Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2016, 07:43 AM
- Mover - - Mover - is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: somewhere in outer space
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 136
Mein Auto: 540i
DIS GT1 v57 Diagnostic software

I've been looking for a reliable source for this software.

I see prices for this from the hundreds to $45.

Has anyone purchased this software from a reliable source and get it running on their laptop?
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 06-19-2016, 09:18 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25,064
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
DIS & SSS Progman were replaced a long time ago with ISTA/D & ISTA/P. I wouldn't bother with the old stuff myself.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2016, 10:54 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Las Vegas, NV/ Los Angeles, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,377
Mein Auto: Coded 2016 F10/ F15 Sport
I have it, but never installed and would not recommend either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2016, 02:41 AM
Fooljam's Avatar
Fooljam Fooljam is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Location
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 272
Mein Auto: Unknown error...
Quote:
Originally Posted by - Mover - View Post
I've been looking for a reliable source for this software.

I see prices for this from the hundreds to $45.

Has anyone purchased this software from a reliable source and get it running on their laptop?
Just get ISTA/D, has been the new BMW diagnostic software since 2008.
You need a very good PC (4GB memory minimum, 6 or 8 highly recommended)
Runs native in Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2016, 04:13 AM
- Mover - - Mover - is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: somewhere in outer space
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 136
Mein Auto: 540i
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
DIS & SSS Progman were replaced a long time ago with ISTA/D & ISTA/P. I wouldn't bother with the old stuff myself.
Is ISTA/D & ISTA/P the software the dealers are using nowadays instead of GT1 ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2016, 05:42 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25,064
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by - Mover - View Post
Is ISTA/D & ISTA/P the software the dealers are using nowadays instead of GT1 ?
Yes, it is what dealers use for Diagnosis and Programming.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2016, 01:53 PM
- Mover - - Mover - is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: somewhere in outer space
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 136
Mein Auto: 540i
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes, it is what assumedealers use for Diagnosis and Programming.

I'm looking for this software specifically for assessing the condition of the entire vanos system on a car.

Is it fair to say ISTA/D is as good, or better, than GT1 ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2016, 02:59 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25,064
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by - Mover - View Post
I'm looking for this software specifically for assessing the condition of the entire vanos system on a car.

Is it fair to say ISTA/D is as good, or better, than GT1 ?
Well, if you brought car to dealer today for this, they would use ISTA/D, as DIS is dead.

GT1 is the Diagnostic Head (Hardware), which for ISTA it uses ICOM.

I think that says it all.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-2016, 05:52 PM
videopete videopete is offline
Registered User
Location: Toronto, Ontario
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2010 BMW X5 4.8i
I'm new here....wondering if there is a post related to setting up ISTA/D on a new laptop?

Would like to be all setup and ready when the time comes to use it.

Also, any special cable required for this to work ?

Thanks in advance.

2010 X5 4.8i

Last edited by videopete; 07-02-2016 at 05:52 PM. Reason: mispelled
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-02-2016, 06:17 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Las Vegas, NV/ Los Angeles, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,377
Mein Auto: Coded 2016 F10/ F15 Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by videopete View Post
I'm new here....wondering if there is a post related to setting up ISTA/D on a new laptop?

Would like to be all setup and ready when the time comes to use it.

Also, any special cable required for this to work ?

Thanks in advance.

2010 X5 4.8i
Your installation will come with notes. Depending if it is native or standalone install, they are different.
For cable interface, you can use K+DCAN for E-series for ISTA+ (AKA ISTA-D) and either ICOM or K+DCAN with ICOM emulator for ISTA-P.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-06-2016, 05:31 PM
videopete videopete is offline
Registered User
Location: Toronto, Ontario
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2010 BMW X5 4.8i
Sorry I'm a newbie - are you saying I need two cables one for DIAG and one for programming ?

Isn't there one cable connection that does both ?

thanks again!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-06-2016, 06:32 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Las Vegas, NV/ Los Angeles, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,377
Mein Auto: Coded 2016 F10/ F15 Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by videopete View Post
Sorry I'm a newbie - are you saying I need two cables one for DIAG and one for programming ?

Isn't there one cable connection that does both ?

thanks again!!
ICOM will do both.
I do not have a K+DCAN, but it can be configured to work with ISTA-P. Though, I have read mixed reviews on using it with ISTA-P for programming.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-08-2016, 12:18 PM
videopete videopete is offline
Registered User
Location: Toronto, Ontario
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2010 BMW X5 4.8i
Thanks for the reply.
Any idea where I can get this ICOM cable ?
ebay / amazon / etc ? any links ??
thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-08-2016, 05:57 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Las Vegas, NV/ Los Angeles, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,377
Mein Auto: Coded 2016 F10/ F15 Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by videopete View Post
Thanks for the reply.
Any idea where I can get this ICOM cable ?
ebay / amazon / etc ? any links ??
thanks.
You can get them on Amazon, ebay, etc. There are the older generation ICOM A2+B+C and the new ICOM Next A1. There are original OEM ones as well as clones. You can sometimes get from dealers if you have good relationship with parts department.

There are still some issues with ICOM Next as described in release notes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms