistant to Automatic on.

FRM ecu.

Under 3050 FRM_AUSSENLICHT_PARAMETER, 30 - Set FLA_AUTO_AKTIV to 'automatisch' (set to manual by default).

Now when the headlights turn on at night the auto headlights is automatically turned on as well, still can be disabled via left stalk button if needed.
  #1095  
Old 05-28-2012, 08:20 PM
Sharbotcom Sharbotcom is offline
Registered User
Location: Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 334
Mein Auto: F10 535xi MSport
Ok, now I have the 3 dashes all the time. When I had it set to generation 1 I got the white square. Now with generation 2 I only get the dashes. Took the machine out for a quick test run and passed 27 speed signs. Alas, only dashes
__________________
2011 535i xDrive, Dark Graphite Metallic, Veneto Beige Dakota Leather, M Sport Package, 316, 322, 3AG, 5AD, 5AG, 5DL, 609, 620, 655, 677, 6FL delivered Christmas Eve '10, Mods - quad tips, 20% tint, JB4.
  #1096  
Old 05-28-2012, 08:28 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Sharbot,
We both are at similar level it's only Hans who has high percentage .,,
Give it a day or so .,,it will pick when you least expect it.

I am assuming you changed all the parameters in hu CIC and kombi
  #1097  
Old 05-28-2012, 08:28 PM
hans_gregor hans_gregor is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: !@#$%^&
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 243
Mein Auto: Cars
svache,

can you change kafas2 -> 3010 -> COUNTRY_CODING_DISPLAY from country_specific to US_white, and let us know the results?
  #1098  
Old 05-28-2012, 08:34 PM
wdimagineer's Avatar
wdimagineer wdimagineer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 665
Mein Auto: 2013 M5
Anybody with SLI from the factory care to chime in on this? Just curious what HU_CIC -> 3001 -> KOMBI_CIC is set to. Mine is set to kombi_mid. But there is a high option. Just wondering...
__________________
Current: 2014 X5 xDrive50i ZMM - Alpine White/Mocha (Mods In Progress!)
Past: 2014 Jeep SRT - 2013 Tesla Model S P85+ - Bimmerpost Featured 2013 F10 M5 - 2012 550 xDrive - 2011 M3 ZCP
  #1099  
Old 05-28-2012, 08:36 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,445
Mein Auto: F10 M5
WD ,
I checked it with Svache he has sli from factory and it is in mid
  #1100  
Old 05-28-2012, 08:38 PM
wdimagineer's Avatar
wdimagineer wdimagineer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 665
Mein Auto: 2013 M5
Thanks, Dream. I'm just going through modules, trying to dig. @hans/svache: Is that KAFAS2 option a specific module in his car? When I go to that same setting in mine I don't get options like "US_white".

Hopefully we can break this thread up into subforums to make it a bit easier to keep track. I'm still very much game for this.
__________________
Current: 2014 X5 xDrive50i ZMM - Alpine White/Mocha (Mods In Progress!)
Past: 2014 Jeep SRT - 2013 Tesla Model S P85+ - Bimmerpost Featured 2013 F10 M5 - 2012 550 xDrive - 2011 M3 ZCP
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > F10 / F11 (2011 - Current)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms