Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)

X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)
Talk about the E83 BMW X3 in this forum!

Old 06-21-2012, 09:06 AM

Mein Auto: X3 E83 2.5i
Problem with rear speakers

Hello!

Newbie here, just bought a used 2004 BMW X3 E83 2.5i.

Its overall in good condition but noticed there no sound from rear speakers. To put it in more detail, I have sound from front and under front-seat speakers, but not the ones on the rear door panel.

I have natually checked with Fader on the head unit but setting was correct.

Is this a quite common or well known problem on X3's? Any easy fix or quick checkups? I dont want to open up the whole door panel...

Brds
Jay
Ads by Google
Old 06-21-2012, 09:18 AM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: 2004 X3 2.5i
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcellent View Post
Is this a quite common or well known problem on X3's? Any easy fix or quick checkups? I dont want to open up the whole door panel...
Not a common problem that I know of.

With a used car you never know what a previous owner might have done.

Might have had upgraded speakers put in and the owner decided to take them out when selling the car, without putting originals back.

The rear panel isn't that hard to remove - a bit easier than front, and no air bag to worry about.

No easy check other than removing panel to see what's up.

Unlikely that both speakers failed through age or misuse, but possible.