Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2012, 05:32 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Retrofitting Speed Limit Info in 2011-2012 F10 through coding

Pre-requisites:


Drive Assistence package (Lane Departure warning, High Beam Assistence)



What we did so far:


1) 8TH to VO
2) HU_CIC, 3001 EXBOX, SPEEDLIMIT_INFO = aktiv
3) KOMBI, 3000 Anzeige_Konfiguration, SPEED LIMIT GENERATION = sli_gen2
4) KOMBI, 3003 FZG_Ausstattung, SPEED_LIMIT = aktiv
5) KAFAS, 3010 SLI_CODING, SLI_ON_OFF = SLI_ON
6) KAFAS, 3010 SLI_CODING, CODE_ELECTRIC_HORIZON = nicht_aktiv
7) KAFAS, 3010 SLI_CODING, Country_code_display = wert_3
8) KAFAS, 3010 SLI_CODING, UNIT DISPLAY = wert_4
9) KAFAS, 3020 KAFAS_COMMON, COUNTRY_VARIATION = wert_3
10) Turned on Speed Limit Info in the display.


This wil read speed limits once in a while but the speed limit info stays for few seconds only...

enabling CODE_ELECTRIC_HORIZON makes the icon stay permanently but the car stops reading the speed limits. All our cars comes with CEH active whihc gives us a feeling that it must me activ and there are osme other dependent parameters whihc are required to be configured
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:15 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Sorry multi posts just want to make sure you read this

OK Guys this is how we can get the SLI working

1) ICM----->3000 Daten, F8----->C_KBV_KAFAS2_verbaut (Change to verbaut)

2) Replace Kafas (CAFD_00000122) with kafas2(CAFD_00000BD5)


This is it! i need all the help i can get here boys.

Can some body tell us how can we flash the ecu with a different file

Last edited by DreamCar; 06-03-2012 at 08:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2012, 11:03 PM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
Are the two files, other than the settings, identical with each other? I mean, this could give unwanted results if there are functions added or missing in my CAF with the F10 CAF file..
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2012, 04:17 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
It's not just file we have to replace entire module.... Yup it sounds scary
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2012, 09:08 PM
1STBimmer 1STBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Birmingham, AL
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 409
Mein Auto: 550i GT/X5 35d
Guys, I was playing with the FA pzdata files earlier today and found that there's an option 8TD - Speed Limit Decoding. I added it to my VO but not sure how to go from there 'cause I've not played much with editing the VO yet. The FP shows as 8TD - Decoding of Speed Limit Info.

One of you guys that knows how to recalculate the VO and see the changes to the caf's may be able to see what's the difference with that option added. It may be the missing piece...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2012, 03:52 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1STBimmer View Post
Guys, I was playing with the FA pzdata files earlier today and found that there's an option 8TD - Speed Limit Decoding. I added it to my VO but not sure how to go from there 'cause I've not played much with editing the VO yet. The FP shows as 8TD - Decoding of Speed Limit Info.

One of you guys that knows how to recalculate the VO and see the changes to the caf's may be able to see what's the difference with that option added. It may be the missing piece...
We did looked in to this before but we ignored it as none of the members with speed limit info has this in their VO.
May be this time we should give some serious consideration ... Let us try to get 2013 option list for USA and see if 8TD is one of them
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2012, 09:15 PM
chris88 chris88 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: switzerland
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: bmw x3 F25
Hi DreamCar

I have add the following to VO : 5AD , 8TH and 8TN

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2012, 11:26 PM
1STBimmer 1STBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Birmingham, AL
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 409
Mein Auto: 550i GT/X5 35d
Guys, found something else that seems to be related to SLI:

Looking at the ICM_QL CAF, it lists the following parameters (which I tried a few but no success yet)
3000-Daten > LDM_SLD_Bedienung (LDM SLD operation), setting is 1-stufig (1 stage), there's the possibility of setting it to 2 stage
3000-Daten > LDM_SLD_Funktion > aus (off by default), changed to 'ein'
LDM_SLD_vmin_kmh
LDM_SLD_vmin_mph
LDM_SLD_vmax_kmh
LDM_SLD_vmin_mph

All these settings are similar to the other KAFAS related equipment (HBA / LDW / BSD , they all have min/max speed for activation)
I went out for a drive and still get only --- but I have to play a bit more with the kafas settings myself since my initial settings weren't playing along with my HBA/LDW and both threw a CC error and were non-functional.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2012, 03:39 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Why is that no body else is seeing any readings apart from Hans and me?
Are you guys enabling all the parameters mentioned above?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-06-2012, 03:45 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Stealth did you try the the SLI ?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-06-2012, 08:11 AM
chris88 chris88 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: switzerland
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: bmw x3 F25
Hi
Can i code only the kafas2 into Expert Model, TAL-Processing? How the risk about the car and the rest of ecu's deleting or else?
see the picture.
thanks, Chris
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kafas2_ecu.jpg
Views:	466
Size:	141.3 KB
ID:	328067  
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-06-2012, 10:32 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris88 View Post
Hi
Can i code only the kafas2 into Expert Model, TAL-Processing? How the risk about the car and the rest of ecu's deleting or else?
see the picture.
thanks, Chris
Chris,

As much as i am eager to know the result... i cannot suggest you anything as none of the folks i know here have tried it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-06-2012, 10:46 AM
miotoo miotoo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 306
Mein Auto: F10 520d
@Dream it's possible that the sli_gen1 or sli_gen2 in KOMBI refer to KAFAS or KAFAS2 modules..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:03 AM
wdimagineer's Avatar
wdimagineer wdimagineer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 668
Mein Auto: 2013 M5
@1ST: I found those settings last night before you posted. Changed them, still no dice. Re-calculated my FP with 8TD as an option (several times) and still have no KAFAS2 - just KAFAS.

There's a magic combination to be found somewhere. I'm sure we will.
__________________
Current: 2014 X5 xDrive50i ZMM - Alpine White/Mocha (Mods In Progress!)
Past: 2014 Jeep SRT - 2013 Tesla Model S P85+ - Bimmerpost Featured 2013 F10 M5 - 2012 550 xDrive - 2011 M3 ZCP
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:14 AM
JEG23 JEG23 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 314
Mein Auto: 550i
I found this in a BMW web site. It suggests that the rain sensor information is taken into account to show SLI. Could a RLS sensor setting also be missing? I have looked at, (I think), everything related to rain sensors and I have not seen anything obvious.

JEG23

"Speed Limit Info.

It's known that traffic regulations are there to be observed by everyone. Nevertheless, it can still happen that you overlook a sign and inadvertently drive too fast. So it's good when somebody tells you in good time. Either one of your passengers – or Speed Limit Info.

You want to reach your destinations as fast as you can. That's why BMW ConnectedDrive offers Speed Limit Info – to make sure you stay within the legal speed limits. A camera installed close to the rear view mirror not only keeps a wary electronic eye on permanent traffic signs, but also on variable Speed Limit Info on gantries above the road. Together with the information already supplied by your navigation system, it ensures a reliable display of speed limits and other additional traffic warnings like 'when wet'. Either distinctly on the instrument cluster display. Or, as an alternative option, in the Head-Up Display.

Important information that keeps you feeling safe and secure on the road: with Speed Limit Info from BMW ConnectedDrive, you can always drive as fast as you can and as fast as you may."

Update:

Additional information

"In contrast, the intelligent Speed Limit Info keeps the driver constantly informed about the current permissible maximum speed. A camera built in to the rear-view mirror gathers data on permanent speed limits and the lifting of these restrictions and compares the information with the data from the navigation system. It also recognizes and analyses speed restrictions with special conditions: if the camera registers a sign reading '60 km/h in wet weather', this will only be communicated to the driver if the rain sensor of the BMW sends out the appropriate signal – that is, if the condition 'wet weather' is fulfilled. The same applies to speed limits that apply at certain times of say or when driving with a trailer / caravan. Depending on the model, this information is displayed in the combi instrument or the Head-up Display."
__________________
2011 550i
Space Gray /Black Nappa, Dark Wood
ZAV, ZCV, ZCW, ZDA, ZP2, 4NB, 5DF, 610, 2VH, 465, 6UK, 5DL, 6NR

Last edited by JEG23; 06-06-2012 at 11:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:24 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by miotoo View Post
@Dream it's possible that the sli_gen1 or sli_gen2 in KOMBI refer to KAFAS or KAFAS2 modules..
May be but along with that we have to do this one too


1) ICM----->3000 Daten, F8----->C_KBV_KAFAS2_verbaut (Change to verbaut)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:29 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdimagineer View Post
@1ST: I found those settings last night before you posted. Changed them, still no dice. Re-calculated my FP with 8TD as an option (several times) and still have no KAFAS2 - just KAFAS.

There's a magic combination to be found somewhere. I'm sure we will.

I am still surprised how Chris is getting Kafas2!

I would say it is a holy grail for SLI....Its a big step!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:44 AM
miotoo miotoo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 306
Mein Auto: F10 520d
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCar View Post
I am still surprised how Chris is getting Kafas2!

