Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > F10 / F11 (2011 - Current)

F10 / F11 (2011 - Current)
The new chapter in the highly successful story of the BMW 5 Series Sedan (F10) and wagon (F11)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1426  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:13 PM
Stealth.Pilot's Avatar
Stealth.Pilot Stealth.Pilot is offline
The Driver
Location: Florida
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,533
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobileum View Post
Tried HUD_M, and got a new menu item in HUD display settings. It was not possible to mark the selection (pic. 1)

Tried HUD_Distance_INFO. This altered the display in HUD and a new meu item, but I could not find out what it actually did (pic. 2-3)

Sorry for crap pics.
I did a search in three modules - Kombi, HUD and HU_CIC, searching for Drive (to identify MDrive), HUD and Sport (to identify M-Sport).

I surfaced a number of things:
HUD_M Change to Aktiv, adds M HUD on HUD Menu
M_Drive Change to Aktiv adds M Drive 1 and M Drive 2 to Main menu
HUD_Variante - possibility to change from AG to Motorsport. I did not do this because I ran out of time, but I think it is worth trying this.
MDrive_Ruecko changed to Aktiv (don't know what it does)
__________________

2014 ///M5 Individual
Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance pkg, LED Package, Bang and Olufsen, 20" Forged wheels
  #1427  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:40 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,701
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
@DreamCar,
How do you know with certainty, have you done so and got it to work?
Where does kafas2 (CAFD_00000BD5) originate from? A different Chassis?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
  #1428  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:46 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,429
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Shawn,

I havent done anything ...i want to know how to do it.... I want how to flash the ECU with a different CAf file

Yes that CAFD is from F30 (Svache) and i believe F10 also has one ... I went through all the available CAF file in 46.3 there are four CAF can be for different chasis or different version for same Chasis....

Last edited by DreamCar; 06-03-2012 at 06:49 PM.
  #1429  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:48 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,429
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Mobi,

Can you lease let me know the CAF file for Module ICM?

I dont see it in your CAF files you gave me
  #1430  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:55 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,701
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
@DreamCar,
I think this is where "Code" comes in as opposed to "Code FDL", but I don't know the prerequisites. @mjgood might, as I think he went down this road when he retrofitted and tried to code 6NR.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
  #1431  
Old 06-03-2012, 08:37 PM
Stealth.Pilot's Avatar
Stealth.Pilot Stealth.Pilot is offline
The Driver
Location: Florida
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,533
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
@DreamCar,
I think this is where "Code" comes in as opposed to "Code FDL", but I don't know the prerequisites. @mjgood might, as I think he went down this road when he retrofitted and tried to code 6NR.
I made the mistake of accidentally pressing code on the Kombi today. After that I got a check engine light. Then I did a software reverse through the CIC, and then update through the USB, and that got rid of the check engine light.
__________________

2014 ///M5 Individual
Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance pkg, LED Package, Bang and Olufsen, 20" Forged wheels
  #1432  
Old 06-03-2012, 08:42 PM
Ausfahrt Ausfahrt is offline
Groccery Getter
Location: NY/CT/MO
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 199
Mein Auto: E46 325iT/F10 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth.Pilot View Post
I made the mistake of accidentally pressing code on the Kombi today. After that I got a check engine light. Then I did a software reverse through the CIC, and then update through the USB, and that got rid of the check engine light.
I through a CEL when I was messing with the KOMBI, KFAS and HU_CIC. I dont know which one actually threw it but sounds like it's the KOMBI. Anyway, it went away in 48 hours.
__________________
  #1433  
Old 06-03-2012, 08:46 PM
Stealth.Pilot's Avatar
Stealth.Pilot Stealth.Pilot is offline
The Driver
Location: Florida
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,533
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobileum View Post
Tried HUD_M, and got a new menu item in HUD display settings. It was not possible to mark the selection (pic. 1)

Tried HUD_Distance_INFO. This altered the display in HUD and a new meu item, but I could not find out what it actually did (pic. 2-3)

Sorry for crap pics.
Chaps, I ran out of time today, and tomorrow I have to go to dealer for service and then catch a flight to San Diego.

However if someone else has time to do this, I would like to test the following for M-HUD:
HU-CIC HUD_M value=Aktiv
HU-CIC MDrive value=Aktiv
Kombi Hud_Variante value=Motorsport

Then go to HUD>Displayed Information>M HUD

If that doesn't work, try deselecting everything else and then selecting M HUD.

If it doesn't work, we will need to find a way to activate M Mode without it knowing.

The challenge is that the M_Mode switch toggles between M HUD and normal HUD. If we need to be able to make that toggle then we may be out of luck.

Also Mobileum - You should ask the German company how they switch between M HUD and Regular HUD without an M Mode button on the steering wheel?
__________________

2014 ///M5 Individual
Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance pkg, LED Package, Bang and Olufsen, 20" Forged wheels
  #1434  
Old 06-03-2012, 10:07 PM
yreiser yreiser is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Luxembourg
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: F10 530dA
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
@yreiser;
So, with the "Browser Enabled", are you getting the Full BMW Live as follows?
- Web browser
- News
- Weather
- Google Local Search
- Street View
- Panoramio
Only Web Browser.
  #1435  
Old 06-03-2012, 10:08 PM
yreiser yreiser is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Luxembourg
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: F10 530dA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Griffin 27 View Post
quick question guys, Has anyone used a laptop running windows XP to do the coding ?
Yes. I use a 10 year old Toshiba Laptop with 1GB Ram and XP SP3. Works very well.
  #1436  
Old 06-03-2012, 10:42 PM
akiss akiss is offline
Registered User
Location: Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: 2011 BMW 520dA F11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Griffin 27 View Post
quick question guys, Has anyone used a laptop running windows XP to do the coding ?
Yes I use a virtualbox XP machine with my Macbook Pro.
  #1437  
Old 06-03-2012, 11:01 PM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobileum View Post
Here is a list of coding options from the German company. Its in German, but you figure it out....
Just wondering.. any chance you can get this for the F30 as well?
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3
  #1438  
Old 06-03-2012, 11:45 PM
Griffin 27 Griffin 27 is offline
Verified Trusted User
Location: San Diego
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 119
Mein Auto: 2012 535i, Space Grey
Quote:
Originally Posted by yreiser View Post
Yes. I use a 10 year old Toshiba Laptop with 1GB Ram and XP SP3. Works very well.
Great thanks, just checking my only laptop is running XP. sad I know....
__________________
2012 535i, April build, Space Grey, Oyster Interior, 19" M sport rims/tires, premium pkg, premium sound, side/top cameras, heated seats, comfort access, ceramic controls, OEM spoiler, painted front reflectors, 35% tint, rear Fog lights, coded to my liking.

  #1439  
Old 06-04-2012, 06:28 AM
miotoo miotoo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 306
Mein Auto: F10 520d
Quote:
Originally Posted by Griffin 27 View Post
Great thanks, just checking my only laptop is running XP. sad I know....
Not so bad, in fact until today these type of tools (like esys) which Depend on external communication are much more stable in xp environments. Though when using a network interface most of those troubles are resolved..
  #1440  
Old 06-04-2012, 07:38 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,701
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
@Stealth.Pilot;
I think it was just a coincidence, and that the CEL vanished on its own. Undoing the software through the CIC and then running the upgrade again only affects the COMBOX multimedia (MX) and telematics (TX) software, which should have no effect on KOMBI.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
  #1441  
Old 06-04-2012, 07:43 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,701
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
@aceman67,
Also, read my Post # 628:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...&postcount=628
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
  #1442  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:04 AM
park828 park828 is offline
Registered User
Location: San Jose CA
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 39
Mein Auto: f10 535 m, e60 550 m
Hi Guys Great thread guys. Im from e90post and pointed this way for f10 coding. i read the thread and made the cable and cable checks out correctly with my vin. I have 1 issue though. My target box is empty

I downloaded the 2_46.3 psdzdata and put the files in the places the doc in e-sys told me to. im not sure where to check next
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	target empty.gif
Views:	91
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	327842  
  #1443  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:07 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,701
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
@park828;
Copy all "psdzdata" subfolders (all 7 Folders) to "C:\ESysData \psdzdata\folders_1-7"

AND:

Copy the contents of the "C:\ESysData\psdzdata\swe" folder into the "C:\ESysData\SWE" folder.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
  #1444  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:20 AM
park828 park828 is offline
Registered User
Location: San Jose CA
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 39
Mein Auto: f10 535 m, e60 550 m
7 folders? i see only 6

extlibs
kiswb
mainseries
mapping
security
swe
  #1445  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:33 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,701
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Thats fine. One was an empty temp folder. So you put them in both locations, correct, and your ESysData folder is about 28 Gb in size?

Did you go into E-Sys OPTIONS=>SETTINGS=>PROGRAM TAB=>DIRECTORIES and set the PSDZdata path to to C:\ESysData?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
  #1446  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:52 AM
park828 park828 is offline
Registered User
Location: San Jose CA
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 39
Mein Auto: f10 535 m, e60 550 m
my esysdata folder is

28.4 GB (30,501,923,981 bytes)
14,782 Files, 100 Folders


and still no go...
  #1447  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:53 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,701
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
...and did you go into E-Sys OPTIONS=>SETTINGS=>PROGRAM TAB=>DIRECTORIES and set the PSDZdata path to to C:\ESysData?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
  #1448  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:54 AM
park828 park828 is offline
Registered User
Location: San Jose CA
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 39
Mein Auto: f10 535 m, e60 550 m
and data path is correct.
  #1449  
Old 06-04-2012, 12:00 PM
park828 park828 is offline
Registered User
Location: San Jose CA
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 39
Mein Auto: f10 535 m, e60 550 m
datapath.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	esys.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	327844  
  #1450  
Old 06-04-2012, 12:02 PM
park828 park828 is offline
Registered User
Location: San Jose CA
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 39
Mein Auto: f10 535 m, e60 550 m
this is on a 7 x64 pro if it makes a difference.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > F10 / F11 (2011 - Current)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms