Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 06-08-2012, 04:26 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by miotoo View Post
If you have LDW, SLI retrofit is available from BMW..

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...42&hg=65&fg=95

Doubt any hardware is there! Could it be that it's all about an activation code / FSC ?
Yeah i think we discussed it earlier... Dont remeber but i think Shawn had some explanation that we dont need the activation code!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-08-2012, 10:37 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
And also if it requires Activation code then it shouldnt work at all...
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-08-2012, 11:42 PM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
Wait, so you guys are saying it's only possible if you get this piece of hardware?
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-08-2012, 11:57 PM
1STBimmer 1STBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Birmingham, AL
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 409
Mein Auto: 550i GT/X5 35d
Apparently it's an IBAC code. I've seen threads talking about an ibac code generation tool. so that may not be the most challenging part.

I'd love to know what's in that box, though!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-09-2012, 04:37 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by svache View Post
Wait, so you guys are saying it's only possible if you get this piece of hardware?
Svache,
I don't think so as I mentioned my car reads the signs with out the activation code,
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06-09-2012, 04:11 PM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCar View Post
Svache,
I don't think so as I mentioned my car reads the signs with out the activation code,
Yeah that's a bit why I was wondering hehe =)
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06-10-2012, 11:57 AM
chris88 chris88 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: switzerland
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Mein Auto: bmw x3 F25
I have try to verifying the Kafas2. Thats the result:
=======================================
Verifikations-Report Codierung [10.06.2012 19:28:36]

FA
FP-Auswertung ok
0_.fpl ok
NCD-Ermittlung für Datei "cafd_00000bd5.caf.000_007_014" ok
0__cafd_00000bd5_000_007_014.ncd ok
=================================

It shows no error.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 06-10-2012, 12:54 PM
miotoo miotoo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 308
Mein Auto: F10 520d
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris88 View Post
I have try to verifying the Kafas2. Thats the result:
=======================================
Verifikations-Report Codierung [10.06.2012 19:28:36]

FA
FP-Auswertung ok
0_.fpl ok
NCD-Ermittlung für Datei "cafd_00000bd5.caf.000_007_014" ok
0__cafd_00000bd5_000_007_014.ncd ok
=================================

It shows no error.
Verification means you have in the psdz daten the proper sources to match the FA (VO).

It does not guarantee a successful programming for example if the module does not really exist in the car...

Other question, was SLI an option on your F25 when it was manufactured, or is it a new introduction for MY 2012 ?
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 06-10-2012, 01:09 PM
miotoo miotoo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 308
Mein Auto: F10 520d
@Dream I just realized that SLI is not an option in the US market or it is something that is expected for MY2013?

If that's the case, it might be introduced with the new module KAFAS2 as the current EU KAFAS implementation - as the one in your and other F10's with LDW, didn't prove to be working well for US traffic signs/data..

..and possibly the coming EU models will also migrate to KAFAS2 as a 2nd gen solution. Only a theory..
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06-10-2012, 01:10 PM
chris88 chris88 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: switzerland
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Mein Auto: bmw x3 F25
it was not an option back then. from 2012 until it can be ordered.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 06-10-2012, 02:39 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by miotoo View Post
@Dream I just realized that SLI is not an option in the US market or it is something that is expected for MY2013?

If that's the case, it might be introduced with the new module KAFAS2 as the current EU KAFAS implementation - as the one in your and other F10's with LDW, didn't prove to be working well for US traffic signs/data..

..and possibly the coming EU models will also migrate to KAFAS2 as a 2nd gen solution. Only a theory..

Thats what i was trying to say... we (US folks) need the KAFAS2 for 100% functionality..

I have checked the CAF files of SVACHE (F30-US owner with SLI) he only had KAFAS2.

and hence my efforts to get the KAFAS2 in to my car....

I strongly believe we just need right software/configuration

Last edited by DreamCar; 06-10-2012 at 02:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 06-10-2012, 02:49 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12,992
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by miotoo View Post
@Dream I just realized that SLI is not an option in the US market or it is something that is expected for MY2013?

If that's the case, it might be introduced with the new module KAFAS2 as the current EU KAFAS implementation - as the one in your and other F10's with LDW, didn't prove to be working well for US traffic signs/data..

..and possibly the coming EU models will also migrate to KAFAS2 as a 2nd gen solution. Only a theory..
8TH will be offered as a stand-alone option and part of the Driver's Assistance Plus (ZDB) package for MY2013, along with the updated Nav system:

http://f10.5post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=691429

SLI is coming to the masses!
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 06-10-2012, 03:27 PM
1STBimmer 1STBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Birmingham, AL
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 409
Mein Auto: 550i GT/X5 35d
@dreamcar
If you look at the Kafas2 header (you can do this using the CAF viewer) it says it is only for f15/f25/f30 series cars.... Kafas2 won't work in your car
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 06-10-2012, 03:30 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1STBimmer View Post
@dreamcar
If you look at the Kafas2 header (you can do this using the CAF viewer) it says it is only for f15/f25/f30 series cars.... Kafas2 won't work in your car
Honestly i dont have any materialistic proof that KAFAS2 wil work with my car but its just my logical belief ... which cannot be proved until 2012 F10's hit the market.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 06-10-2012, 05:12 PM
miotoo miotoo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 308
Mein Auto: F10 520d
So for EU F10 owners who do have LDW (ie blessed with KAFAS module+camera) seems the conclusion is that using the settings from the cheat sheet will in fact enable SLI properly for them.

Wish there was someone here who could confirm this.

Wonder also what's in that retrofit box. Probably only coding then.

@Dream KAFAS2 is a different module, probably 66519271195. How can it help us? Maybe we can read the FDL settings from one who has it say in the F30?
__________________

F10 520d born 11.04.2011 Deep Sea Blue

205, 230, 322, 403, 415, 423, 428, 430, 431, 459, 464, 465, 494, 502, 508, 522, 524, 534, 548, 609, 614, 615, 620, 644, 654, 676, 698, 851, 879, 962, 1CA, 1CB, 1CD, 2K1, 2PA, 3AG, 4AT, 4UR, 5AC, 6AA, 6AB, 6FL, 6NF, 6NR, 6VC, 8KA, 8TF, 8TL, 8TN, 8V1

Last edited by miotoo; 06-10-2012 at 05:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 06-11-2012, 05:54 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
gapannu,
Does UK also has same speed signs as EU?

can you please send us the KAFAS CAF file from that car make sure you read (Reading Coding Data) the CAF ..othere wise you will have the old CAF file from the car whihc you have connected earlier... Let us know if you have any questions.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 06-11-2012, 07:42 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
gspannu,


Please read the required CAF files .... i am not sure reading VCM will actually checks out the CAF files.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 06-11-2012, 08:05 AM
1STBimmer 1STBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Birmingham, AL
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 409
Mein Auto: 550i GT/X5 35d
@gspannu

Thanks for your offer, as DreamCar said, you need to read the individual CAFD files after you've read the VCM. To do this right click on the CAFD_xxx_xxx element of each ECU and select 'Read Coding Data'.

This operation will read the coding info from the car and create a file in your C:\ESysData\CAF folder.
The file names are going to be something like this: CAFD_00000122_XXX_YYY_ZZZ.ncd (00000122 = Ecu Identifier, XXX_YYY_ZZZ is the coding version level)

The files we're looking for are:
KAFAS
HU_CIC
KOMBI

These are the file names for said files in my car, but keep in mind that they may be slightly different in yours. (This is just an example)
CAFD_00000122_003_003_005 - KAFAS
CAFD_00000069_008_000_042 - KOMBI
CAFD_000000f9_006_008_207 - HU_CIC

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 06-11-2012, 02:15 PM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
@gspannu I'm not in need for it myself, but I just want to say thank you for the interest shown so you might be able to help Dreamcar and the others with getting this thing done


ps, just in case you didn't know: if you post the files here on the board, make sure to rename the extension of the files from .ncd to .pdf, or the board might not allow it to be uploaded
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 06-11-2012, 03:45 PM
gspannu gspannu is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: UK
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 387
Mein Auto: 5 Series F10 2012 Model
Files read from car. Here they are, renamed as per instructions from svache.

HU_CIC ending 006.pdf
KOMBI ending 020.pdf
KAFAS ending 035.pdf

Do post if you guys get any success...
Attached Files
File Type: pdf CAFD_000000F9_007_002_006.pdf (1.9 KB, 103 views)
File Type: pdf CAFD_00000069_008_001_020.pdf (4.2 KB, 56 views)
File Type: pdf CAFD_00000122_003_003_035.pdf (2.5 KB, 54 views)
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 06-12-2012, 12:42 AM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrHorsey View Post
I was thinking of getting one of those loop recording dash cameras in case of an "event".

Would be handy for the front facing camera to keep a loop of video prior to an accident or something. Failing that maybe it can be wired into a recording device...
That is a very cool idea

And it would be even better if you can also add the sideview, topview and rearview camera's to that!
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 06-16-2012, 01:36 PM
1STBimmer 1STBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Birmingham, AL
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 409
Mein Auto: 550i GT/X5 35d
So, last night I coded the 'system generated' cafd's to the KOMBI and KAFAS after adding 8TH to my FA. Now every time the car starts I get the message 'No Speed Limit Info for your country' Still no readings from the camera.. There's obviously a navigation component to this and whatever it is, it's missing in our cars...
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 06-16-2012, 02:31 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,473
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1STBimmer View Post
So, last night I coded the 'system generated' cafd's to the KOMBI and KAFAS after adding 8TH to my FA. Now every time the car starts I get the message 'No Speed Limit Info for your country' Still no readings from the camera.. There's obviously a navigation component to this and whatever it is, it's missing in our cars...
Didn't you change the SLI generation? SLI-1 is not supported for USA we have to change it to SLI-generation2
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 06-17-2012, 09:42 AM
Ausfahrt Ausfahrt is offline
Groccery Getter
Location: NY/CT/MO
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 208
Mein Auto: E46 325iT/F10 550
Ok, am I retarded or what can you please direct me to the link in how to add 8TH to VO or the FA . Thanks. I've been trying to keep up here but been lost in the sauce!
__________________

Last edited by Ausfahrt; 06-17-2012 at 09:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 06-17-2012, 10:41 AM
Sharbotcom Sharbotcom is offline
Registered User
Location: Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 340
Mein Auto: F10 535xi MSport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ausfahrt View Post
Ok, am I retarded or what can you please direct me to the link in how to add 8TH to VO or the FA . Thanks. I've been trying to keep up here but been lost in the sauce!
Ausfahrt (AKA Exit):


In list of attached files in the first post of this thread look for the one that says "...part 3". It contains the instructions for changing the VO (FA). http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=624369
__________________
2011 535i xDrive, Dark Graphite Metallic, Veneto Beige Dakota Leather, M Sport Package, 316, 322, 3AG, 5AD, 5AG, 5DL, 609, 620, 655, 677, 6FL delivered Christmas Eve '10, Mods - quad tips, 20% tint, JB4.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms