Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > M Series > E90/E92/E93 M3 (2008 - 2014)

E90/E92/E93 M3 (2008 - 2014)
4th generation E90 M3 sedan, E92 M3 coupe and E93 M3 convertible. The last of the naturally aspirated M3s, powered by a 4.0 liter V8 making 414hp and 295 lb-ft of torque.

Old 05-09-2012, 01:52 PM

Mein Auto: N/A
Should I buy an M3? Serious Q.

Hi all. I am in a need of a new car and I have never had this big (or difficult) of a decision to make. I've been driving my current car for a few years and I had 0 problems with it. The only expense I had was oil changes, tires, etc. I paid cash for it so I never had a payment on it and it gets 27-34mpg. So I've been driving it for years without any money coming out of my pocket each month. And that's part of the dilemma here. A new car I'm looking at will cost me ~ $1,000/month and get 15MPG at best.

After much research, it came down to getting a 2008/2009/2010 BMW M3 with low miles. I initially wanted the 2011 535i w/M Sport Package but realized that it'll cost me close to $60k and in two years it'll be worth $40k (if that). So I'd realize about $20k "loss" due to depreciation.