I would say it is a holy grail for SLI....Its a big step!
The module list on his screenshot is very strange. I see there FLA (to manage HBA) which is supposed to not exist when there is KAFAS..

So maybe FLA + KAFAS2 exists...

@chris88 can you post a picture from the front of camera/mirror?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:53 AM
miotoo miotoo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 306
Mein Auto: F10 520d
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1STBimmer View Post
Guys, found something else that seems to be related to SLI:

Looking at the ICM_QL CAF, it lists the following parameters (which I tried a few but no success yet)
3000-Daten > LDM_SLD_Bedienung (LDM SLD operation), setting is 1-stufig (1 stage), there's the possibility of setting it to 2 stage
3000-Daten > LDM_SLD_Funktion > aus (off by default), changed to 'ein'
LDM_SLD_vmin_kmh
LDM_SLD_vmin_mph
LDM_SLD_vmax_kmh
LDM_SLD_vmin_mph

All these settings are similar to the other KAFAS related equipment (HBA / LDW / BSD , they all have min/max speed for activation)
I went out for a drive and still get only --- but I have to play a bit more with the kafas settings myself since my initial settings weren't playing along with my HBA/LDW and both threw a CC error and were non-functional.
LDM is the tempomat (cruise control) type so I believe all LDM settings relate to cruise control variants & the speed limiter function - the one that when set, does not allow you to accelerate beyond the value set.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-06-2012, 12:09 PM
1STBimmer 1STBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Birmingham, AL
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 409
Mein Auto: 550i GT/X5 35d
on mine KAFAS contains the FLA, LDW and SLI settings. I have Drivers Asst Pkg but no SLI.


Quote:
Originally Posted by miotoo View Post
The module list on his screenshot is very strange. I see there FLA (to manage HBA) which is supposed to not exist when there is KAFAS..

So maybe FLA + KAFAS2 exists...

@chris88 can you post a picture from the front of camera/mirror?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-06-2012, 12:16 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris88 View Post
Hi
Can i code only the kafas2 into Expert Model, TAL-Processing? How the risk about the car and the rest of ecu's deleting or else?
see the picture.
thanks, Chris
Chris,

Can you please share your VO? I really want to know how we can Kafas2.

Last edited by DreamCar; 06-06-2012 at 12:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-06-2012, 01:58 PM
chris88 chris88 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: switzerland
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: bmw x3 F25
HI at all

This is my VO on the picture. On my car is only the FLA with the camera under the mirror.
Sorry about the english, i'am swissman :-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vo.jpg
Views:	289
Size:	30.6 KB
ID:	328113  
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:11 PM
wdimagineer's Avatar
wdimagineer wdimagineer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 668
Mein Auto: 2013 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by miotoo View Post
LDM is the tempomat (cruise control) type so I believe all LDM settings relate to cruise control variants & the speed limiter function - the one that when set, does not allow you to accelerate beyond the value set.
Yep. My Active Cruise Control totally screwed up when I changed one of these values. Instead of the normal setting, I get a "LIM" indication in the dash. My car wouldn't allow me to accelerate beyond the value that was set.

This was really scary on the highway earlier, so I will be changing it back immediately.
__________________
Current: 2014 X5 xDrive50i ZMM - Alpine White/Mocha (Mods In Progress!)
Past: 2014 Jeep SRT - 2013 Tesla Model S P85+ - Bimmerpost Featured 2013 F10 M5 - 2012 550 xDrive - 2011 M3 ZCP
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:17 PM
wdimagineer's Avatar
wdimagineer wdimagineer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 668
Mein Auto: 2013 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris88 View Post
HI at all

This is my VO on the picture. On my car is only the FLA with the camera under the mirror.
Sorry about the english, i'am swissman :-)
Chris - can you take screenshot of your VO with the options expanded? It should be visible in one of the windows on the right. I want to see what the options codes translate to in terms of description...
__________________
Current: 2014 X5 xDrive50i ZMM - Alpine White/Mocha (Mods In Progress!)
Past: 2014 Jeep SRT - 2013 Tesla Model S P85+ - Bimmerpost Featured 2013 F10 M5 - 2012 550 xDrive - 2011 M3 ZCP
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-06-2012, 09:10 PM
chris88 chris88 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: switzerland
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mein Auto: bmw x3 F25
hello

this is the new printscreen from the option
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	option1.jpg
Views:	388
Size:	159.4 KB
ID:	328179   Click image for larger version

Name:	option2.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	328180  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms